We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Ranked #115 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was a little apprehensive about staying at this hotel as I recognized it as a former holiday inn from previous trips. While the exterior and lobby areas are pretty outdated, the room was really nice with an updated bathroom and nice bedding. I was on the 5th floor and had a nice city view. It's not the fanciest hotel ever, but it surpassed my expectations for a week long conference stay.

The staff was friendly and they let me check in 3 hours early, which I really appreciated. There is also a convenient airport shuttle that's runs every 30 minutes.

Contrary to other reviewers, I did not have any problems with the wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad you chose to stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside during your conference, and we appreciate you sharing your experience and the wonderful comments about our hotel. We hope you will visit again should your travels find you back in San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    730
    479
    180
    88
See reviews for
461
566
85
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We checked into our hotel on a Wed. We had booked one double room with a view and one handicapped accessible room. They put us in a King room without a view stating that the reservation was made for that. When I showed them my confirmation they said they did not have any double rooms available so we have to take the king. They made us wait for several hours for a room with us sitting directly in front of them. After two hours we double checked and they said the rooms were ready. This was a very big deal to my handicapped mother who needed to lay down. Later that evening the shower fixture blew off the wall in the handicapped room. The front desk was notified and called again at 0600 the next morning. They said they would take care of it while we were out. We took the shuttle to MCRD and were told we would be picked up at 1730. The shuttle did not come back for us. When we called the hotel they said that we could wait 15 minutes for a shuttle to be sent or get a taxi (there are no taxis on base). While on the phone with the hotel we inquired about the plumbing and were told they would update us when we returned to the hotel. At this time we were told they needed a special part that would take 30 minutes to get. It was obvious upon returning to the room that nobody had even been in the room to check on it.
The king room that faced the pool echoed every sound and was very difficult to sleep in. The pool itself is between two tall buildings and really only gets sun around noon.
What frustrated me the most was that at no point in time did anybody seem concerned about our issues. Even when I asked to speak to manager the front desk person went in the back to talk to them but they never spoke to me in person.
I will never recommend anyone staying at this hotel and have already spoken to MCRD about getting them removed from their suggested list. The service I recieved was no where close the quality I expected from a Wyndam hotel or the amount of money I paid for.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Rooms with a bay view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the series of events which disrupted your stay. This is certainly not the type of experience we want our guests to have. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service along with a quality room, and in this instance it is clear that we have failed. We hope you will re-consider staying with us, as we would like a chance to make every wrong right and have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest, and allow you to experience the type of service you deserve. We assure you your next stay will be a pleasant and memorable occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Diego
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In most respects, the hotel was what you would expect. Nice staff, ok rooms.. However, the toilet stopped working in my room and gurgled most of the time I was there. More concerning, when I opened the bathroom door to vent after a shower, it set the room fire alarm off two days in a row. It stopped shrieking after a few minutes and didn't set off any other alarms in the hotel. Not sure how networked fire alarms are supposed to work, but this seemed fishy. I followed up with staff on these issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad your overall stay was good, however we do extend our sincere apology for the deficiencies in your room and assure you these items receive our immediate attention. We hope you will consider staying with us again, as we are confident that your next stay will be a much more pleasant and memorable occasion. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right on the Bay and lots to do. Close to the airport - real close, my main complaint was that I could hear airplanes all night and day. Hotel and staff were great though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad you found our hotel to be in a great location, with close proximity to the airport. As with all of the other surrounding businesses, we do get our share of "noise". We hope you will stay with us again, so that you may experience another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#42 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Property: Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-3321 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing