We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Have to Pay for Internet Access!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #145 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still Have to Pay for Internet Access!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Opted to stay at this hotel over another for the simple reason is that I get points. The lobby and pool areas are lovely. The staff is attentive. Only a few oh ohs stand out.

First, you still have to pay for internet access in your room. I find this odd as I have stayed at Hampton Inns before and wifi access is free! Hard to believe that this upscale chain still charges up to $15 a day for in room access. Definitely a deterrent for business travel as you can only do so much on an Iphone. If you have a Tmobile hotspot, I do believe that access is free.... Or if you want to sit in the lobby and do work...

The pool staff is attentive, but I had to ask several times, and it took 45 minutes to get a fruit plate! I actually think this is because I made the mistake of paying my bill first... no incentive.

On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I was in the Tower and each had a private balcony with seating. One of my seats definitely had cigarette marks....

Their fitness center is 24 hours, and complimentary,which I appreciate having to fly from the east. And, there is a nice boardwalk for running...

Yes, there were children, but hey, its a destination resort near Seaworld! So, you have to expect families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    893
    661
    403
    275
See reviews for
1,211
649
78
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is old and dingy. We stayed in the Bay 2 rooms and they are awful. They smell, the furniture is stained and the ceiling is ugly. This hotel is overpriced and dated. Don't stay here. It is a popular family hotel because of its close proximity to Sea World. The pool area was packed with kids and very noisy. They did seem to be having a great time. Self parking is $20/night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozkzpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Ozkzpp,

Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay and I have shared your comments with our Director of Engineering and Director of Housekeeping to ensure all of our guestrooms are up to Hyatt standards. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy the family and kid friendly atmosphere in our pool area, however we do our best to accommodate each and every guest, regardless of their travel purposes. Please know that we appreciate your feedback and use all comments and reviews to continue working to improve and enhance our hotel and our guest's experience.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My friend and I chose the hyatt regency mission bay for our stay to run the marathon due to it's close proximity to sea world - the race finish line, so we could walk back after. We wanted white linens, clean rooms, and no surprises to distract us. We got exactly what we needed. We chose the1 bedroom suite with 2 queens, it over looked the marina, and we could see and hear the seals from our room - fantastic! The room was well maintained by the housekeeping staff. The beds were comfy, with nice clean white linens, and we both slept well.

From start to finish the staff were all friendly and helpful. The weather wasn't great, so we didn't get to use the pools, but they looked very nice, just as pictured. It is a location which would be easier by car, which didn't rent. Taxi downtown is approx $25 each way. Lunchtime food options were limited, with no room service between 12-5 pm, which was a bit inconvenient after running for several hours to have to arrange food delivery external to the hotel, but would not normally be a showstopper without sore feet! I would stay here again for good, clean & reliable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear queenpolly,

We greatly appreciate your great review here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us while in town for the Rock and Roll Marathon. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future- perhaps for next year's marathon, if not sooner. Hopefully you will have a chance to enjoy our wonderful pool area and waterslides, weather permitting. Thanks again!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, La
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Want a wonderful experience go to this hotel. The customer service is fantastic and we were on the 16th floor with a balcony and watched the fireworks at SeaWorld Fri. and Sat. night. Easy to get to and the food at the restaurant was very good. Everyone was so attentive and willing to please you. Lots of activities and at night you could get a good nights sleep as the room noise was minimal.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an incredible view of the bay and the sea lions will bark you to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Cathi T.,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly the wonderful service provided by our staff and the great view offered from your guestroom balcony on the 16th floor of our Tower building. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed the SeaWorld fireworks! I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The service we received here was great. Our room was clean and we had a nice view of the marina. It's a great hotel for kids because of the swimming pools and the slides. We took the water taxi 2 days to SeaWorld. Water taxi tickets are $10/day per adult and $5/day per child 9 and under. It was a nice way to get back and forth since we didn't rent a car. The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Belmont Park Beach where the kids played on the beach, we shopped and then rode the wooden roller coaster. We got a great rate on the hotel with a prepay discount, but we wouldn't choose to stay at the hotel without that discount.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor of the tower with the marina view. It was fun for the kids to hear the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEBinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear LindainArizona,

Thank you for your great review! We couldn't be happier to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly the family friendly pool area with waterslides, the SeaWorld Water Taxi, and the complimentary shuttle to Belmont Park. It sounds like you had the opportunity to utilize numerous services offered by our hotel and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful stay!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

You certainly pay for the location. I chose this hotel because I think it's the only one in SD with a slide in the kiddie pool area and it's across SeaWorld. Watching the SeaWorld fireworks from outside our room entrance was very nice. We stayed in the lobby building. Our family had a blast in the pool. Unfortunately, due to the layout of the buildings around the pool area lots of wind builds up and it gets pretty cold. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was wonderful. If you get a good deal, this is a fun place to stay with your little ones.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTITL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear TTITL,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location here in Mission Bay, only a mile from SeaWorld. I hope that you were able to enjoy the great family friendly pool area and waterslides and it is great to hear you had the opportunity to watch the spectacular SeaWorld fireworks show from your guestroom. We would love the chance to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina the next time you visit sunny San Diego!

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked this hotel to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary and we are so disappointed. Be careful if you are booking at this hotel!! We stayed on the 12th floor in the tower and the furniture was out dated and scratched up. The tv was fuzzy and had very limited channels. When you first pull up to the hotel, it looks very nice and the lobby looks great but that is all that you get. My husband ordered wine and fruit to have brought up to the room. We got a plate with a pear, an apple and oranges just set on a plate! You had to peel them yourself, When my husband requested that we be reimburse for this because we did not touch either wine or fruit, they did not do anything for us. I think this hotel stays in business because it is very close for families visting Sea World, but that is all that this hotel has going for it. If you wanted to visit anywhere else, you must drive. We ate at the hotel resturant "The Red Marlin" and again was disappointed and very expensive. Needless to say, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Amanda C.,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your guestroom on the 12th floor of our Tower building. Please rest assured as I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering to ensure this is addressed internally. Additionally, I regret to hear you were not pleased with the amenity that was delivered to your room. I am happy to announce that we will be launching a brand new amenity program in the upcoming weeks, which will provide our guests with more amenity options, detailed descriptions of what is included, and pictures to ensure our guests are fully aware of their selection. Please know that we actively review all comments provided by our guests to ensure we continue to improve our hotel and enhance out guest's experience. Thank you again for choosing Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#135 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing