We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$214
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$207
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$237
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,707)
Filter reviews
3,707 results
Traveler rating
964
1,041
812
523
367
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,041
812
523
367
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred marlinmission bayregency clubsea worldswim barwaterfront suitetower roompool areasea lionsoverlooking the marinafire pitbelmont parkfamily vacationla jollapoolsseaworlddowntown
Filter
Updating list...
2,665 - 2,670 of 3,707 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We got this hotel on Priceline and we were not too optimistic after reading the reviews. I was so surprised! The hotel was beautiful! The grounds were lovely and really had a resort feel. The pool area was great for families and there was even a fire pit at night. We were assigned a room in the tower and it was very modern and chic. There was nothing dated about this place. Our room was quite comfortable, roomy, and looked recently redone. We had a very nice balcony overlooking the bay. There is not one bad thing I can say about this place. Location was excellent! Dining on property was very good. We had dinner at the main restaurant which was very pretty and had good food and service. There is even a bagel shop on property which was so convenient for breakfast. Don't hesitate, book this hotel!

Room Tip: Request tower rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear choosey1,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us this very valuable feedback regarding your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the guestroom to the pools to the restaurants. Here at Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing each and every guest with authentic hospitality and I am pleased to see that this was the case in your experience. We would love a chance to welcome you back again soon for another spectacular experience.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just returned from a recent three-day stay at this upscale resort hotel. The best I can say for the place was "nice view." Oh, valet parking attendants were great.

Hotel keys needed replacement on four separate occasions preventing us from using the elevator to our exclusive floor and to access our room. How many "I'm sorry" statements from the front desk is too many?

The room itself was tired and needed a makeover. Cabinet hinge needed a fix. Not enough light in the bathroom. Cool flatscreen TV only displayed analog signals. Why in the world have an HD capable device and not deliver HD quality content? Perhaps I'm missing something.

The exclusive lounge with complimentary drinks and food was another disappointment. Not enough room for all the people using the place. And it would be thoughtful if someone wiped the sticky fingerprints from the table tops a couple of times a day or even once a day. Food choices ranged from poor to average and not much better than a complimentary breakfast at a low end motel. The elevators could use a clean-and-polish and the key system needs overhauling. First impressions are often lasting impressions. So it is with this place.

But the view was great and the valet parking staff were efficient.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, be sure to select the Towers and a high floor to minimize pool and pit-fire activities late at night.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear oyezman,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your experience due to issues with your guestroom, your hotel keys, and the Regency Club Lounge offerings. I have shared your comments regarding your room and the room keys with our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Facilities to ensure your comments are reviewed internally. Additionally, I have followed up with our Director of Food & Beverage and Director of Guest Services to ensure your concerns regarding the Regency Club Lounge are addressed so that we are accommodating the needs of all guests. On a positive note, I am pleased you enjoyed your view as well as the service you received from some of our Associates, the Valet in particular. Thank you for taking the time to provide us your comments and I assure you we will be using this feedback to make changes and improvements throughout the hotel as necessary.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

overall the hotel was great, it offered excellent dining and bars on site, with a fabulous pool. Easy to get to San Diego within a short cab ride. The older parts of the hotel definitely showed their age, but were still very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers, as it seems to be a good price, nice location, and was a good vacation spot for me without even having to leave the grounds!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent spring break and enjoyed our stay. Hotel is clean with a great staff. If you go in the spring, it's really chilly by the pool. The kids loved the water slides anyway. We stayed on the regency club floors and enjoyed the breakfast and snacks. Very close to sea world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelty211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great location, and a freindly lay out, but this place is tired. Service was nice, but not really "engaged" I didnt want to slam them here, but while they responded to our concerns, I left feeling the next guest would have no better experience.

We took a "suite" Nothing fancy, but it could be nice if you need the room with kids. The toilet leaked, the sink didnt drain, the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. The bed had big softspots that left us sleeping in holes. The sheets didnt fit, and actually had holes in them from wear. Thats just the obvious stuff. The place is tired, and needs a facelift. If you want proof, go in the garage, and look at the condition of the plumbing etc that appears to be ready to fall from the cieling frm rust.

Room Tip: suggest you inspect the room before accepting,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews