We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #164 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
MILTON KEYNES
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have only given this a three because I did not feel it matched up to the Crowne Plaza brand. As a regular Holiday Inn it would have got a four. I stayed here with a large group and got upgraded to the Executive floor as I hold platinum status. This also got me free Internet and Parking which are otherwise expensive extras (I am always very irritated when I find a hotel I have booked does not offer these basic services free!).

The staff were great and my room was spacious and comfortable if a bit dated. It overlooked the freeway and there was some noise - not too bad but double glazing the balcony doors and ensuring they fit properly when shut would have eliminated it altogether.

The design of the hotel is very poor. It is necessary to go outside, without any cover, to get from the reception/restaurant block to the main accommodation block which has external balcony entrances to the rooms like an old motel. No problem on dry days, but we had two days of heavy rain and got quite wet making the trip! The uneven paths meant that great pools of water collected (and were not cleared) which had to be navigated around and many areas were very slippery This could be fixed.

I found the breakfast buffet very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre. The food was OK but the selection was poor. It was the sort of reduced selection you would get in a hotel or airport executive lounge rather than the main breakfast buffet restaurant of a Crowne Plaza level hotel!
If coming to the San Diego area again, I wouldn't avoid this hotel at the right price, but I am sure I could find a better deal with free parking, free breakfast and free Internet!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris50259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Chris 50259,

We appreciate your business as a Platinum member, and being loyal to IHG properties. Thank you for your nice comment about our staff being great during your stay. We wish that your overall experience would have been better as will look at your review closely so we may improve guest satisfaction. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    327
    184
    110
    79
See reviews for
248
187
44
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been here several times now and it is, by far, the best in Hotel Circle. The staff makes a huge difference, kudos to Ed, especially. He worked with me to help us get a wonderful room, The Sushi bar is fabulous and breakfast delish. We would go there to eat even if we weren't at the hotel. Rooms are clean and the grounds beautiful. Service is excellent.

Room Tip: no way, we want the best rooms....:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear realredhead,

Fantastic review! Thank you for mentioning Ed on his excellent customer service. The sushi bar has won the award for Best in San Diego by UT San Diego which our staff is highly proud of.

Our sincere appreciation for your business and the opportunity to continue to serve you.

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to attend a conference held at the hotel in Jan. The hotel has a polynesian theme with Tiki statues and outrigger canoes, etc. There are nice courtyards but the layout is a bit odd in that to get to the main building with guestrooms you have to walk around the pool. Perhaps it never rains in SD, but I did not see any covered way to get from the main building to the second building. In the mornings when the pool was being cleaned, you inevitably had to dodge the workers and equipment on the path. The room was fairly standard though the carpet and bathroom showed wear. I did appreciate that the outlet near the desk had multiple sockets for charging computer, phones, etc, The Wifi service was somewhat slow in the room and was $10 extra per day. The location is a short drive to Old Town, the Mission Beach/Sea World area and only 15 min to La Jolla; however the immediate surroundings lacked charm. Hotel Circle is a service road running parallel to Hwy 8. There is a sidewalk and it's possible to walk to Fashion Valley Mall in 20 min, but there are no restaurants or coffee shops nearby and no desirable area for a recreational run/walk from the hotel. The fitness room was small and claustrophobic with 2 treadmills, ellipticals and bikes, and it got hot even early morning with only a few persons in the room. Parking is extra ($12, i think). Overall it's OK it you get a discounted rate, but small fees added up. I would choose another hotel if I came back for a vacation as I did not find the space to be particularly relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear PC2L,

We appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our guest experience. We review all of our guest reviews and they definitely do not go unnoticed. Thank you for mentioning the extra outlets next to the desk, we have added them in our guest rooms as requested by our guests. I would like to add that we have a complimentary shuttle service to Trolley Station nearby, Old Town, Fashion Valley Mall, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Bch
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am writing this review to give recognition to the House keeper who has been taking care of my room while I am at work. The Ladies name is Layda and if you stay at the Crown Plaza San Diego you would be most fortunate to have her take care of your room. I was impressed by the way she tended to the bathroom area and the rest of the room. It was very evident that she went beyond what many others would have done and been satisfatory. Thank you Layda, great job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferfich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear surferich,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize the excellent job Layda provided during your stay. Layda was very happy that the attention to detail she puts in her rooms was appreciated by you. We hope you will stay with us again soon on your next visit in San Diego!
Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying I must stay at IHG properties per company policy. With that being said, this hotel was centrally located between La Jolla, Coronado, and Jamul which are the places I needed to go for work all week. Also, only about 7 miles (depending on which route is taken) from the airport...approximately $20-$25 cab ride with tip.

Hotel is definitely on the older side but rooms were adequate and clean. Front desk staff, club lounge staff, and bell staff were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful as well.

Fitness Center has 2 ellipticals, 2 treadmills, some cables, 2 bikes, some free weights, and a few other odds and ends. Not the best in the world but adequate for my needs, possibly not for everyone's.

As a platinum member, I was given a room on the 8th floor (must insert card in elevator to access), a welcome bag consisting of a free drink coupon for the bar, bottle of water, and cookies + access to the Club Lounge (continental breakfast and social hour with complimentary beer/wine). I am a BIG fan of club lounges, while this one is not huge and the selection of food is run of the mill, again it was more than adequate for my needs.

Plenty of parking, parking was free for platinum members.

Not sure if internet is free for everyone or not but was complimentary for platinum members.

Overall, if you are on a work trip, and do not spend much time in your room...this hotel fits the bill and is one of the most fairly priced properties around. If you are going to spend extra time in your room and want more amenities, may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side of hotel facing the interstate if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and it was easy to get to. The sushi bar was rated best in the city. The pool and hot tub were amazing. The food was delicious and the service was first-rate. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Crowne Plaza when we return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace overlooking the river provided a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with a high school band as the band was performing in the holiday bowl in San Diego. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are very large. The common areas are very pretty. The weather didn't cooperate but it looked like if we would have had 80 degree weather we sure would have enjoyed the outdoor pool. The location is great you can be in old town in a matter of minutes and sea world in minutes. The rooms are very large and clean. We enjoyed the hotel

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#123 of 278 in San Diego
1,210 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing