We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #153 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in October-November 2013. It's a older hotel with a 70s-retro Hawaiian motif and decor. My room (it appeared to me that almost all the rooms were identical) was clean and large, with plenty of closet and drawer space. Much more storage space, in fact, than most modern hotels. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds were well kept, and the location was convenient to all of San Diego and most of north county. There is a sushi restaurant which served good, reasonably-priced sushi. I didn't go to the other restaurant.

All rooms (at least on the upper floors) have balconies. The rooms facing the highway (8) overlook the pool and receive a great deal of sunshine, which is particularly nice in the fall and spring. The rooms on the north side of the hotel overlook a golf course, which is probably a more attractive view, but I doubt if they receive any sunshine except in mid-summer.

During the past seven years, I've stayed in nearly a dozen hotels in San Diego and the surrounding area. Several were more elegant, but, for the price, the Crowne Plaza was a pleasant experience and a tremendous value.

Room Tip: Balconies on south (highway) side receive sunshine most of the day. Highway noise isn't much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bedimmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, It's an older hotel which is a good thing in this case. The grounds are beautiful with magnificent mature palm trees and the like. The food was very good and the entire staff is friendly. The best outdoor whirlpool I've been in in a long time. It's convenient to the beaches, Sea World and Oldtown as well. I highly recommend it to the government traveler as the perks are excellent!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice but you'll also hear the highway. Get on the north end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Dave L,

Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to see you again soon.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago fri-mon. Firstly club floor lounge not open on weekends. Don't remember seeing that mentioned anywhere. The afternoon drinks/snacks (friday)
was some soggy samosas and a drink served by a dis-interested lounge attendant. Left as quick as I could.

Room was nice and clean - although distinctly showing it's age. Hotel is close to San Diego freeway so can be noisy. Get a room high up and facing towards the valley.

Bar had good cocktails and food. Good happy hour prices during the week. Bar staff hit and miss - some great and some not so.

Breakfast adequate and did the job.

Room Tip: High up and facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Comoman 1,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for your overall experience at the club lounge and at the bar, the Director of Food and Beverage has been notified and will share with the staff to improve the guest experience.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days and did not ever have a bad experience the whole visit. Clean, friendly and with lots of options this hotel is a good choice. It is an older hotel 1970's but is mostly updated and the grounds and rooms are very well maintained. Front desk and all staff are friendly and helpful. Food is available late and is very good. Pool is very nice with a real deep end. Try it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Scott H,

We appreciate you staying with us during your business trip. It was a pleasure having you stay 10 days with us and we hope to host you again!

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in the Crown Plaza with a coach party of around 48 people. We stayed 2 nights and thought the hotel was lovely even though tucked away from main areas. The grounds of the hotel and the pool view were lovely to wake up to.

The hotel had a lovely restaurant that we dined in on the first night, The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The second night we availed of the shuttle service to the nearby shopping centre, After ringing the hotel to be collected we were told the service was finished for the night but they managed to arrange for a member of staff to still pick us up.

The small coffee shop was ideal where we could collect water and snacks.

If I visit San Diego again i will be visiting this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear gillo_8,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay. We are delighted you had a great stay and we look forward having you stay again with us!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when on a tour of SW USA. The room was big and clean - only issues were no fridge and the safe did not work; we reported this and told it would be fixed, but I wasn't by the time we left. Loved the tropical ambiance of the hotel and it was well served with eating and drinking options, particularly the little coffee shop which was handy for picking up a morning coffee and some food without having to have a big breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We checked in at 11:00pm. We were exhausted and couldn't wait to get to bed. We had used points for part of our stay. The night manager told my husband that due to using points, we would have to check out and then check back in. He neglected to inform my husband that we didn't have to change rooms. I was livid and walked in, on my walker, and adamantly voiced my objections. The man said that this was happening because we used points. I continued to object, when he finally said that all we had to do was cne down and re-check into the same room. By then it was 11:30. We left, with no offer of assistance with our baggage. My husband had to make several trips
to get it all upstairs. We called down the next morning about the VIP lounge. We were informed that it wasn't serving on the weekend and that we no longer qualified because we had used points. It became quite obvious that using points was not a good situation at this hotel. When our TV died, we did get fast service to restore it. The room was clean and fine but we will never stay here again. We got nothing but attitude and recriminations because we used points and other than the TV man and the cleaning of our room, we had no help or pleasantries from the staff at the desk.
Ironically, we enjoyed a fabulous stay at The City Crowne Plaza in London.

Room Tip: I am in a walker and we were far from an elevator. I think that had I said anything when making the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yetmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Yetmar,

We are sorry and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the misunderstanding you had at check in. We understand your frustration of having to check in the following day, but unfortunately we are not able to combine a reward night reservation with a paying reservation. An explanation regarding the IHG club lounge, it is offered for our Platinum and Gold members, on the weekends breakfast is provided in our restaurant. I would encourage you to please verify status of your membership level, it has nothing to relate about staying using your reward points.

Once again we apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. We would like to invite you back to stay with us again. Please contact me so that I may take care of any special requests personally!

Warmest Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#89 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $81 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing