We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be Pleasantly Suprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great hotel! I was here for 3 days to attend a workshop. From check-in to check-out they have you covered and the front desk as well as house keeping were very friendly and helpful. The gym was spotless and very clean and they have top of the line equipment. I actually saw them clean the gym from top to bottom at least once daily. The complimentary breakfast was better that most hotels that I have been too. The bed and the pillows were awesome. The only drawback that someone else also mentioned was that the refrigerator was located in the closet which doesn't leave much room for your shoes or any long items that hang down. They also don't have a restaurant located on site but downtown San Diego is only a 10-15 minute drive as you are close to all freeways in the area. We were able to travel to the Gas Lamp District as well as Old Town San Diego for two of the nights that we stayed there. The service they provide there actually was better than some 4 star hotels that I have stayed at! My room was also very quiet which is always a plus when you travel for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th (top) west side - they were really quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 832 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

There are a lot of advantages to staying at this hotel in San Diego. It's near a major freeway, so you have access to San Diego with minimal hassle. It appears newly renovated, and the furnishings are attractive and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast is better than many, offering a good selection. There is good soundproofing, so you are generally unaware of activity in neighboring rooms or hallways. There is ample free parking, and the staff is attentive and responsive. The only real minus points for me were the distance from the center of things in town -- yes, you can get there fairly quickly by freeway (except at rush hour, when it's really slow) but it's certainly not as convenient as staying in town. The other minor issue was the heating/cooling system, which proved a little difficult to regulate. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel as a very good value stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa was the BEST Hotel we have ever stayed at. We plan on staying there whenever we go back. It was a 5 Star Hotel as far as we are concerned. We only had one minor complaint and that was the Refriderator was in the closet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel may not be the newest, but the remake on this property is very well executed. Hands-down the best gym at a HI property I have ever seen- rivals much higher end properties with offerings, cleanliness, newness.

Rooms are good, charging ports are a nice touch, window shades are good for blackout sleeping. Bathrooms are nice, but water pressure is pretty bad. My shower has water damage on the ceiling from either wild bathers or excessive condensation and the shower head was canted in a locked position that directed water towards the wall - odd. Bed was firm, but had an odd side-to-side jiggle, like jello, yet very firm top. Still had a good nights sleep, but odd feeling when getting up or in bed.

Lobby is very cool, nice, modern, and pristine - fantastic pantry and love the fish tank flair.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originalXfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. Usually quiet, except for people who let their doors slam shut. Breakfast is very good. Love the oatmeal slow cooked and the raisins, nuts and sugar offered with the oatmeal. Fruit bowl is great too. Free parking is a plus. Hotel staff has always been professional and helpful. Like the hot drinks offered at night, the bowl of apples and cookie at check in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cieloblu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. Had a large comfortable room with fridge but no in room safe. Good breakfast is provided and there is a nice pool area. We had a problem with noise in the room which seemed to come from air conditioning or boiler fans running somewhere outside. We mentioned this to the reception staff when checking out and were refunded the price of one of our two nights stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the price. But I would stay again. Nice looking property, very friendly staff. The evening clerk offered me some food from the breakfast storage area which I appreciated given my late arrival. Thanks! Breakfast was fine. Good workout room. Pool looked nice, though too cold to use. Very comfortable bed and very nice TV. Location is not as convenient as others, but not bad either. Unfortunately, the immediate neighborhood doesn't really offer anything. You won't be walking to anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#28 of 278 in San Diego
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $134 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing