We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs new staff, upgrades and some class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #143 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs new staff, upgrades and some class”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location of marina is beautiful and lobby looks great until you actually enter the property. Rooms need makeovers, the pools are overcrowded and the atmosphere is a Motel6.
I saw multiple weddings here during my stay and the wedding party was literally getting trampled over by kids in swim gear running in the lobby in/out of the bathrooms. The pool area is filled with beer guzzling men and women who allow their kids to run wild- hotel staff seem to act as if it's normal for kids to be jumping, and adults to be in the pool with beer cans. Someone actually defecated in the pool!! Additionally, I asked to switch rooms 3x due to multiple issues with what I reserved and the room they offered. Cleaning service does not show up until 3-4pm each day (and, we had to call and request it!).
Not relaxing at all. Would not allow my child to swim in pool because the odor was so offensive.
On Site Dining - Red Marlin and Swim were nice and the staff polite and courteous. Too bad the rest of the hotel is so awful.
The spa advertises it's "world class" but the windows face a bustling, busy pool with children screaming. Although, the spa personnel (Angie and Murina) were fantastic. I did have two treatments and they were professionals.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms facing the pool have a wonderful view at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmypul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    904
    674
    414
    279
See reviews for
1,246
656
80
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is while not right downtown is still a great place to stay when doing business or visiting San Diego. Set right at Mission Bay views from the Tower Rooms are excellent if facing west. Great place to watch the sunset on a clear day.

Rooms are typical Hyatt comfortable and clean. Hotel grounds are not expansive but there is a nice pool area in the center of the property. Hotel is set on a Marina and there are lots of boats to check out. Great location if you are going to Sea World!

This is one of my favorites in San Diego.

Room Tip: Get a tower room facing the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFLOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a family staycation in August of 2013. The rooms are nice. A little small but that is typical for the beach so it didn't bother us. The rooms overlooking the parking lot happen to get a spectacular view of the Sea World fireworks, it was our own firework show!
The pool is perfect for kids and adults. Our 3 years old loved the little waterslide that she could go down all by herself. The "bigger kid" slides were fun too! Downside is that pool area tends to get a little windy. The hotel is right on the pier overlooking the bay and there is a little rental place walking distance from the hotel that you can rent paddle boats, SUP, and kayaks. Bonus, there is an einsteins bagels walking distance as well. The walk along the pier is nice and you can spot fish, sea lions and starfish. The food at the SWIM restaurant (in pool) was really good for your typical pool food. I ordered the fish tacos and they were outstanding. There is another restaurant (Marlin) on the hotel property as well. I did not eat there but heard from my husband that is was very good. Whatever you do, do not mosey down the pier to the "best fish and chips in town" place. It was beyond horrible. It is not even sub par. Do not eat there.
Overall, it was a great weekend to explore our city which we already love!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all I'm a hug fan of the Hyatt Resorts and was a little disappointed with this resort. The resort is located on Mission Bay in a Marina that's really beautiful. At night you can hear the seals in the Marina barking. Also, the pool area was really awesome with mutiple pools, waterslides and at night they have a open fire pit to roast Marshmellows for the Smores (extra $ at one of their bars). However, the rooms themselves need to be be updated. Also, the location is very close to Sea World: I believe they run a boat shuttle during the summer to it. Although it's location is not located in the center city of San Diego. It's about a 10 - 15 minute drive to the center. There are many options in San Diego, I've already booked the Manchester Hyatt in San Diego for 2014. I was disappointed with this resort b-c the rooms were not up to the Hyatt standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWFamilyAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a beautiful location and hotel (right by Sea World and a short drive to the airport, very close to the beach). The pools are inviting (three areas with water slides). The staff attentive. The rooms are top notch. And the view on any side of the hotel is a room with a view. We were on the 14th floor over looking the bay with the pool directly below. The air conditioners worked well and we slept comfortably, and I the shower pressure great. The room also has a mini fridge and there was ample space in both, our king room and the adjoining double queen room. The balcony doors are wide and slide open and allowed us a 180 degree view of the ocean. I found myself relaxing in the morning over coffee and read a book in the evening with a glass of wine. The club level (17) offers a great continental breakfast and it is well staffed. Even on Labor Day weekend, although crowded at times, people flowed in and out easily and there seemed to be plenty of seats indoors or out on the balconies.

We were here on a bereavement trip and the manager, Irby, was extremely gracious. He even had one of his staff call my mother-in-law and check up on her to make sure her stay was pleasant under the circumstances. He also sent up beverages and fruit and made sure she felt pampered. At 80 years old, she appreciated the gesture and it made the trip that much easier. Thank you Irby, for all you did for our stay. I hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txinswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip and was pleasantly surprised that upon arrival I had been upgraded to a deluxe room.

The hotel does cater more for families, and this appears to be more of a touristy type of hotel as opposed to business, but to be honest it helped me relax a bit more. My room was on the second floor of the main tower block overlooking the pools. I arrived quite late, and when I entered my room I wondered where all the noise was coming from! It was actually coming from everyone using the pool. To be honest it didn't bother me - it was quite nice to hear the kids enjoying themselves!

The room was adequate - but no way was it deluxe, apart from the biggest bed I have ever seen, ever! Room was in need of renovation - I had a lovely dark stain on the net drapes, and also on the lamp shade. Carpet was a bit threadbare in places, the bathroom was large, but again needed redecorating.

I would describe this hotel as adequate and comfortable, but it's nothing really to get excited about. The costs are pretty high though and to be honest the hotel looks like it is sold on location and the look of it's very enticing pools. Just remember t's a good 25 minutes from the airport and a cab will cost you $30 or so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

First off I should say I'm a local so you know my perspective. My husband and our two small kids booked a last minute one-night stay as a little getaway on labor day weekend and it was a perfect 24 hours! Friday we arrived around 5, were "upgraded" to a great southern view room on the 15th floor of the tower. We quickly changed, got some pool time, and later enjoyed a very tasty dinner (w/a great view) at their Red Marlin restaurant (love the sustainable concept). I've never heard of a kids pay-by-age buffet but with a 5 and 7 year old I couldn't be happier about the price!!! As we left the restaurant at night we saw the fire pit and smores kits they have by the pool. What a great idea! The next day was filled w/more pool time and massages for us at the spa. The pool side waiters are very attentive, and the waterslides and pools are great for the kids! It can get crowded later in the day and if I had to complain about one thing it would be the cleanliness of the pool area. Their either needs to be more trash receptacles or someone constantly cleaning. Also, what about cubby holes or something for those who can't find seats? Some people stacked their personal belongings all around the palm trees and the whole area started looking sloppy. BUT that is a small critique. The kids pool side activities were great too. It was my first stay-cation getaway and I can't wait to come back! Oh and most importantly - the beds were super comfortable!!!

Room Tip: 1515 - great views - wow what a sunrise view for you early morning folks. You can see all the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing