We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    142
    172
    254
See reviews for
272
122
73
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Make money from doing business would be OK. but making money from cheating or cutting food from customers' mouths would not be tolerated. First told us a higher charge than what we had got from booking. Than the wifi didn't work. Finally there was not enough food for breakfast. Who else will stay there any more?

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jiaao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nothing can be said about the hotel except it is really terrible.
Starting with the staff working there, ending up with the non-working elevator at the hotel.

we had to carry our luggage tot he second floor by ourselves.
Breakfast area is really small and couldn't fit all the guests and some items can't be refilled.

The staff provided our room key to some other guest - I hope by mistake - and actually the guest entered the room suddenly to find it already occupied.Staff didn't ever bother to check which key is reserved for which room. pathetic!

They are not smiling at all; help desk girl is usually silly.
the bottom line; it ruined our stay in San Diego for the summer and all what we could think off; when we are going to move out of this hotel !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salwa-Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our first visit to San Diego and we were so excited...short lived when we saw the place and the room was filthy, smelled bad, the continental breakfast is pastry and coffee , the room was paid in advance booked by our travel agent as part of vacation package.. we stayed for 2 nights that was all I could take,we went out for the day when we came back our key wouldn't work found out they mistakenly rented our room to another guest, our luggage was still in the room. we got it sorted and the next day moved to another hotel which was perfect. Never again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Thought we would save a few bucks and stay at HoJo's. Welllllll, you get what you pay for I guess. Old, noisy, dirty, burn holes in the blankets, long black hair in the bathroom. Gotta walk sideways to get between the beds and the TV. Old tv, big box with horrible reception, No channel guide, and the desk clerk didn't care. No kleenex, no lotion. Asked the clerk for a second bag of coffee for the morning ... that didn't happen. Says there is shopping onsite ... nope. We stay in Hotel Circle 2-3 times a week and we never hear the freeway like we did here. I'll go back and pay a little more and not do this again! Funny thing, you always hear about Howard Johnson's and how wonderful it is, that must have been many years ago. BTW, it says that the hotel is owned by some corporation "operating under the HoJo license" THAT SHOULD BE POSTED IN HUGE LETTERS BEFORE YOU MAKE RESERVATIONS!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#172 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#139 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Address: 1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing