We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #17 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in late Aug. Check in was very quick and effeicent even though we arrived very early. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable and included a great 42 inch HD plasma TV. The pool area was very quiet and clean with fresh towels. Breakfast was well stocked witha good variety of food. Pretty much the same as the only other Hampton inn we have stayed in at Orlando.
We would be happy to stay here again as the hotel is only 10 mins drive from most of the must see things in San Deigo.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 876 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2007

Live and learn-I should have made our reservations a lot earlier than the week before our trip to San Diego but it took that long for the date to be firmed up.
I have always liked Hampton Hotels but will make an exception in this case.
The Hotel is as attractive as the other reviewers have stated-the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. However, due to all the stone/tile in the bath, it was dark and not enough lighting was provided. There was also no towel bars. We really had no place to put a wet towel (or bathing suit) to dry.
This is a small thing, but there were no liners in the wastebaskets, which seemd unsanitary to me.
The temperature controls were problematic-the window did not open so in the 90 degree plus heat, we had to leave the fan and air on all night-which was too cold near the fan and way too hot away from it.
This seems primarily a business hotel and was not really too far out of town-about 5 minutes north of Hotel CIrcle.
The breakfast room was small and filled up and the food did not look too fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank doty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

What a great place to stay. Rooms are eighter new or just like new. Nice, larger marble bathroom, 42'' plasma TV, free breakfast with one hot item daily and lots of cold(cereal,donuts,muffins,fruit,toast and lots of drinks). Pool is not large not small not cold. About 5 miles from seaworld. Gas station, mini mart, taco bell, Wendys, Inn and out, Outback and lots of nice places to eat within 1 mile. Also 2 strip clubs that I did not go to. The place is very very clean and like new. Will go to San Diego again, will stay here and no where else. If you stay here, you WONT be disappointed. Cant say enough about the place

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank andyjaydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton Inn at Kearney Mesa this past month. While driving to the hotel, I was a little concern since the freeway seemed to take us away from the downtown area. However, we were so glad that we choose to stay at this hotel than on hotel circle. The rooms were very clean, white sheets and comforter, wide screen TV, clean bathroom and good amenities. There is a small refrig but no microwave.

The hotel is very quiet. It was too cool to use the pool so maybe the noise level was lower than usual. However, the hotel is clean. The gym has up to date machines and enough of them. We like to work out and found this hotel to have more machines than others we stayed at. The breakfast was very good. Muffins, toasts, bagels, sausages, eggs (steamed), scones (they are delicious when warm), plenty of fruit and cereals. The food was very fresh, including the cut fruit. Hot tea and coffee available in the evening.

They do have DSL and a computer with Internet access in the lobby in case you wanted to check the weather, attractions, etc. We found the location to actually be convenient. It is near two major freeways and it usually took no more than 15 minutes to get anywhere in San Diego. After the hussle and bussle of the crowds, it was nice to stay at a hotel where one can just relax.

There is a Black Angus a few minutes away and other restaurants down the street. They also have a small, small Korean town with good restaurants and small stores. We love Korean food and found the prices comparable to home.

I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area. It was better and cleaner than the Embassy Suites that we usually stay at for a comparable price. Plus the staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank 2,005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

This is a very nice hotel which is unfortunately located in a scruffy neighborhood, including "Adult XXX" stores, "totally n*de bars", dimly-lit used-car lots, and a run-down Ramada next door.

But inside, the lobby is quite nice, has a guest computer terminal and printer available, and the staff was very friendly, even at near-midnight. The room itself was lovely, had a 42" HD plasma TV, and a VERY comfortable pillow-top bed. Our daughter (a young adult, not a child) also got a good night's sleep on the sofa-bed.

The bathroom was interesting - very nicely decorated, with granite countertop, brushed nickel faucet, Rainhead shower with bowed curtain rod, and water-saving fixtures, but the sink counter was unusually high, probably around 38", with open shelves below. Everything except the Kleenex holder and the little toiletries were on the shelves. The blow-dryer, coffee-maker, ice bucket and cups were way down on the bottom shelf near the floor. The towels were stacked on the middle and upper shelves, but there weren't any towel rods for hanging them up after use.

Breakfast was a treat, especially nice since it's compimentary. Their "hot" items included sausage patties and French toast sticks (no eggs), and they also provided fresh fruit (both whole apples and bananas and a "salad" of cut-up melons and grapes), yogurt, cereals, hot water for tea and/or instant oatmeal, several pots of coffee (including "robust"), whole and low-fat milk, real half-and-half, juices, and a nice variety of breads, bagels, muffins and pastries. The dining area was also larger than most, with plenty of tables as well as sofas and chairs near another TV.

Some of the staff is strangely misinformed about what the hotel offers, however. After I booked the room online, I called the hotel directly to ask if they provided feather pillows. The girl who answered said, "No," so we packed our own. When we arrived: feather pillows on the bed. A nice surprise, but it was frustrating that we'd wasted luggage space.

Since we weren't going to arrive until close to midnight, and would be tired after a very long day of driving, I also called ahead to ask if they would kindly pre-make the sofa-bed for our daughter (I figured my Hilton Honors Silver VIP status should be worth SOMETHING!) Sarah, the hotel manager, assured me it would be taken care of. When we got to the room, though, the sofa-bed still looked like a sofa, so I called the front desk to see if we had been given the correct room, explaining the sofa-bed promise. He answered, "Our rooms don't have sofa-beds." Huh? Anyway, when we opened up the sofa-bed, it was made up and ready to go. So - kudos to Sarah the manager!

On the merits of the hotel itself, I wouldn't hesitate to come here again. But if I needed to stay in San Diego for longer than one night, and had a choice of neighborhoods, I might look elsewhere just because the area here made me somewhat uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Aimless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

This is a very solid hotel. I was pleased with how modern and clean it was. Great workout room, good breakfast, and close to all major freeways and the beachs are about 15 minutes by car.
The beds were so comfortable and the large flat screen tv was totally unexpected. It seems like it would be a noisy area, but the hotel was very quiet and the back area was well lighted and very safe feeling.
I lived in SD for 2 years and I know the area pretty well - I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed for one week at this hotel and were extremely impressed with the cleanliness, hospitality and service offered by the staff, as well as the rate we paid.

The hotel is located about ten minutes north of downtown, so you'll need a car to enjoy the San Diego area, but I believe that would be true from anywhere you would choose to stay in that city if you want to enjoy all its attractions.

The hotel itself is extremely clean and well mangaged. The staff is as courteous and helpful as any we have been exposed to in all our travels. The complimentary breakfast is very good and very well serviced. The complimentary internet service and parking is an appreciated exception for San Diego hotels. I also appreciated being allowed to use their printer in the lobby to print our boarding passes for our return flight. The hotel does permit pets, but during our week there we never saw or smelled any evidence of any. We heard a dog bark in our hallway one morning, so I know at least one was there during our stay. Obviously, that certainly did not present a problem for us.

This hotel certainly deserves your attention when looking to visit San Diego. I don't believe you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TarHeelBiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonsdkmgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2009

As of April 15, 2007 we not longer allow pets at our establishment. The exception is and will always be that we do allow service animals on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $118 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing