We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #173 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while on business in SAN, and was welcoming upgraded to a 2-bed spa suite - very spacious and lovely but quite dark interior. Staff very helpful and breakfast adequate but just ensure that the maid shuts your door after cleaning...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Emily P,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of the property. I am glad that you found our staff very helpful and the breakfast adequate.

However, I am sorry that the lighting condition in the room was a disappointment. We take all feedback seriously and your comments are helpful for us to consider for improvements needed.

Again, Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    79
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
64
21
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had been here for a week, staying on business, it is almost in the middle of no-where. Not close to any side on San Diego, neither to La Jolla, nor to San Diego, not to Carlsbad. However the stay was good, breakfast was decent. the rooms were fairly clean, bathrooms were rather small though. Good eating place next door (the only one available), called elephant Bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayanthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff is helpful. It was nice to have the breakfast area that was large and quite to be able to use for informal business meetings. Don't forget to try the cinnamon rolls for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 11, 2015
Dear MountainMan1957,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us the feedback of your stay! We are pleased to have provided you a comfortable bed and that the breakfast area was large and quiet enough for you to do your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Robin
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maharashtra
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here on business for a week with 5 team/customer representatives.

The room I stayed was clean and spacious, along with the necessary amenities – wi-fi, TV, toiletries, etc. everything was efficient with nothing much to complain about. They have decent parking space too. I would like to have a little variety in the breakfast, if not improved quality. The service was good but had to be initiated. The front desk was co-operative and gave some necessary inputs. As with most places it also has a separate workstation for surfing/printing. The thing that might bother some folks is that there is no in-room dining. Esp if you are on business with ltd time that becomes a bit of a handicap. There is a good restaurant besides (Elephant Bar) it which can be of help. Plus there is a Starbucks, and a Japanese joint. But other than that you are left with calling delivery folks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BizTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good rooms and everything in the hotel was great.

Good parking facility with close access to everything.

Recommended for anyone going out for a holiday and want to relax and enjoy his vacation with or without family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RDChh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many Holiday Inns (Express & Suites) and this was by far the worst one yet. We arrived late (9:30 PM) and were greeted nicely by the desk attendant, but received a key for rm 275 while room 225 was circled on our map. Luckily we didn't get too far before we noticed. Yes we got the wrong key! Parking was very limited - we parked in the garage across the lot since everything in the lot was full. Yes every spot.

The hotel itself feels like a motel - two stories, smells old n musty and very basic. Almost seems like a Motel 8 that was bought out and redone to add Holiday Inn amenities like a pool and breakfast room. Our room was clean, but the tv channels all had varying degrees of static which is annoying and makes tv watching difficult. Walls are thin, especially bathroom walls - when my husband showered in the am, it sounded like I was in there too! There is also a sensor light in the entry which surprised us both times when we woke up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. Bright and ridiculous, frankly, at 3 AM.

As I think about our stay - I think the only positive may have been Bianca in the breakfast room. Friendly, hard working and such a pleasure. Breakfast was the typical - pancakes, packaged pastries, sausage patties n eggs w some mystery "diced meat" in the middle. Thankful for the bananas and coffee.

Never again, we only stayed one night and moved on. Thankfully we paid the employee rate to stay here, but even at that, we' d choose another option!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rocsmom0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I first want to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Without honest feedback, like your's, it is difficult for us to get the pulse of our guests' experiences. I am sorry you did not enjoy our hotel. I am glad to hear, however, that you got to meet Blanca in our breakfast to turn your experience around some before you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hawaii
Level Contributor
389 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Normally, when I stay in San Diego for work, it is at the Radisson in rancho bernardo or the marriott courtyard. This time, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel overall is ok, it is located next to the elephant walk restaurant and a bunch of restaurants less than a mile away.

The hotel: not as clean as i would like. the bathroom floors were very slippery almost as if it had an oily residue....kinda gross..

The free breakfast: very poor quality...most of the food was gross and of very poor quality. If you want a good free breakfast, i recommend the radisson.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooking_Hawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear we did not perform up to our normal standards for our chance to win you over as a loyal guest. You definitely did not get to experience our hotel the way we intend our guests to experience it. I'd like to invite you back to stay with us so we can make it up to you. Please contact me directly at danielle@wintimehotels.net the next time you travel to San Diego and I'll be sure we do our best at accommodating you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#185 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing