We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #178 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is a good clean hotel with the regular breakfast options at any Holiday Inn. The architecture of the hotel is a little different and consistent with the San Diego landscape. The hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel is easily accessible off the highway and there are a lot of businesses around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I shared your comments with our team to reiterate their importance to our hotel being a sucess! Thank you, again, and we look forward to having you as a guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Check in and out was very quick and the front desk staff helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which started at 6 most mornings, that included hot pancakes, eggs, meat, biscuits and toasted items. There was also fresh fruit, juice, cereals, yogurt and milk. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Hallway carpeting a little dated! Bed was very comfortable and it provided me with the best shower of our 3 hotel vacation! We also appreciated the free wifi. Hotel was easy to get to when coming from any direction. If we ever returned to the area I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank duchesssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting San Diego all the way from Canada! I have shared your review with our team - we also celebrated having the best shower of your trip! Thank you for taking the time to write your kind remarks. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

During our Annual Seminar I had the pleasure of staying here. I had not been back since the renovations and was impressed with what they have done with the place. The dek staff there is fantastic - I stayed in a room in the tower across the driveway from the lobby. It had a great feel with nice amenities. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_K_Salinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the renovations! I will share your kind comments with our Front Desk team since it's always nice to get positive comments. Come back soon - we look forward to having you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at his hotel before when I won a bid on Priceline. Chose to stay again when I was in the area. Arrived late at night, so I was great to know exactly where the hotel is located. The hotel has been completely renovated. Room are more spacious, with better furniture and lighting. The hotel offer breakfast and it's the very typical same items (doesn't really matte what chain any more). Service was ok. A 24hour front desk is always great. There was no business center, except for a lobby computer. The hotel has a small out door pool and a small fitness center. Jogging in the area is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear you returned to stay with us and enjoyed the renovations! We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a great hotel. Clean, noise-free, comfortable beds, good breakfast, complimentary wi-fi. It's rare to find immaculate hotels, this is certainly one of them, I have no complains and I will be back for sure when I visit Rancho Bernardo again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with the rest of our team members. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My Daughter & I traveled to San Diego, after my Husband & her Dad passed away. We were looking for a place that was comfortable, as well as close to La Jolla, San Diego, and Del Mar beach...all places that we used to go when he was alive. Holiday Inn Express on Lusk Blvd in Rancho Bernardo was just the right place....great rooms, great service, comfortable and they really had wonderful buffet breakfasts included in the price of the room. We had a nice quiet room with good parking, and a great atmosphere of clean, kind and caring employees, who even took the time to make homemade cookies each afternoon to make our stay even nicer...great job and just what we needed for this time in our lives !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just an OK stay here. Property seems older but kept up well.

One negative was the extremely loud A/C in the room. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but the whole "eating on plastic plates and plasticware" was a big turn off.....reeks of "cheap"

Service was friendly and very good though. The gym also offers complimentary access to an LA Fitness healthclub nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamilocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Miamilocal1,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and the fitness center.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the air conditioner noise and the breakfast. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
33.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 17065 W Bernardo Dr, San Diego, CA 92127-1457 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing