We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, tad bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
City San Fernando, State California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, tad bit dated”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed at hotel on March 31. It is located in Hotel Circle and is close to everything in San Diego. A major plus. It was my wife and I and two kids. The price was a good value, however the room with two beds was quite small. Bathroom was clean, nice 42 inch Samsung LCD. Bed comforter was worn and see its day. We were close to pool and there was an aroma of chlorine in the hallway and room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thak you for writing a nice review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We renovated the hotel 2 years ago and it has held up very well, however we were built in 1954 and the architecture hasnt changed much but everything you see inside of the hotel is new. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    359
    266
    127
    67
See reviews for
399
321
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days since the wedding we had flown in for was taking place here. We had a king bedroom which was very nice and clean however the bathroom was quite small. We did have two problems with the AC and toilet not flushing but both were resolved quickly. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced, the wedding grounds were very pretty and the ballroom was the perfect setting for the reception. It's close to Sea World which was an added perk. Overall, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The only downside is there are no elevators so if you have quite a bit of luggage or have a hard time going up and down stairs, request a ground unit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfchic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Wea re so glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay and that the Wedding was a success. It sounds like you had a great time at the hotel and got to enjoy the ameneties we have. We look forward to seeing you back soon and again thank you for staying with us.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first trip - vacation-- to San Diego. We selected the Handlery off of Travel Zoo advertisement and were not disappointed. The rooms were reasonably priced and were freshly cleaned daily as we returned from our outings. The Monday night Hamburger special was the best deal on dining for the week. The front desk staff were always very insighful and helpful. We rented a car for a days' drive up the coast to La Jolla and beyond, and the office for renting vehicles is about 15 steps from the front desk. Both Jeff and Rich were very polite and timely on their shutle pickups and deliveries. Thanks guys. Jeff made a recommendation for a nice meal our final night in California - a steak house and prime rib place just walking distance from the hotel and provided a couple of discount coupons to boot. It's a great restaurant and if you are looking for an off property special meal, this is the place!! All in all we had a wonderful trip to San Diego and the Handlery more than met our expectations. We highly recommend the place. (Wish we could have used the lovely pool - but it was a bit cool the week we were there. Best wished Handlery from your friends in Nebraska.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orahiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
To our friends in Nebraska, Thank you!!! We loved having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed yourself and our burger night special! Please come back and see us soon!
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Don't think you can find a better staff anywhere. Everyone went out of the way to make sure we had a good time. The shuttle driver (Jeff ) did a super job getting us around, really no need for a car. The hotel is nothing fancy but very comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: rooms on the front do have highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting such a nice review. I'll pass on your comments to Jeff and agree that he is a great part of the hotel! Again thank you for staying with us and we all hope to see you back in San Diego soon.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent nine nights at this lovely hotel, celebrating our anniversary. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our shuttle driver Jeff felt like a friend and made some great suggestions for our trip. We were thrilled with a complimentary bottle of champagne on our special day. The rooms are updated and the beds are fabulous! The pool and gardens are beautifully maintained, you really feel the tropical ambiance of San Diego. Once we found our way around, with the help of staff, we found this location great. We didn't have a car and relied a lot on the great shuttle service and then became comfortable with the easy transit system in this beautiful city. This hotel is also a short walk to the Fashion Valley Mall which has a number of dining options. I would recommend this hotel to future travellers!

Room Tip: There are about five or six rooms with a patio that goes out to the pool, I would opt to stay in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
First and foremost Happy Anniversary!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your nine nights with us, It was such a pleasure to serve you and have you stay with us. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff as I know they will like to hear what you have to say. Again thank you for staying with us and don't wait another year to come back! All the best.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I left my cell phone there and they sent it to me at santa monica but they put there own zip code on it and I didn't get it before I came back home in Australia they refunded my $30 but I'm still waiting for the $168 that it cost me to get it sent back to Australia, when I was told that it will be and its been 3 to 4 weeks now I've left lost of messages and I haven't heard back. Not happy when we tipped a lot, I will write a better review when I get my $168 back that I was told that I will!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and I apologize for the mistake we made while sending your phone back to you. We did put the wrong zip code on your lost and found item and that caused the delay in delevery. I know you have been in touch with our lost and found department and we have been in touch with the other hotel you stayed at and will get this resolved in the next few days. Again my apology for the mistake and we will make it right. If I can do anything for you please don't hesitate to call me directly.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is very clean and nice and the rooms are nice nothing too big though- it isn't how it looks on the website. It is similar to a holiday inn express. The location is bad. You have to absolutely have a car if you want to go anywhere. It's about $25 can ride to the airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmmurphy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for the review and I'm glad you had a good stay with us. By no means do we try to be something that we are not. The pictures on the website are of the hotel and we do our best to show what we have, I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, we hope to see you back and give us another try. Thank you again for staying with us.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
2,077 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#141 of 279 in San Diego
1,476 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#134 of 279 in San Diego
180 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2902
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing