We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay at nice hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, United States
1 review
“Very good stay at nice hotel for the money”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The price is right, location is great and accommodations are nice. My only "wish" is that their lobby convenience store was stocked with beer and/or wine. That would notch this place up one more level for convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    241
    66
    12
    14
See reviews for
277
158
50
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hubby & I there midweek for 2 days, good breakfast items. Very clean. Pillow top bed was dreamy. No microwave in room, but a refrig that freezes all in 24 hrs. lol....I wanted to heat up my dinner leftovers! Not enough good light in bathroom for applying makeup...oh no..no channel line up in the room...what channel is which??? and the carpet needs to be cleaned in our room, at least. Dark green now, it's gross when you can see the furniture moved a bit and see the clean carpet underneath. Nice little pool with no jaccuzzi...whaaaa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prescottmtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a family vacation. The front desk staff was really kind and helpful. They pointed us in the right direction with food recommendations. The hotel was extremely clean and very nicely furnished. Overall, a great time at the Hampton. One of the best hotel experiences I've had. It is not downtown, but it has good freeway access and there are plenty of dining options at all price points nearby (including the Rubio's Test Kitchen for other fish taco lovers!) This hotel clearly caters to the business traveler, but it is a great place for families too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
league city
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Really enjoyed stay, printer for Business office is behind front desk. Also the monitors are within view of guests eating breakfast. Service was excellent, breakfast was typical Hampton Inn breakfast, however the fruit available for breakfast was not chopped pineapple, cantalope, and melons which I was expecting. I don't know what it was, but I ate the fruit that was available, and had the typical Hampton omelette. Rooms clean and had NFL network. Hotel is conveniently located for office area on balboa ave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Hampton Inn provide quality service and a convenient location. It was away from hotel circle but close to freeways, and it is easy to get to Del Mar, Torrey Pines, and Qualcomm stadium. The rooms were clean and maid service took place was efficient and completed early in the morning. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here because of the hotel's ratings and great value.
The staff was excellent and helpful with all our needs.
The room was spacious and very clean.
Breakfast was wonderful.
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserG5685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a late arrival and were given a friendly welcome by the front desk clerk, Robert. Two minutes later, after completing the forms and the credit card information, we were on our way to our room. We grabbed a free apple to enjoy as our evening snack. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large and very clean, and the bed was a delight to sleep in. We enjoyed a lite snack for breakfast before departing. We've always enjoyed staying at this property and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing