We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property was not inviting from the outside throughout the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Ranked #243 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 745 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We knew we were staying in a budget hotel and had appropriate expectations but the only thing right about this hotel was the price. There was a line of dirt around the outer edge of the room so we could tell that they had vacuumed the middle but had failed to do anything along the edge of the room. We checked the bed edges to make sure and it seemed clean enough. It did have a decent sized fridge and microwave and was close to the zoo. The internet however did not work at all. To get one bar on any of our devices we had to stand in the corner. When my husband complained he was told that if we wanted wifi we should have booked on the other side of the hotel and we could move rooms but our children were already asleep so this was not an option. The elevator only worked once so we had to shuttle our stuff down the hotel and the stairs. When we contacted the manager his attitude was "too bad". The breakfast was stale week old muffins. We stayed at another HOJO in Anaheim - the manager there told us that this Howard Johnsons actually has an awful reputation amongst other managers in California and to stay at the other one on Hotel Circle as they have good customer service and working amenities. When another manager from the same chain tells you its a sucky location you have some idea of what staying here is like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrthstr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank GRINADE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ruth b, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the nasty hotel I have ever encountered. The room smelled like fish, the walls were filthy, there was even blood smeared on the out side of the hotel door. We were there for two days and killed over 10 house roaches. The bed was hard as hell. There was an inch gap in the door so we heard all the freeway noise. The staff will tell u the elevator is out of order, truth is its been out of order for years, the have no plans on fixing it. Could not get wifi in my room, i even went down to the lobby and could not get it there either. This hotel is disgusting, the only positive thing was some of the staff is really nice. the young man who checked us in went above and beyond his job, but it still could not make up for how sick this place made me. Now im afraid i may have brought those roaches home with me.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Fredia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a great hotel.
1. Great view from walkway.
2, Nice / friendly staff
3. Easy to get on and off. (Just remember that the access road is two way)
4. Close to Sea World.
5. Comfortable beds.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: NO restaurant, but several close. Pool is in back left corner. Hot tub was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_Like_Cats_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Address: 1631 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $58 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing