We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #160 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose this location due to its perfect location! The views were amazing from our balcony. The kids LOVED the water slides/pools. I was very pleased with our stay. I would definitely return to this location. This was a great location!!!

Room Tip: If offered a room with a view of pool/bay definitely take it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear zdwyer,

Thank you so much for your great review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the great location, beautiful views, and waterslides offered at our property on Mission Bay. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another spectacular trip!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,618 - 2,624 of 3,567 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

The room you are reserving will likely be in an older section of the hotel, and not in the tower pictured. This is important because the older section is a run-down 1960ish motel room--very musty and dirty. The carpet and bed were disgusting. It is certainly not a four-star accommodation. When you first make reservations, they will tell you what floor your room is on in the tower, type of room, etc., but they are lying!

We complained about the room assignment, and we were eventually given a smoking room in the tower, which, of course, reeked of smoke. It was, however, slightly less smelly than the original room. We were told that was the only room available even though we witnessed them making subsequent reservations.

In addition, there is a charge for parking.

Room Tip: You can't trust what the reservation clerk says. Good luck with your room assignment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Marcus S.,

Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment with your guestroom during your stay with us. Most Standard King and Queen guestrooms are located in our two story Bay I and Bay II buildings surrounding courtyard and pool area. The Tower building houses some of our Suites, Deluxe View Rooms, Respire Rooms, and Business Plan rooms. Additionally, I apologize for any confusion regarding your room assignment. Our guests do not receive their room number assignment or floor number until receiving their keys at check-in. Lastly, I am pleased to see that our staff was able to provide you with an alternative guestroom upon your request, but I apologize for your continued disappointment. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and Front Office Manager to ensure your comments are addressed with our staff. Please know that we carefully review all guest comments and use this feedback to make changes and improvements throughout the hotel as appropriate. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to show you a true Hyatt experience during your next visit to San Diego.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is a decent hotel in a great location. In fact, you can walk to Seaworld. We stayed in the Tower on the third floor for a week and the balcony overlooking the pool area was nice.
For our rate, parking and internet was extra so watch out for that as it can be expensive. (Self parking is 24.00 a day)
Our room had a king bed, a coffee maker and a small fridge. Dining is very expensive at their Red Marlin restaurant with entrees around $30.00. (Its the only place for breakfast on Mon.Tues.Wed. in the off season)
The one thing that we find Hyatt hotels are the best at is customer service. Never have we run into an unpleasant or grumpy employee. They must have a good customer focus training program for all employees from the chambermaids to management.
Their hotels are what they are,....... they are "HOTELS" and some are quite worn. However, again ,Hyatt staff are always great..

Room Tip: Tower rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeelowRegina_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Can't say enough about the location - literally 15 minutes from the airport (non-rush hour), maybe 5 minutes to Sea World and the beaches. The hotel grounds are compact and "resort-like". Pools (with waterslides) are great for younger kids. If you're traveling for business it's a short elevator trip to the pool/hot tub to relax at day end or very short trip over to the beach.

Two restaurant choices - expensive but decent Red Marlin and the reasonable poolside restuarant/bar. There's also an Einstein Bagel on the dock for breakfast/lunch. Hours seem to vary greatly depending on season. Other than this, you'll be getting in the car for a short drive to eat.

Ocean view gets you great sunset potential. I found the rooms relatively spacious and decently furnished and all room I have stayed in have refridgerators. I have only stayed in the Tower rooms and can't speak to the options in other buildings (mostly suites, I think).

Note: pricing in the summer is pretty steep; I only stay during offpeak when the rates are competitive compared to other business hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean view gets you great sunset potential. I've only stayed in Tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COFamilyTruckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a loyal Hyatt member visiting San Diego, my wife and I decided to return to the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay & Spa. But this time we chose the Regency Club room located on the 17th floor of the Tower. We were given access to the complimentary lounge where you can get unlimited beverages and snacks. Breakfast is also served in the lounge. The only comment on the breakfast at the lounge is that you would only get Continental breakfast with just choices of bread, boiled eggs, and fruits. Scramble eggs, sausages, and bacon are not offered in the lounge.

The room was slightly larger than a normal room. The best part was that the room was very quiet. The service at the lounge was very pleasant and attentive.

The hotel is located by the private marina and far from downtown. But most 4 and 5-star hotels in San Diego are usually located away from the city. The outdoor swimming was also nice and large.

Overall, I would give this hotel a 4.5 rating out of 5. Have not been disappointed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear My_Travel_Book,

Thank you for your wonderful, yet constructive comments here on TripAdvisor. It is terrific to hear that you were able to enjoy many aspects of your stay with us, particularly your room on Regency Club, the Regency Club Louge, and the pool area. Thank you for your comments about the Regency Club Lounge breakfast offerings. I have shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage and Regency Club Lounge Supervisor to ensure your comments are considered. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to sunny San Diego!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A quite nice Hyatt Regency, in a very pleasant location on Mission Bay; if you're in the tower section of the hotel, you have a nice view of marinas, parks, etc. Service is very friendly and very good. Parking is pretty expensive, however. The restaurant attached to the hotel is surprisingly good, too; we highly recommend it.
The one problem is that out of the five times we've stayed there, three times there have been mysterious extra charges on the bill for things we never used. Each time we explained they were invalid, the desk clerk cheerfully removed them, but they shouldn't have been there in the first place. If it happened once I could imagine it was a simple mistake, but 3 out of 5 times? (And charges were never erroneously left out, so it was unlikely to be simply incompetent account management.)
I wish I could it give it 1 star for their billing practices and 4-1/2 stars for everything else...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good location, close to SeaWorld, a short drive to downtown San Diego and the airport. Red Marlin was decent, good menu on property. Now the not so good. The Suite we had was very much outdated, the couch had to be 20 years old. The suites are in a 3 story building and very old all needs updating. Hyatt has a price match guarentee which we leveraged compared to Expedia. We tried to extend the stay one night and after being told by the reservations manager it could not be done at the same rate even knowing the same price match guarentee would be in play. Literally 35 minutes on the phone and finally I just gave up as she had no idea what she was doing. Unfortunate and lost revenue for Hyatt. One last thing, we checked in around 2:30 was told we would have the crib we reserved well in advance would be in our room. We get back with a very tired infant at 8pm and no crib. We called and it took 30 minutes to get the crib delivered. Not a great experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Scott D.,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the condition of your guestroom in our Waterfront Suites building upon arrival. Your comments regarding the room condition have been shared with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure these items are addressed internally. Additionally, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the service provided to you by one of our Reservation Agents and it is unfortunate that you were unable to extend your stay with us due to these concerns. I assure you your comments will be reviewed with our Reservations Department to prevent similar issues moving forward. Please know that we carefully review all guest comments and use this feedback to make changes and improvements throughout the hotel as applicable. Thanks again and I am hopeful that we will have a chance to show you a true Hyatt experience during your next visit to San Diego.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
#102 of 278 in San Diego
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $115 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing