We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Monaco
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

great hotel club floor is excellent lots of food and drink

all staff were helpful and polite room was ready on arrival on 17th floor over looking marina

balcony a little small but still ok the drive into town easy

concierge tickets a little cheaper for the zoo and sea world

well be back for sure and thanx to Nelson for smooth friendly and professional check in

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear bretkero,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave us your comments here on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room on the Regency Club level and the spectacular views as well. I will be sure that our Front Desk Agent, Nelson, is personally acknowledged for his friendly and efficient service. We hope to see you back again soon during your next trip to San Diego!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    928
    714
    435
    289
See reviews for
1,296
680
90
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The good: very nice pool area and restaurant. Also very nice brunch at red marlin. Good spa.

The bad: elevator in main building broken. Unbeknownst to us we took it up after being directed to it by front desk. When it was time to come back down from business center it did not work. As it was open/mezzanine we were able to get the attention of front desk. The simply said to take the stairs, did not offer to come get us or push button to send elevator up. Stairs were very far away and put us outside hotel in pitch darkness far from front desk. On our long walk we met another family who said the elevator had been broken since they were there (4 days)! No sign? Front desk knew this and did not tell us or help us?? They told us when they go down they yell over balcony and front desk sends elevator up??!! I was 7 months pregnant, we had a toddler with us, and you dont bother to help us or alert us to broken elevator and you send us all around remote unlit parts of hotel?! Really??!!

The ugly: rooms could really use an interior design update. More pictures and more furniture! As well as better, more thoughtful and comfortable placement of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyleral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice for the price. They have hypoallergenic rooms and great pools! They even have a water slide. We will defiantly stay here again!
The hotel staff is very nice. They have restaurants but, we did not eat at them. But if we were not to busy we would have. The rooms are big too! We had a great view from our balcony.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear simonval,

Thank you for the five star review! We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina! From the sounds of it, you had quite a busy trip, but I hope you had a chance to sit back and relax as well. Hopefully you will also have an opportunity to try out our on-site restaurant, Red Marlin- the crab cakes are to die for! Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Jacuzzi was not working, pipes made awful sound when taking a shower, two dollars for one orange at bagel place, music from party they had went on all night could not sleep, pool water barely warm and we were overcharged on credit card mini vacation disastrous

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear coscan on,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your time and effort and are very disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. Unfortunately we were experiencing some system issues with our hot tub heating system, causing this to be closed for a short period of time. I am very sorry if this maintenance concern had a negative impact on your stay and I have followed up with our Director of Engineering to ensure we are properly prepared to address such a concern as quickly and efficiently as possible moving forward. Additionally, I have shared your comments regarding the sounds in the pipes when showering to ensure our Engineering team looks further into this. Again, we appreciate your comments and please know that we do review all on-line reviews and utilize this feedback to enhance our hotel and our guests' experience. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay for another, much improved, experience.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I brought our 9 month old along for a last minute trip, and booked a suite facing the marina. We really enjoyed our stay as the room was perfect for a family and the staff was more than helpful. We would certainly stay again. Close proximity to the beach ( walk or drive) and having an Einstein bagel shop next door was also great for some quick breakfast back at the room. Room was clean and spacious. Thanks.

Room Tip: With a family or small child book the marina facing suites. We were able to put the baby down early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonbo1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt with a friend for 4 days. We used the hotel as a launching pad to go on several day tours/outings.

The room was huge! We were in the renovated low-rise portion of the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The unit was clean and quiet.

The grounds of the Hyatt are beautiful. We enjoyed using the pools.

Nearby was an Einstein Bros Bagels, which we ate at every morning. There is also a tasty/inexpensive seafood restaurant down the promenade from the hotel.

The hotel is fairly far outside of the city. It is close to Sea World and about 10 minutes driving from the San Diego Zoo.

The hotel wasn't cheap. It was over $200 a night in low season...

I'd recommend the hotel if you want a quiet escape from the city while staying in San DIego.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the end of September into October. Good room, goodish service ( car hire at the hotel was not as straightforward as they had claimed) and one lady on the concierge's desk was as much use as an ashttray on a motorbike !
Reception were good, pool super, restaurant service below average, food ok but overpriced. Local downtown Mission Bay impossible to park and not walkable, so dining at night was fraught.
Location is a little bleak, with not much apart from the Hotel. Marina pleasant, but no walkable restaurants, which i was aware of, but didn't realise how bad parking would be in Mission Bay.
Would i stay there again, no, probably not, particularly when there is so much choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonah57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing