We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton - Great Employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton - Great Employees”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a very typical Hampton, but with exceptional front desk staff. They were extremely helpful suggesting places to eat and shop during my 4 week stay. They worked out a better price for me on the room to help same my client money (which I always try to do). As usual, I never got to use the out door pool. But I did stick a finger in the water and it was, in fact, heated to a comfortable temperature. For Harley Davidson fans, there is dealership about 200 yards down the street. They don't rent, but they have another location about 10 minutes to the west that does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool. Otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutritiondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    241
    66
    12
    14
See reviews for
277
158
50
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had to spend the weekend in San Diego for a business conference. The hotel location was only 15 minutes from my conference location and 25 minutes from the airport, easily found from the freeway. The price and stay were excellent. This is my third stay at this hotel and I will definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a fine place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, extra clean bathrooms. The breakfast very good, and provides something for everyone, even the little ones. I would definitely recommend this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Hampton Inn property is a few cuts above any Hampton Inn I've ever stayed at. Pride of ownership is evident throughout. Beautifully decorated and maintained. Excellent fitness room with all working equipment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Makes being away from home much nicer. I feel what I received for what I paid equal or better. Staff very polite and willing to help any way they can.Parking safe and well lighted front and back, plenty of parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Came here with family, including the nearly 90 yr old parents. Staff was friendly and very helpful to the parents. Someplaces you find staff in places ignoring people with mobility problems. Not here-- someone ran over and made sure the automatic door didn't close on my slow moving Mom. Rooms were clean and well appointed. My request for no feathers in the room had been noted and fulfilled before my arrival. Free wifi and free parking were nice features. As was the included breakfast. Dad was thrilled with the waffles! Sister and I both used the nicely equiped exercise room (needed after waffles). Even got a thank you post card a week or so after the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAnta Monica, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Clean, large rooms, beautiful comprehensive breakfast, fitness room well equipped. my only complaint would be that my king sized bed seemed to be made with queen size sheets. I will stay here again and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing