We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much To Do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
sydney, australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Much To Do”
Reviewed October 26, 2005

Recently spent 3 days in San Diego and stayed at Handlery Resort, found the rooms and service the best we have ever stayed at. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We are definately returning and will be staying there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank AustraliaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    363
    268
    127
    71
See reviews for
405
322
53
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

If we had read the reviews before booking we would have stayed elsewhere. As it was we went with low expectations and most of them were met. Uk prices are not as favourable as US so we paid too much for too little. Our package included an upgrade to a deluxe room and the staff had no idea what a deluxe room was (and we certainly didn't get one!)
Standards of cleanliness left a great deal to be desired and the restaurant's idea of cleaning a table was to wipe all the crumbs of the previous diners on to the floor! Rooms were superficailly cleaned. Staff were well meaning but poorly trained. There was no evidence of anyone giving them guidance. We asked the reception if there was a happy hour and were told they didn't know, the bar was 20 feet away and they didn't seem to realise that it might be good idea to find out for the future. The girl working behind the bar was great but we just wanted to drag the rest of the team to the computer to show them what Trip Advisor reviews were saying about them. Once again the parking fee now $9 a day is excessive since others don't charge one!

Helpful?
4 Thank CK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel we were really concerned and contacted the Hotel directly. Their response was rapid and gave us the reassurance we were looking for as we were two families travelling to San Diego for the first time. The Hotel and the staff were without fault. The rooms were spacious and cleaned to exceptional standards every day. The pool area was fantastic, safe and very clean. Food was great quality and the staff always willing to help and advise.
The location of the hotel was also great for exploring every area of San Diego with trolley buses, shopping and restaurants all within a close distance. would srongly recommend this Hotel and would return without hesitation.
Special thanks to Jimmy, a great help !

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2005

As has previously been mentioned here. Don't believe all the negative comments about this hotel/motel. We stayed here for four nights after a two week drive of the SW States and had no problems at all. The staff at check in were friendly and the room on the ground floor of building three was good. If you happen to get an outside room in block four beware, there is major building work going on over the fence ! Our room however was a good size and had everything we needed. It was clean and tidy too.The only downside was the door slamming at night. These doors aint light and they slam shut waking everyone. Used the pool one afternoon and it was good, being clean and of a very reasonable size with lots of clean towls freely available. If you use Postcards restaurant in the hotel be warned that it is a la carte, don't expect burgers and such like if that is your want ! As the hotel is right on the entry/exit to the freeway getting around in the car was a doddle, oh and never heard any noise from the freeway from our room either. The only gripe I have is that it cost $9 a day to park your car, yep even for guests.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Before I booked, I checked Trip Advisor and got mixed reviews but I decided to book based on value. The hotel is old and the rooms are small. The bathroom is about 5'x6', there's no counter space and it's just dinjy with bad wall paper and old tile with mildew. The TV is small and the furniture is cheap. Holiday Inn is better. I would compare it to a motel 6 with a large pool. Don't be fooled by the name, this is no "RESORT". The lobby is old and tired. It may have been nice when it was built circa 1960 but the bad paint job and re-stucco fall short of any sort of renovation. The pool area is tacky and the gym has 20 year old Nautilus machines. They probably ruined some nice mid century architecture with pink stucco and white columns. The Best Western, Double Tree or the Holiday inn across the way are better values. They also charge $9.00 a day for parking, many other hotels in area are free. I'm glad I was only there 2 nights and only used the room to sleep. Even that was not so great, the sheets were rough, the bed cover was dirty and the blanket had a big tear in it. Aside from a 10 min wait to check out, I did not experience other service issues.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tbowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Motel rather than hotel. Stream of wedding parties and a girls basketball team when we stayed. Rooms are tired and website pictures are deceptive. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2005

This place is NOT worth your stay! I was truly disappointed with Priceline for listing this property as a 3 star location. The rooms were very, very small, dirty and old.

The pool was fine. The fitness room had an operable treadmill but that was the only positive experience in that facility.

I am pretty easy to please but I cannot tell a lie...this place was awful and is in dire need of a "wake-up call!"

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rgilmoreaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,122 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2902
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing