We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #169 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel has 2 buildings and an underground garage. It has a pool and a patio. They also offer a full hot breakfast. The staff is extremely friendly and make you feel welcomed. The beds are older and too hard for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_PR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    77
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
21
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Central location to everything San Diego and Escondido this is a great place with perfect staff to help you out with whatever you need. Nice pool/hot tub, clean rooms, new with great breakfast on site free! Elephant Bar within walking distance is great food. Close to freeway and gas. Say hi to James at front counter, he will take care of you. All staff was great to work with.

Room Tip: All were good you will hear the freeway when outside but rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do their part. Light bulbs, wont change towels if on rack, just make up bed if you want.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xfil911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location breakfast was great pool water not to warm enough. It was close to Safari park and near other attractions. We had small fridge so we kept sodas and waters cool.Their is an Elephant bar restaurant next door food not very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have a variety of restaurants close to us, so the next time you come to stay with us just ask the Front Desk team for a list of restaurants and they can make some good recommendations! We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. From the greeting at the front desk to the checkout, we enjoyed cordial, professional employees who were very helpful with local information. Our room was comfortable and clean. My only negative was that the toilet paper was inconvenient to access as it was behind the toilet and therefore out of easy reach (I am healing from a broken left arm). While we did not use the outdoor pool on premises, it looked great. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that is included; standard fare for this type of offering. After a fun day at San Diego Zoo Safari Park (10 minutes away), we enjoyed a delivered pizza on the separate patio by the annex building. We chose to park in the underground area, which kept the car cool. We've noticed some negative comments posted about this location and were very pleased to see that the General Manager, Danielle, was quick to respond and invite past guests to contact her directly. That just made us feel better and ignore the folks who didn't have as nice of a stay as we did! We wouldn't hesitate to return to this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am glad to hear you gave us a shot and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

staff here is awesome and very helpfull, however the hotel is showing sogms of poor upkeep, example doors do not close properly, old single pane windows, gouges and cracks in tub.
The staff makes up for the lack of upkeep. However I would go up the road for a cleaner place

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, its turning into a cheap dive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear bob l,

Thank you for your review. I am happy you found our hotel staff commendable. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation due to the condition of the property and room. It is our goal to provide the highest level of products and service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rancho Bernardo, after having avoided it for a number of years, but it has been redone and is now terrific. The rooms are very well appointed, there is a good self-serve free breakfast and it is walking distance to the Elephant Bar and a great Sushi restaurant, as options for dinner if you don't want to get in your car. It is freeway close, easy to find and convenient for anything you want to do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
First, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Second, I am happy to hear you are happy with our renovations we completed. Third, and most importantly, we are happy to have had you back as a guest to try us out again and to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will share your comments with our team and we will all look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice, set up a little differently (separate buildings) but overall it was fine. The rooms were nice & clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is convenient and is right next to a decent restaurant which is really nice when you do not feel like getting into your car again at the end of a long day. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely share your kind words with the rest of our team. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#193 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Miramar
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing