We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Large hotel in a beautiful area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17065 W Bernardo Dr, San Diego, CA 92127-1457 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #159 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large hotel in a beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife, granddaughter and my myself stay at this hotel. This hotel has three building which are two stories high. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very clean and customer service is a plus. They have a great breakfast bar and also fresh fruits. Beaches are 10 to 15 minutes from this location. The pool is nice and relaxing and most important clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon! The weather is always nice here, so don't wait for the Summer time to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    71
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
59
18
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night. There is a little far from the downtown and the beaches but is a good place to stay. I liked the breakfast buffet and the pool to get refreshed! They have comfortable rooms and a good bath tube to rest. It could be more clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express with breakfast, good for the price. My room was clean, but a bit noisy, because of the air-con, as well as facing the restaurant/gas station. I don't hear much from the nearby highway. During my stay there were a big group of teens, so it was a bit noisy along the hall way, and a bit messy in the public restrooms. Staff are nice and friendly. Easy access to the freeway.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the gas station, a bit noisy, maybe other rooms are better.
See more room tips
Green Features: A lot of foam plate and plastic forks/spoons were used in the breakfast, maybe we can use some biodegradable ones, or reusable ones.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuangY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to take our kids to Legoland. Although the hallways could do with a freshening up, the room and lobby/breakfast areas all looked renovated. There was a pool and someone cleaning it daily. The front desk and breakfast staff were excellent and friendly. Breakfast provided daily eggs (alternated omelets and scrambled, always hardboiled eggs available), sausage or bacon and yummy warm cinammon buns. It was easy to hop on the highway to get to Legoland or Wild Animal Park. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room next to the pool. can get noisy at night if kids are in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a quick visit. This location is convenient for anyone who does not want to pay the price of staying in La Jolla or San Diego. It's only 15-20 mins to La Jolla and about 35-40 mins south to San Diego or north to plenty of surrounding casinos. The hot breakfast was a nice free addition also. There is a small pool and jacuzzi outside. The front desk service was fast and friendly. If you want shopping, there is a Westfield Mall in Escondido a few exits north on the 15 fwy. This is a bedroom community so restaurants tend to close around 9pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Name Your Own Price last minute stay, but I would book this hotel again at normal rates.

Pros
-- Quiet location despite proximity to I-15.
-- Easy access to freeways
-- Great breakfast
-- Rooms are clean, comfortable and welcoming
-- Front desk staff was friendly and efficient

Cons (only 1)
-- My shower was lukewarm, but I am sure this was an anomoly

Don't hesitate to stay here. It's not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but for a 3 star hotel it is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKRJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel has 2 buildings and an underground garage. It has a pool and a patio. They also offer a full hot breakfast. The staff is extremely friendly and make you feel welcomed. The beds are older and too hard for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_PR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miramar
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Address: 17065 W Bernardo Dr, San Diego, CA 92127-1457 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing