We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY!”

Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Ranked #712 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I had "The Works" pizza. Delicious. We couldn't eat it all. Will definitely make it a stop on our next visit to San Diego.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wlfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is an excellent place for all kinds of food. Get there early for lunch. The pizza can also be taken to go and the deli out front is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank PatrickCSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Salad - so good we keep getting it”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The pizza and salad are so good, that we have order this combination the last five times we were there. Then, we see the other dishes coming out of the kitchen and think that we should order them also, but our stomachs are full.

Try to go early or late - during dinner time, the lines can be long.

Helpful?
Thank profgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, easy with kids”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent the day at Sea World and met some family for dinner at this restaurant on Garnet Street. It's a casual place, sort of your typical Italian diner - red/white checkered table clothes, old wine bottles hanging from the ceiling, etc.

The food was pretty good. Most of us had pasta or pizza. The kids enjoyed their food and the waitress was really nice. Meatballs were delicious! I would recommend this place if you're in the area and want something easy. The only complaint is that it was hard to find parking. We were there about 7:00 on a Tuesday night and it took us about 10 minutes to find a spot to park.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great find in Little Italy”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are many choices in little Italy, but our stop involved finding a good pizza. After looking over a few "by the slice" pizzerias, and other open air restaurants, we happened upon fillipi's, which has a modest appearne of a "to go" delicatessen from the outside.
Inside is a full restaurant in a great atmosphere with old chinti wine bottles hanging from the ceiling from past visitors. The menu is very reasonably priced.
Not knowing how big the pizza would be, we asked. Our waitress let us know it was "medium sized" with 6 pieces. Hmmm. There were three of us, so we opted for a pizza and a sandwich. Well, tithe 6 pieces in my world would have equaled 12 ... And the sandwich would of fed two. So, I guess Italians are big eaters.
It was tasty and authentic experience. A great find in Little Italy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing