We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A touch of Hilton”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice rooms with coffee table and office table, granite top sinks. This must be one of Hampton Inn's newer hotels. The toilet is water-efficient and the towels feel fresh, but there is no microwave. Also, the a/c was rather loud. At first it felt drab, then I realized it is because of the dark green carpet. The breakfast area is small but I never saw it fill to capacity, so I guess they knew before hand the amount of traffic that come and go. The only issue in there is it was a bit dark in some of the table if you want to read the morning papers, supplied everyday. If you are in a hurry in the a.m., they even give brown bag light breakfasts, i.e. muffin and water. As a Hilton affiliate, they give you a welcome cookie at check-in! For its hotel category, it gets 5-stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    250
    67
    13
    15
See reviews for
297
164
51
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived and were greated by a very friendly gentlemen. Within just a few minutes we were given keys and in our room. Our suite was huge and spacious which we loved. Also great to be on 1st floor. We had to check out by 4:00am and that too was seamless. We definitely would stay at this Hampton Inn again on furture visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for four nights. Its location is ideal. CA highway 163 is within a block and most places of interest are within 10 to 12 minutes. The hotel sits on the corner of Kearny Mesa and Clairemont Mesa roads and there are many restaurants on the latter road. Our room was of a nice size, the bed quite comfortable (although a bit high for some). There was a laptop board which was very useful. Some of the cabinets in the room and the bathroom showed some wear and I am told they may be replaced soon. On the last day a problem developed with the toilet but they moved us quickly across the hall to a similar room.

The breakfast is by far the best spread I have ever seen either in US or Europe. Orange juice with pulp you can taste, fresh eggs scrambled or hard boiled, bacon and other meats, breads, bagel, yoghurt, fresh whole fruit, cereal (both cold and hot) and the best coffee. There is a coffeemaker in the room with regular and decaf coffee pouches. Surprisingly the coffeemaker excellent coffee. In the afternoon the reception desk often has fresh baked cookies.

The staff was very friendly especially Karina and Jacqueline. Their attention to customer service is the very best I have seen. In our hurry to pack and checkout, I left behind my favorite shirt and a pair of new pants. I called them after reaching home. The initial report of house cleaning was nothing was found but they called back within a half hour to report they had indeed found them! Karina sent it to me by FedEx, postage paid! That is truly exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really nice place with good amenities at a price that is much lower than expected. Had a very upscale feel...granite bathroom vanity, large flat screen TV. Nice little gym with all of the important pieces of equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was located just a few minutes from downtown with easy on/off access to Highway 163. Friendly staff and good pool. The breakfast area was good and well kept. I did not use the fitness center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed at the Hampton Inn, Kearney Mesa this past Friday night and it was your typical Hampton Inn experience. Good customer service, clean and comfortable rooms, and a well maintained property.

The only criticism I might have is that the breakfast area is too small to accommodate the number guests at the hotel. Otherwise it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imcookn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The young lady who checked us in was gracious, quick, and accommodating, granting our family's request for two rooms next to each other in record time. The rooms were clean and well maintained, the beds and pillows were so comfortable, and the shower water pressure was great! We had everything that we needed. The breakfast was really good with a lot of variety, and the dining area had good quality tables and chairs. In fact, the whole hotel was decorated with quality, from the furniture to the art work. The staff provided excellent service all around and conveyed verbally and through their attitudes that they really enjoyed working at this hotel. Their care shows! My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and we will definitely stay at this hotel in the future. This Hampton Inn is a winner, through and through!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanieG744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#23 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing