We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #106 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Wynyard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent facilty, easy access to transport, shops , wonderful staff that go out of their way to help in anyway possible. Very clean. Excellent ***** breakfast provided. Shuttle service provided by Jeff on application. Generally fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. thank you again for staying with us.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    349
    262
    123
    64
See reviews for
391
314
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel was a bit far out for those who don't have their own transport although the guy who drives the hotel van is very accommodating and will take you most places within reason.The rooms were a bit dated but were clean and tidy. Again because of being on the freeway there were a limited number of places to go to eat. The hotel restaurant had a limited menu but the food was of good quality.Our main gripe with this hotel was the pool. For 5 dollars all and sundry from San Diego can come and have use of the pool.And on weekends they do.Saturdays and Sundays are absolutely stacked out with local families with screaming kids on inflatables splashing everybody in sight. On top of this they also employ some local rock group to play for several hours music that is intended to be louder than the kids but with words that you couldn t hear. But nobody at the hotel even bothered to tell the guests that this happens every weekend so to give them a choice because it is making them money at the bar and pool restaurant and sod the residents. Overall not that good and certainly wouldn t stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a response, I am sorry that you did not enjoy our summer pool party. This summer we did let our neighbors in the condo's next door enjoy the use of the pool and live entertainment on Sundays. Moving forward we will handle the public differently next year and limit the amount of people into the pool area so that guests have a place to sit at the pool. We are a family oriented hotel and do get alot of children visiting in the summer months. I do hoe that you will try us again next summer, you will see a difference.
Thank you again.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a great hotel. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were amazing very helpful and super friendly. Kudos to the gentleman who was on the front desk the night we arrived (do not remember his name) he was very helpful and patient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommamia134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we are all happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took such great care of you. The next time your travels find you in San Diego please give us a call, we'd love to have you stay with us again.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Angie and Dawn from the UK were made very welcome by the friendly staff On arrival. The room was very comfortable and very clean, (comfy bed and pillows) had a balcony facing pool area. Daily maid service, excellent food both in restaurant and pool bar. Great location, and shuttle service provided by Jeff and Rich who both could not do enough to make our stay perfect. All staff from reception, concierge, bar area, restaurant staff and assistant managers were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. This made our first time visit to San Diego an unforgettable experience and we intend returning to stay at the Handlery again in the future for a further three weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekychicCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
To our favorite ladies from the UK, we are so glad that you had a great time during your 3 week stay. The two of you are the reason we get into the hospitality business, I personally want to thank you for staying with us and that you took the time to truly enjoy what the hotel has to offer. I'll be sure to pass on your review to the entire staff as they all miss the both of you. We're glad you got home safe and look forward to seeing you on your next trip. We wish you the best and thank you.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Handlery several times for meetings. It is not in the most convenient location relative to downtown San Diego, but is near a high end mall and the freeway. The staff is competent and friendly, the rooms are generally clean and functional. Beds quite comfortable, but the pillows are very thick (not down), which some may find annoying. Average food at 2 venues. No in-room safe, pay to park, and pay for daily wi-fi, so glad we got a good rate for the room. I will stay again for future meetings, but would not necessarily choose it for other visits to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the review and the nice comments you said about the hotel. Regarding the other charges, we do charge for parking as do all of the full service hotels. We do keep our prices a bit below the others as a courtesy. Begining in January the wi fi in the rooms will be free of charge. I hope that you do give us another chance in the near future. Thank you again for the review
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Upon my booking arrangements, I made it very clear that I wanted a pool side room on the lower level as I have a small child and the upper level wasn't suitable for us. We also requested either a side by side room or adjoining room for my mother...needless to say when we got there, we were placed on the upper level with a balcony. My room (157) STUNK soooo bad and the A/C was extremely loud. My hairdryer didn't work nor the plug release for the bathtub. Room (156) fridge didn't work. The restaurant had thee worse dinner menu ever!! Who puts Mac & Cheese, with options of sandwiches on their dinner menu and then offer salmon platter for lunch?? The food was horrible. I have to say the "Best" experience we had was our shuttle driver...Jeff and their taxi cab drivers, Ray & Chengain!! PLS BEWARE of RICH.. another shuttle driver.. he is only out for himself. All the restaurants he recommends (ie. La Pinata in Old Town) was so horrible. I find out later that by him referring ppl (he gives you a 10% off card with his name on it) he then eats there for free. ** Rich may seem friendly but he's only out for himself. The concierge service were great and friendly. The burgers in the lounge by the pool were fairly decent. I was EXTREMELY disappointed in the overall experience. For the price they charge and what you get..is "WAY WAY" OVER PRICED!! My mother had a better experience at the motel chain across the hwy with a cheaper rate and more options for shuttle services. I would "NEVER" recommend this place to anyone. I am a travel agent with huge demands for travellers to San D. and will never refer them to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Please Please look at other hotel options before booking at this place. The rooms in the pic look gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfran2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. I had our Front office Manager pull your folio and we do have the notes about the ajoining room but no mention of the first floor room request. We did set up a room move for you the next day to a first floor room which you declined, so we waived the charge for the upgrade on your original room. In regrds to the restaurant For dinner we do offer options like sandwiches and burgers, mac and cheese and other entrees because according to our records higher priced entree's dont sell. We do not offer a "Salmon Platter" for lunch, the Reef Lounge that is open for lunch only does not have that item on the menu. Rich our driver is one of our best team members and gets raive reviews, he was just nominated for Team member of the month and has an outstanding track record, I am sorry that the restaurant he told you about was not up to your standards, many of our guests as well as myself go there and have never had a bad meal. I will make sure engeneering and housekeeping get a copy of your review so they can act accordingly. Again thank you for staying with us and best of luck in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ,the Millen's just wanted to say, we had a very nice stay at the hotel,mainly because of Rich;).Rich,was very friendly,talkative,personable and just an outstanding person.We live in Las Vegas but we are from the south(Memphis,Tn) and we are all about southern hospiltality.Rich just made us feel at home.Ya'll need more people like Rich working for your company.When we first arrive to the hotel,the red headed Young ladyat the desk had a very weak greeting for us and she didn;'t have a name bage on so I don't even know her name.She and the waiters in the post card were not friendly;(.I think you all could benefit from sending your personel to a customer
service class)Rich would be great in leading the class.Hats off to Rich!!!!!!!Becuase of Rich and Ray(LIMO driver) we will come back to your hotel.Our stay was saved by your thoughtful employee Rich.If he hasn't had a raise lately ,ya'll might want to consider one. The Millen's

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the nice review and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the desk and postcards managers for follow up as that is not part of our culture. We do hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for staying with us.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#139 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing