We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved the Embassy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #49 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Loved the Embassy”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I try to write a review when i return from my vacations. I love this site because it gives you a heads up on what to expect. I think I owe it to all your site visitors to tell them about the good , the bad and the ugly when it comes to my hotel stays. Here we go....

Pros
wonderful location. Mall across the street. Great place to stay if you plan to explore southern california. Everything is close by. We went to Sea World, Zoo, Disneyland and La. Hotel is beautiful. I read before the trip they remodeled , they did a great job because everyone in the family loved it. Plenty of room. We have a family of four and we were very comfortable in the mini suite. BREAKFAST WAS GREEEAT! Get there early to avoid line for the omelets. Loved the pool( one night it was a little wild because of some teenagers but it was ok) and free internet access in the lounge. It was really nice to be able to check email.

Cons
PARKING! PARKING! PARKING! 17 dollars a day are they serious? word to the wise PARK ON THE STREET. Its free and a short walk to the hotel. Everyday I laughed at the poor suckers who paid to park there. One night we parked on the street right in front of the hotel, I seen a family coming out of the parking complex. We got to the hotel at the same time they did. Even though they paid 17 dollars they still had to walk about a city block to get to the hotel. We paid nothing and got the same convience they did. Only problem when we went to check out they tried to charge us 80 dollars for parking. As you can tell I took pride in not parking there and paying those outrageous fees. I explained this to the desk clerk and the charges were removed.

Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel (not parking) to anyone.

  • Liked — mini suites
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Takemeawayplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    502
    198
    71
    28
See reviews for
680
237
36
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Having read reviews of just about every hotel in San Diego, we finally decided on The Embassy due to location, price and the fact it had been newly refurbished.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious. Breakfast was the usual hot buffet, but it was plentiful and the evening receptions were lovely. Parking was a problem as the spaces in the car park were small and it was often full.

We were very happy with the location, and the staff were very helpful. In fact, our stay from Wednesday to Friday was brilliant, but come Friday night, it turned into a kids playground with the arrival of teams for a water polo competition.

Now I do not blame the hotel, I blame the parents. What are parents thinking allowing their kids to run wild all over the hotel? On more than one occasion we had the kids knocking on our room door, riding the lifts from floor to floor and then running all the way around the hotel shouting. Do parents have no consideration for other people or can they just not be bothered to take control of their kids? The weekend spoiled what would have otherwise been a brilliant hotel and we will definitely stay there again if its during the week!

  • Liked — Room size, decoration, evening reception
  • Disliked — Noisy kids at weekends, poor service in restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fanofamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Just stayed in Embassy Suite La Jolla with wife and 2 kids in early June 2008. What a treat! Hotel was clean, quiet, updated and conveniently located for our visits to San Diego and sites to the north. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bedroom and suite were large enough for the four of us to spread out and be comfortable without crowding. Bathroom was clean and large as well. Public areas (lounge, pool, lobby) were also inviting and comfortable. Free hot breakfast buffet and manager's reception daily were awesome and only added to the great value and experience.

Only minutes from downtown La Jolla for ocean, restaurants. Also within 20 minutes from Legoland. If head to downtown San Diego after rush hour, can make it there in under 25 minutes as well. Parking was convenient and cost $17 per day.

Highly recommend this for families vacationing in the area. Also, I did business work while at hotel and that worked well too. High speed internet was fast and reliable. Desks in both the suite room and the bedroom made for easy computing. Would recommend this to business travelers as well.

Well done Embassy Suites La Jolla! Will definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking charge
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank topterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I just returned from a week in San Diego with my husband and 21 month old little boy, and we had a fantastic experience with the Embassy Suites La Jolla. We arrived the Saturday before Memorial Day and stayed through the following Saturday. On the weekend the hotel was full of kids there for a soccer tournament so it was quite lively, but we never had any issues with them. During the week it was extremely relaxing at this hotel. My little boy loved the koi pond, and the breakfast was excellent and saved a lot of time and money. In the evenings he enjoyed the pretzels and goldfish, then after he was in bed my husband or I would run down for a cocktail or a glass of wine. Having the separate bedroom was a lifesaver for us, as we could put him to bed in the bedroom, then stay in the living room and watch basketball on the awesome plasma TV. The rooms are decorated quite nicely, and I appreciated that the bedspreads seemed easily washable and very clean! We also enjoyed the indoor pool - though it is small it was never crowded, even during the busy family weekends. I liked the fact that it was out of the sun, since we spent most of our days outside. My toddler would wake up each day and the first words out of his mouth were always 'the pool!' Now we have been home a few days and if I ask him if he had fun on vacation he grins and says 'the pool!' He also loved the glass elevators and being able to look down on the people and fish in the atrium. The computer room was also extremely convenient for us to be able to run down and check our email, and we never had to wait for a computer, even on the busy days. It was also great having the big mall across the street. This is a great location - very centrally located to anywhere around San Diego you would want to go. The only tiny downside to this hotel has been mentioned before - the parking. More often than not we couldn't get our keycard to work, a minor annoyance but an annoyance nonetheless. It is also a little awkward getting out of the garage once you're parked. I think the $17 charge is more than made up for by the breakfast and drinks at night though. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - we felt right at home during our entire stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — Breakfast/happy hour, pool
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed here with our three children ages 1, 3, and 5 years old. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the close proximity to the Westfield shopping mall. We walked there from the hotel many times during our stay for dining and shopping and to go ice skating at the rink located inside the mall.
The breakfast was great and there were plenty of items to choose from. There was fresh fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, cereal, sausage, oatmeal, pancakes, etc. The inclusion of breakfast in the room rate was one of the reasons we chose this hotel because it saved us travel time and a considerable amount of money each day.
The koi pond is beautiful and tranquil. I sat one one of the benches overlooking it and read a book for a while. The water sounds were relaxing. We used the pool which was comfortably heated. I also used the business center where there were plenty of computers available, as well as a printer and fax machine.
The evening reception was nice for the children. They helped themselves to goldfish crackers, pretzels, and juice, and they enjoyed watching the fish swimming in the pond. . The hostess at the evening reception was very friendly also. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — echoes from the inside atrium
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank socalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a month in 2004 and found it to be pleasant. Well, now they've renovated the place and it's lovely with updated furniture in the rooms and lobby. The complimentary breakfast was good; the usual omelets, pancakes and French Toast, with fresh fruit, juices yogurt, etc. The evening reception can't be beat; free drinks including hard liquor and a few snacks. We were there over a weekend and had no problem with kids running wild; they were for the most part polite and quiet. It's not in the center of town by any means, but it is less than 30 minutes to the beach, the zoo, Old Town or the Wild Animal Park. The only drawback we found was the price for parking in their lot, but with ample FREE parking on the street if you're willing to walk up to a block or two, that's not an issue.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baloney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My family and I stayed there while I was on business. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from a shopping mall comprised of the large anchor stores of Sears, Nordstroms, and Macys. There's an array of restaurants nearby. We were happy with the spacious suite. The only glitch was housekeeping was slow in cleaning the room and it was about 3 pm when they arrived. If you are a late riser for breakfast, there are long lines for food after 8 am.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EuroDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.0 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing