We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super duper staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #145 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super duper staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My visit started with warm reception by Valets, The next encounter was with wonderful receptionist who with great care switched us to a deluxe king room after finding out we were in a double queen room, which being our 33rd wedding anniversary d,oubles were not what we wanted, After congratulating us on our special day a complementary bottle of bubbly was offered,
Our room on the 8th floor had a great view From the balcony of, the 3 pools and surrounding bay area was awesome, room was fairly modern and very clean,The red marlin restaurant on property made us three deserts on our last night with no notice at 5minutes till closing kudos to the barmaid forbore help with that, Again the entire staff we met were wonderful .

Room Tip: Ask for tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    893
    662
    402
    275
See reviews for
1,210
649
78
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

To stay at this hotel you need a car as it is quite far out of Central San Diego and there was no public transport that i could see

The hotel itself was nice, it was near the sea and about a 10 minute walk from mission beach. The poor area was of a good standard and the pool wasn't very deep.

Our room was in a block next to the pool up stairs, these were the most basic room type and they were of a good standard, clean although there were some cobwebs near the window. The bed was soft and comfy and the bathroom was a little dated in style but very clean and the shower had good power.

We had no balcony so i would recommend getting a room with one.

The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly at the pool bar which was nice but a little small.

If you buy a coke or a sprite you get free refills all day which was a great touch.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmithexpotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt on a family trip from 3/30 - 4/05. Our experience at the Hyatt was wonderful. Rooms were beautiful. Part of our group (with kids) stayed in the waterfront suites and were very pleased with the room configuration. The rest of the group had VIP Regency Club rooms. The rooms were very clean. It was nice to have access to the Regency Club for breakfast, and cocktail hour. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and professional. Upon check-in, I would advise requesting a room at the end of the hallway as the only "con" I found in regards to the rooms is that the walls are pretty thin therefore you could hear guests in the hallways and adjacent rooms.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The pool and hot tub is very nice. The kids loved the slides in the pool and the adults enjoyed the pool restaurant/bar.

The hotel is very easy to find and is in a great location for touring San Diego (Sea World is only a few minutes away).

Our room rates were very competitive with the other hotel chains. There is a daily parking fee which I wish hotels in general would either do away with or build into their rates.

Overall I would highly recommend the Hyatt for both family or business travelers.

Room Tip: I would request a high floor at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna_S_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and had a great view!Second time we stayed here. The pool is really nice. They have 2 water slides. One for bigger kids and adults one for small kids. They also have a hot tub, and bar area near the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

we were there from 13.05.2013-16.05.2013 and we came from Palm Springs,

very nice Hotel, very very friendly and polite Mr. Ryan at the Reception. We had Room/condo nr 1912 left behind the Hotel with ist own selfparking lots which is 20$ a night or valet parking for 24$ a night(most european have to get used to that)

The pool is big enough and clean lots of towels cabana rental cost extra.

The surrounding is great . behind the Hotel is the marina and if u turn 2x left and go straight for about 8 minutes u are at those great san diego beaches with free parking lots of Sun and the pacific ocean.

Minor was that u have to pay extra for Wifi in the rooms. Only in the Lobby was free Wifi which is not standart for american Hotels as we made the road tripo from San Fransico to San diego .

The room maid was very fast and cleaned the room perfectly.

I would recommend this Hotel to ma yfriends

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was here for a weeklong work conference. I am in the beauty industry and ALL of my colleagues are fashionable, polished women (and men), and the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay fit our aesthetic perfectly. The courtyard was lush with almost-too-wild greenery and the restaurant is really nice. The conference food, however, wasn't up to much. Still, it was great, considering I was there for work. The rooms are nice, well-appointed and comfortable.

The big disappointment and ultimate letdown came when I left my room at 5am in the dark because my roommate was still asleep. Twenty-two delirious hours later, I suddenly remembered that I'd left my necklace and bracelet in my usual spot on the nightstand. Of course, the frantic phone call ended in big, wet, sloppy tears. The desk attendant said security would call in the morning but they didn't. He didn't sound surprised, nor was he apologetic for the behavior of his staff. I totally understand that I should not have left without my jewelry, but just because I left it there does NOT give ANYONE the right to take it. If you leave your back door unlocked, does that give someone the right to enter your house? No. The jewelry was not expensive, but the necklace was the first thing my husband ever bought me and the bracelet was a little gift from my mom. All kinds of wonderful, ME energy wrapped up in those pieces. Gone forever. Bad karma for whoever took it.

That said, this isn't just a bitter review. Overall, the service was spectacularly mediocre. From the front desk to the catering staff, the vibe was striving for average and there was no joy in service. And I am NOT a difficult person to please. Seriously, if you're nice to me, I can pretty much forgive any misgiving.

If you go, don't bring your valuables. Or, even better, don't leave them behind. You can't trust anyone, least of all the HGMB staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkshakerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

our first room had a closet that smelled like nasty feet and had a shower . After complaining, we got another room that was a little better, but had stained carpet. A/c not impressive. We were offered an upgrade to a room in the tower, but i felt that the $110 plus $25/day parking was enough to spend on this trip. Pool was nice and kids loved waterslides. Would have been better off going for a more reliable hotel chain with included breakfast and free parking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#134 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing