We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced hotel, close to attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is am very nice property, reasonably priced with easy freeway access to major San Diego attractions. Wi-fi is free and the room came with a fridge and a nice size bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to get a good night's sleep. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53LeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 848 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed in room 507. Arrived in the afternoon and laid on the bed for 2 hours. shortly there after began to feel itching around stomach, back and legs. Noticed lumps and bite marks forming. Went online and found photos of bed bug bites that matched mine. Went to front desk to complain,they sent maintance ppl up with Febreeze. They refused to give me a new room saying they were booked and that I had to have evidence other than the bite marks that it came from their hotel. I threatened to call the health department and file suit and they then had room 510 open. They refused to take responsiblity. The maintenance guys came up and woke me up to say they would launder my clothes. Maybe they dont understand that you cant launder bed bugs from clothes. You have to throw them away. No apology, nothing for my pain. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. Was a hilton honors member, and no more.

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM 507 and 510. Im sure both these rooms and maybe the entire 5th floor is contaminated if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We are very sorry for the experience that you had while staying at our property. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and the ultimate guest experience. Upon learning of the situation, I called in our pest control company to do a thorough inspection of the rooms listed and the rest of the property. There were no traces of bed bugs and there would unfortunately still be evidence of them if they were there. We do not have screens on our windows at this property and it is not unlikely that something can fly in that did not belong. I am very sorry for the treatment you received from the staff that evening and we have taken steps to ensure that never happens to another guest. We were sold out that evening and someone checked out early and housekeeping was working on cleaning the room for you, once again, I am sorry this was not conveyed properly. We do everything we can for every guest to ensure they have a perfect stay, sometimes we fail, and I am sorry you had to be the guest who experienced it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family had stayed at this hotel back in 2000. I don't remember the hotel being anything to write home about at that time, but things have definitely changed for the better. The Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa has obviously been renovated recently!

The guest rooms are clean and spacious. I was especially impressed with the size of the bathroom, which was beautifully appointed with granite countertops and plenty of towels. The water pressure in the shower was great as well. The beds are very comfortable, with a variety of pillows to choose from so that you can find one that's just right. There is a large, flat-screen television and a refrigerator in the room. The wi-fi is free, as well.

The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, but it actually worked to my advantage. My room faced the pool, where a party of young kids went on until late. The A/C helped drown out some of the noise.

The lobby is beautiful with a huge salt-water fish tank. The state-of-the art fitness center includes features new equipment, including treadmills, ellipticals, recumbent bikes and weight machines. The free breakfast featured plenty of variety, and the staff were very helpful as well.

The hotel is a little out-of-the way, but if there is no traffic, you can be downtown in 10-15 minutes. The price was definitely reasonable for the area, as well. I would recommend this hotel to anybody travelling in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: If it is summer, you may want to request a room NOT facing the pool on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It's clean...relatively affordable...really good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMA_CPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is large. We have a king sized bed, couch, desk, very large flat screen tv, complimentary wi-fi and a pretty good little complimentary breakfast. The bed is extremely comfortable and that's a big plus. There is plenty of parking and it is located close to everything! Service was very good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamiMomOf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night on business. This is actually the second time I have stayed there. The property is fairly new and in very good shape. It's on the outskirts of San Diego but still convenient. It would be a value option for families visiting the city.

The property has a pool, gym, somewhat of a business center by the front desk and the usual basic breakfast in the morning. The gym looked fairly nice for a small property. Parking is free and plentiful and there are a lot of food options close by, although really walking distance unles you are in the mood to walk. The property is just off a very busy street, which is where the food options are, and close the the fwy. There is also a small refrigerator in the closet, which would be convenient for families.

The only issue I had was the wireless access in the room was anythig but high speed, so if you need to be online to get work done you might want to ask about that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have stayed at many different hotels. Some very expensive and some not so expensive. This is the cleanest room we have EVER stayed in! The bed is extremely comfortable. My husband was in San Diego to take a class for preparation of a huge test he has to take. The room was quiet, the staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clalire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#33 of 278 in San Diego
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $127 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing