We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so happy stay at CP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #168 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so happy stay at CP”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very surprised that I am writing a poor review of a Crowne Plaza chain, which has always been a preferred hotel for me and my partner whenever we travel. This branch seems to be poorly kept.

Room - we were staying in a pool view room, and it does get quite noisy. The airconditioning in the room seems to be busted. Although honestly we weren't able to say if it was due to the weather or the AC was really bad. We stayed right through the summer solstice, and after the solstice, the room was unbearable. We decided not to change as it was the last 2 nights. Bathroom ameneties could be improved. Not enough shampoo and conditioner and I keep asking/requesting housekeeping to replenish. (Doesn't help that my hair didn't seem to agree with the water in the US!)

Ice machine and vending machine at our floor. Lifts were sometimes wet as a lot of people who went swimming go to their rooms dripping wet.

WIFI is not free - even for Priority Club/IHG Members :(

Appreciate the vouchers we received for not having our rooms cleaned every night, which we used in their restaurant.

Loved their hotel bar/restaurant which served superb Japanese food. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly! Try the spam sushi (i forgot the name)


Neighboorhood was in the middle of nowhere. At least for me as I was not driving. My sightseeing was limited to the areas where they provided hotel shuttles.

Hotel offers trip to the following places:
1. Old Town
2. Seaworld
3. San Diego Zoo
4. Fashion Valley mall (where there's a train/metro that you can take to go elsewhere)

The shuttle drivers were very friendly, and having shuttle buses to the 3 areas were a great way for me to see some of San Diego. Call from the Fashion Valley mall for pickup to return to the hotel.

If you are not driving/no car, this hotel will be slightly inconvenient. But for those driving, it goes right out the main highway (I20? the big one, i forgot the name)

Room Tip: Choose a non swimming pool facing room. They were very noisy even with the balcony door closed. Choo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate the green policy of CP - not to mention the vouchers they give in lieu of having the rooms cleaned every night.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alegria_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Alegria_es,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from you stay in June 2013. We appreciate you helping the hotel by participating in our go green program. As you know by doing this the housekeeper does not enter the room since you had the go green sign on your door. On the door hangar sign it does inform the guest that we are able to replenish toiletries at your request. We apologize for the misunderstanding.

We would like to invite you back as we are renovating our lounge and guest rooms which should be complete before summer 2014.

Best regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    323
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
239
186
44
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

3.5 stars. I stayed here with a couple of friends for a night. We were in town for a wedding. The hotel grounds are nice. The hotel seems like it's been there for a while (I don't know for sure), but they've maintained it well. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool is pretty small, but clean. Staff was friendly. They even had a complimentary shuttle to drive us to the reception site. Please tip the driver! I would stay again.

My only criticism is the food at one of the restaurants there. We had breakfast, which wasn't bad, but I felt was overpriced for Denny's quality food. $30 for eggs benedict, coffee, and juice. In my travels, I have realized that hotels charge a lot for food, especially ones that are remote, and there are no other food choices nearby. But this is San Diego, with tons of food choices nearby, so I'd recommend eating elsewhere and getting more for your money. I do want to note that this was just one of the restaurants on the property. I can't judge the others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianadepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear dianadepp,

We appreciate you writing a review of your recent stay and your feedback on our breakfast food prices. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in October-November 2013. It's a older hotel with a 70s-retro Hawaiian motif and decor. My room (it appeared to me that almost all the rooms were identical) was clean and large, with plenty of closet and drawer space. Much more storage space, in fact, than most modern hotels. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds were well kept, and the location was convenient to all of San Diego and most of north county. There is a sushi restaurant which served good, reasonably-priced sushi. I didn't go to the other restaurant.

All rooms (at least on the upper floors) have balconies. The rooms facing the highway (8) overlook the pool and receive a great deal of sunshine, which is particularly nice in the fall and spring. The rooms on the north side of the hotel overlook a golf course, which is probably a more attractive view, but I doubt if they receive any sunshine except in mid-summer.

During the past seven years, I've stayed in nearly a dozen hotels in San Diego and the surrounding area. Several were more elegant, but, for the price, the Crowne Plaza was a pleasant experience and a tremendous value.

Room Tip: Balconies on south (highway) side receive sunshine most of the day. Highway noise isn't much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedimmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, It's an older hotel which is a good thing in this case. The grounds are beautiful with magnificent mature palm trees and the like. The food was very good and the entire staff is friendly. The best outdoor whirlpool I've been in in a long time. It's convenient to the beaches, Sea World and Oldtown as well. I highly recommend it to the government traveler as the perks are excellent!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice but you'll also hear the highway. Get on the north end.
See more room tips
Green Features: Each day you choose not to have your room cleaned they will provide a $5.00 coupon you may use for drink or food.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Dave L,

Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to see you again soon.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago fri-mon. Firstly club floor lounge not open on weekends. Don't remember seeing that mentioned anywhere. The afternoon drinks/snacks (friday)
was some soggy samosas and a drink served by a dis-interested lounge attendant. Left as quick as I could.

Room was nice and clean - although distinctly showing it's age. Hotel is close to San Diego freeway so can be noisy. Get a room high up and facing towards the valley.

Bar had good cocktails and food. Good happy hour prices during the week. Bar staff hit and miss - some great and some not so.

Breakfast adequate and did the job.

Room Tip: High up and facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Comoman 1,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for your overall experience at the club lounge and at the bar, the Director of Food and Beverage has been notified and will share with the staff to improve the guest experience.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliot, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days and did not ever have a bad experience the whole visit. Clean, friendly and with lots of options this hotel is a good choice. It is an older hotel 1970's but is mostly updated and the grounds and rooms are very well maintained. Front desk and all staff are friendly and helpful. Food is available late and is very good. Pool is very nice with a real deep end. Try it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Scott H,

We appreciate you staying with us during your business trip. It was a pleasure having you stay 10 days with us and we hope to host you again!

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in the Crown Plaza with a coach party of around 48 people. We stayed 2 nights and thought the hotel was lovely even though tucked away from main areas. The grounds of the hotel and the pool view were lovely to wake up to.

The hotel had a lovely restaurant that we dined in on the first night, The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The second night we availed of the shuttle service to the nearby shopping centre, After ringing the hotel to be collected we were told the service was finished for the night but they managed to arrange for a member of staff to still pick us up.

The small coffee shop was ideal where we could collect water and snacks.

If I visit San Diego again i will be visiting this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear gillo_8,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay. We are delighted you had a great stay and we look forward having you stay again with us!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#112 of 279 in San Diego
1,200 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, IHG, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing