We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really kind customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #31 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really kind customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I checked in very late at night, and the person at the desk was so helpful. I arrived without my luggage - lost in the airport- and he gave me everything I needed to make a more reasonably comfortable night. He was patient and made sure I felt at home which was much appreciated after a long day/night of travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    215
    59
    9
    11
See reviews for
239
143
40
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
league city
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This staff at this hotel is always friendly and courteous. They cater to every need. The free breakfast is always hot and fresh, and well maintained. Location is great for kearney mesa, and balboa avenue business district. Only 15 minute drive to airport on 163.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The king-sized room was large and spaces, including a sofa. The TV was the perfectly large size for movies, and the bathroom counters had plenty of room for my fiance and I to keep our stuff. It was very clean, the continental breakfast had decent offerings, and the staff members were great. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rocktheworld759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is really nice for being alongside the freeway in Kearny Mesa. Pluses:

1. Professional and attentive staff.
2. Excellent breakfast buffet
3. Good gym facilities
4. Nicely updated rooms with Neutrogena shampoo and soaps. Small fridge.
5. Lots of parking

6. The only negative is that my door would not shut properly - I had to put the key in to close.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcollett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have just arrived back home after our second trip to the Hampton Inn-Kearny Mesa. Once again I have found this hotel to be clean, welcoming and deserving of its rating in San Diego. If fact, it should move up a few positions in listings of hotels in San Diego. Yes, the hotels by the ocean are beautiful, but this hotel is only 5 miles from the ocean and much easier on the pocketbook, especially for traveling families with children and/or seniors on a fixed income. Breakfast has a wonderful assortment of items to pick from and the staff always replentishing items as they run low. Thank you to all at Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzie0461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The mattress would slip off the box spring so we had to straighten them a couple times in the night...do not know why this was happening. There was not a table in the room. So if you wanted to eat a meal you would have to use the desk. The in room coffee maker would leak and make a mess, we have used this type of coffee machine before at other locations without a problem. The air conditioner worked but it would have been nice to open the window even if only a little bit. The room and hotel were ok but not the best for the money. Sorry to be this harsh but it is the truth.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont CO, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very nice accomadations ,, Centrally located and Interstate close , yet quiet .. Exercise room was fully equiped , Pool was warm and staff attended with fresh towels put out early each day . The breakfast buffet had a variety of selection with changes made each day ..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#20 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing