We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$203
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$205
$183
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$204
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$274
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$267
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveler rating
425
389
289
133
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
389
289
133
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townthe shuttle driverfashion valley mallfree shuttlepool areasea worldlocal attractionsmission valleyan older hotelgreat poolpool and hot tubbalboa parkyogurtgaslamp districtzooseaworldpoolside
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

Outdated. No elevators and despite two staff just chatting, no offer to help with carrying our bags up stairs. Shuttle has limited times & room on board. Hotel not close to much. Sliding door held on with tape, bath tap fell off & it smells damp/musty. Very disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Lnico422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Lnico422; Thanks for your candid comments regarding your stay. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, nor ours. We are undergoing guest room renovations in the fall and I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kirk Shearer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

The Handlery Hotel is the place to stay in hotel circle. The price is right, always clean and centrally located to most of San Diego's attractions. I also should add the staff has always been friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Scott H; Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again!

Kirk Shearer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

Once again my wife and I stayed at the Handlery Hotel San Diego's. As always Service was superb. They were able to accommodate us with the upgraded room at no extra charge. Just wanted to take the time to shout out to a few of those who made our stay great.
Teresa, Ben, Aubri, not to forget about Sandra the restaurant manager who made my birthday breakfast great. The general manager Kirk seems to always be on property and always available. Again thank you all for memorable stay.

Joe

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hollywood1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Hollywood1551 (Joe); I was so nice to see you here at the hotel again!! Thanks for stopping by!! I'll be sure to pass on your comments and thanks to Theresa, Ben , Aubri and Sandra!! Thanks for the nice comments and we look forward to seeing you and your wife back again soon!!

Kirk Shearer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017

This hotel is really old. The rooms need to be remodeled. We were upgraded to a King Superior room. Well, I would hate to see a regular room. Our room was small, with a TINY bathroom. We had a small patio with chairs and a table, which I guess made it superior to a non-patio room. The plumbing needs updating too - our toilet backed up twice during our two night stay.

The pool was nice and well maintained.

Customer service was great. Each problem was addressed and resolved quickly.

The on-site restaurant was very good. The food and service were top-notch. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent. Try the steak with garlic parmesan fries. There is also a very nice on-site bar.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingm0m2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear travelingm0m2008; Thanks for your review of the hotel. I am sorry for the inconveniences to you regarding the plumbing and the decor. We do appreciate your feedback and it was nice to hear that our staff did a great job and that you enjoyed to food!
We will be undergoing guest room renovations starting this fall so I hope you will give us another try when we complete the work in January of 2018.

Kirk Shearer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

We had a special deal to stay here which discounted the rate and 50% off the $14 parking. We arrived at the check-in time of 3 PM to find that one of the two rooms was not ready. We had to wait 30 minutes or so to get the other room.
We were expecting a suite, but it was a standard sized hotel room with only one chair to sit at the small desk. The furniture was old and the walls were paper thin.
There was a dog yapping a couple of rooms down the hall.
We did not eat at the restaurant because the reviews were not good. It does have a nice pool area, which was about the only thing I liked. It's near the Fashion and Mission Malls, but you'd need to drive there.

Room Tip: When they say they are giving you an upgrade, it probably means the same room, but upstairs with a balcony. The room is exactly the same.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OCAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear OCAndrew; Thanks for your comments and feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry your accommodations were not ready when you arrived. Please except my apologizes for any inconveniences to you. On a good note, we will be starting guest room renovations in the Fall and will have a whole new look. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future!

Kirk Shearer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews