We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #106 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Handlery Hotel San Diego as part of our Honeymoon in June 2012. Our room was clean and tidy and the bed was really comfy. We stayed in a standard room. We were at the end of the hallway by the entrance and stairs but did not have any issues with noise during our stay. Parking was really convienient just outside our room. We had complimentary continental breakfast at the restaurant each day which was really nice and quick service.

The hotel is really close to some good shops and places for lunch / dinner.

The only negative for us was it took us forever to find. Mainly our fault as the map we had was useless and we didnt yet have a US simcard to use google maps.

Overall we were pretty impressed with the Handlery Hotel. Very good example for 3.5 stars

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    348
    262
    123
    64
See reviews for
391
313
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent three nights here, the place is OK, it is old and tired looking. Our room was at the end of the corridor next to a power source room and it was very noisy all night with the loud hum of an engine room. The room was very small but clean. We could also hear the people in the rooms opposite, and above us. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, however , on booking in we were told our prearranged breakfast deal was no longer available, but the guys sorted it out the next morning and all was good. We ate in the restaurant the first night and Erica our waitress was lovely, but the breakfast staff were another story. The first morning we had an older man who was so rude, curt and unfriendly it was laughable. However the man that bought the coffee, tea, drinks and cleared the table was very nice. I think the wait staff need lessons in hospitality service! This hotel also has another in San Francisco,(we stayed there too) which is the flip side of san Diego's service and hospitality service and they could certainly learn something from the staff in San Francisco. We had a lovely driver who was very accommodating ( wish I could remember his name ).. One thing he and Erica told us was that the Handlery family were good to work for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The positive: friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean. Handy distance to drive to zoo. On-site parking was available, but at a cost.

The negative: the bathroom had a terrible plumbing problem - the bath did not drain well at all, so when showering you stood in half a bath of water. The handle on the toilet was loose and difficult to flush. The room and bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissiemum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Decided to have a staycation. Pool is good definitely get a room overlooking the pool area. Courtyard area is qiuet and you don't hear the hwy noise. Bar was closed by the restaurant. Only could sit in restaurant to eat. Food was good. Ordered room service for breakfast and meals were hot and delivered on time. Definitely would return for the value getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Handlery Hotel with our two young kids over spring break. They tout it as a 4 star hotel but I'd say it's a stretch to give it 3 stars in any hotel ranking. We arrived and checked in at the lobby which looks like, at one point, they had great plans for this place. We got our key, paid the parking fee and headed out to our room. That's when our thoughts went from "this may be really nice" to "what the heck is this place?" Once you leave the lobby, you're on your own! You enter the building to the rooms through a beat up push door ala 7-Eleven. Once inside, the carpet looks to be about 20 years old and there is a hair salon at one end of the building that looks like it's straight out of an old Sears. When we entered our non-smoking room, the smell of decades old smoke hit us like a brick wall. Even our children asked us why the room stunk. We entered and low-and-behold, we were basically in a Motel 6. In fact, I've been in Motel 6s nicer than this room. Old carpet, rusty tub fixtures, a clogged drain, and a sticky old sliding door to the patio that was probably original to this 50+ year old building. My husband was awakened at 4am by housekeeping staff shouting and going in and out of a janatorial closet near our room. We were mortified to hear the guests in the room next to us doing "things" you really don't want your young children to hear! If that's the kind of place this is, the owners should at least embrace it! Don't stick a cheap granite-top nightstand and desk into each room and call it a 4 star hotel.

Don't be fooled by the name. This is MOTEL quality through and through.

My advise is to stay at the Double-Tree or Marriot across the way or if you just need a nice clean place to rest, stay at the Motel 6 a few doors down and save yourself a ton of money. This may be the first time that I actually felt ripped-off by staying in a "hotel".

I only gave this place a 2 because it is pretty centrally located and you can get to quite a few restaurants, shopping centers, theme parks and freeways pretty easily. But then again, that goes for all the hotels in Hotel Circle so maybe I'm being a bit generous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronx818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here in February for 4 nights, following 10 days in Anaheim. We were a little shocked to find this place more of a motel than a hotel. From the minute we walked in, there was an over powering smell that hit you, and stayed the whole time we were there. It is very dark and poorly lit in the entrance, and this effect follows through to the dining areas/bars. It is located on a busy freeway, but i can't say that the traffic noise was a problem. It is well located to many attractions in the Sandiego area.

The room was very poky small, we were on the 1st floor, with 2 queen beds. There was a bar fridge and drip coffee amenities, a writing desk and chair, as well as an arm. There was no in room safe to store valuables which we were surprised at. Although we were forced to leave some valuables in the room, nothing was taken. I believe there was a safe at the front desk.

The rooms themselves were neat and clean, they felt a little tired and worm. The bedding was fresh and clean. Beds themselves were ok comfort wise. The air-conditioning unit in the room was so noisy that it was almost impossible to sleep with it on. And the overpowering smell I mentioned upon our arrival, well there was no escaping it in the room either. The bathroom was very small and poky as well. The toilet was right at the door when you walked in, and there was a bench and shelf over the toilet cistern - not very hygienic. The shower was clean and had been re-grouted in patches. Towels were fresh and changed daily. The complementary shampoo bottle had been opened and used upon arrival, not something to complain about as we just threw it in the bin.

The pool outside was large, and there was a hot tub. It all looked very tired to us. Although the pool itself was clean and the water warm. The chemicals used were very strong in the pool and jacuzzi. Twice when we went to swim we had to ask for towels as there were no clean ones pool side in the afternoon - and this was february when it was very quiet at the hotel.

Aside from this, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Geoff was outstanding with his complementary shuttle service, he really is a credit to this hotel. Nothing was a bother for him, and was very knowledgeable of the Sandiego area. The girl at the front desk was helpful, and the dining staff both for breakfast and dinner were attentive and polite. The food itself was ok - nothing flash - but really you get what you pay for. The continental breakfast was good value and filled you up for the day.

Affordable coin laundry is available for guests, as is an ice machine. If you use roomservice, expect your dirty tray to remain outside for most of the day.

This is not probably a place we would stay again upon returning to the area as we prefer hotels rather than a motel. It was value for money, so if you are travelling on a restricted budget, it's probably not abad place to be.

Room Tip: I'd imagine in the busy months, the noise from the pool could be a problem. So ask for one away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof3fromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

really nice hotel, limited with food choice sometimes but for me, the hotel was too far away from downtown in my opinion.. but rooms and service is excellent! pool can get abit too crowded sometimes, so go when people will be out and about if you want some p&q!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#139 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing