We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay for one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #165 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay for one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location breakfast was great pool water not to warm enough. It was close to Safari park and near other attractions. We had small fridge so we kept sodas and waters cool.Their is an Elephant bar restaurant next door food not very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have a variety of restaurants close to us, so the next time you come to stay with us just ask the Front Desk team for a list of restaurants and they can make some good recommendations! We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
19
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. From the greeting at the front desk to the checkout, we enjoyed cordial, professional employees who were very helpful with local information. Our room was comfortable and clean. My only negative was that the toilet paper was inconvenient to access as it was behind the toilet and therefore out of easy reach (I am healing from a broken left arm). While we did not use the outdoor pool on premises, it looked great. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that is included; standard fare for this type of offering. After a fun day at San Diego Zoo Safari Park (10 minutes away), we enjoyed a delivered pizza on the separate patio by the annex building. We chose to park in the underground area, which kept the car cool. We've noticed some negative comments posted about this location and were very pleased to see that the General Manager, Danielle, was quick to respond and invite past guests to contact her directly. That just made us feel better and ignore the folks who didn't have as nice of a stay as we did! We wouldn't hesitate to return to this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am glad to hear you gave us a shot and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

staff here is awesome and very helpfull, however the hotel is showing sogms of poor upkeep, example doors do not close properly, old single pane windows, gouges and cracks in tub.
The staff makes up for the lack of upkeep. However I would go up the road for a cleaner place

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, its turning into a cheap dive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear bob l,

Thank you for your review. I am happy you found our hotel staff commendable. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation due to the condition of the property and room. It is our goal to provide the highest level of products and service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rancho Bernardo, after having avoided it for a number of years, but it has been redone and is now terrific. The rooms are very well appointed, there is a good self-serve free breakfast and it is walking distance to the Elephant Bar and a great Sushi restaurant, as options for dinner if you don't want to get in your car. It is freeway close, easy to find and convenient for anything you want to do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
First, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Second, I am happy to hear you are happy with our renovations we completed. Third, and most importantly, we are happy to have had you back as a guest to try us out again and to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will share your comments with our team and we will all look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice, set up a little differently (separate buildings) but overall it was fine. The rooms were nice & clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is convenient and is right next to a decent restaurant which is really nice when you do not feel like getting into your car again at the end of a long day. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely share your kind words with the rest of our team. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is a good clean hotel with the regular breakfast options at any Holiday Inn. The architecture of the hotel is a little different and consistent with the San Diego landscape. The hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel is easily accessible off the highway and there are a lot of businesses around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I shared your comments with our team to reiterate their importance to our hotel being a sucess! Thank you, again, and we look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Check in and out was very quick and the front desk staff helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which started at 6 most mornings, that included hot pancakes, eggs, meat, biscuits and toasted items. There was also fresh fruit, juice, cereals, yogurt and milk. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Hallway carpeting a little dated! Bed was very comfortable and it provided me with the best shower of our 3 hotel vacation! We also appreciated the free wifi. Hotel was easy to get to when coming from any direction. If we ever returned to the area I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank duchesssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting San Diego all the way from Canada! I have shared your review with our team - we also celebrated having the best shower of your trip! Thank you for taking the time to write your kind remarks. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miramar
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#193 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Address: 17065 W Bernardo Dr, San Diego, CA 92127-1457 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing