We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United States
2 reviews
“Hampton”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The only negative would be that there are no close eating places in walking distance other than the hotel next to it. The work out room is well equipped. The complimentary breakfast has a wide variety to choose from in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    243
    67
    13
    14
See reviews for
279
159
50
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I initially choose this hotel due to is close proximity to the San Diego Zoo & Sea World and boy am I glad that I did!!! This trip could have been a disaster ...
First off my GPS was acting up and wouldn't locate the hotel after a long hot day walking around the Zoo with a 5 year old. I called the hotel and they expertly navigated us right there.

Check-in was a breeze and they didn't even bat an eye when I requested 5 extra large pool towels.They offer complementary water, lemonade, tea or coffee in the lobby which I feel is amazing upon arrival after driving from your location.
The room was great & well appointed. The requested towels were waiting there when we returned from retrieving our bags from the car. I was really impressed that they were there so quick. The pool is heated and super clean, the only down side is that there is no hot-tub. (I absolutely love hot-tubs). Our room was a King with a sleeper sofa. The king bed was so comfortable that I could have stayed in bed all day was it not for the 5 year old reminding me we were going to Sea World that morning.
The free breakfast was a huge spread with eggs, potatoes, waffles, toast, pastries, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereal, coffee, teal, hot chocolate, juice ect...
The staff were very accommodating assisting with us with suggestions for local dining for dinner and the quickest route to Sea World. They were absolutely on top of it with both suggestions.

When we were at Sea World I realized that I had forgotten my cellphone charger in the room. I called the hotel to have them check and they assured me that it was found and even offered to mail it to my home. I declined and requested to pick it up on our way home that evening, the desk staff assured me that it would be waiting for me whenever I arrived. Needless to say after another long hot day of romping around another beautiful San Diego attraction, I arrived at the hotel to pick up my forgotten items. As promised they were waiting for me at the front desk. The desk clerk even apologized that I had been kept waiting while another guest checked in. Even though I was not staying another night I was offered the complimentary lemonade or water. Such a nice touch.

Thank-You Hampton Inn - Kearny Mesa we will be back again. Soon I hope!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We choose this hotel due to the reasonable price/night over other hotels we found in TA. Did we found a gem in SD. The room was small but very clean, though we've chosen a room without a bath tub, we wish there was a 2 queen beds which could have been much comfortable. Pros: A very good american breakfast, heated pool, a well lighted carpark, and very close to all SD attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metal_Fineday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELENA
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I thought the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The heating/ac worked perfectly and the rooms were very quiet. I did have a problem with my window not closing without a lot of force and my they didn't restock my room with coffee, shampoo, or lotion once when they cleaned. The breakfast was so-so, but all in all the hotel was great and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank DEAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for a night. The hotel is very close to the exit and entrance of freeway and accessible to all the attractions in San Diego if you are driving. This hotel has free self-parking, which is a big plus for us because we did not want to spend extra money just to park. The room is simple and clean with enough amenities. The best part is the breakfast (included), which is not just a cheap continental breakfast. They serve fruits, toasts, bagels, yogurt, eggs and sausages. They also have a nice pool and workout room. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felisuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Large room with large bathroom. 2 beds, 1 table and a large flat screen tv. Fridge in closet. Beds were a little small for my husband and I. Great breakfast in the morning, waffles with bacon. Accidently washed my clothes twice and ran out of quarters, man at the front desk gave me extras so I could finish my laundry. Was always greated by the staff who was at the front desk. Overall, very pleased with the hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: had a room on the second floor, didnt hear much noise from people walking inside the hotel or outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have stayed here several times. Very clean, well maintained, excellent staff. Will stay here again. Only one downfall....mattresses are extremely soft, no support. Suggest they invest in higher quality, firmer mattresses. Otherwise, very good place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#25 of 279 in San Diego
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing