We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Embassy Suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #45 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stated at the Embassy suites in La Jolla. We were there to attend my son's wedding. The hotel is great - extremely clean! The bed was extra comfy as were the pillows. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful - everything was very fresh and the staff extremely attentive. The one negative is that the elevators were very slow, and it was a holiday weekend, so they were full, especially with families. So there were a lot of kids running around and strollers in the elevators. It was really the parents' fault for not watching over their kids. but the hotel was great and we would definitely stay there again.
Also the staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2ndcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family loves the Embassy Suites Hotels. We love the rooms, we love the cooked-to-order breakfasts, we love the happy hour downstairs. I understand that this hotel is a family-friendly hotel (we have two kids of our own that were with us), but this past weekend it was ridiculous! There were kids running up and down the halls, riding elevators (and pushing all the buttons), playing in the lobby, going crazy in the pools at all hours of the day and night. Literally! All these kids had no parental supervision.
Other than the children and noise issue, the stay was great. Nice location.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, king suite. Nice and roomy for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my second stay at Embassy Suites in San Diego. They offer a free hot breakfast which is awesome and their happy hour is great with free snacks (veggies and chips/popcorn plus drinks).

My biggest issue is on the most recent trip the hotel was sold out to a huge number of families (each with seemingly 12 kids to each room). During the time the kids were in the hotel a decent number of them entered into two professional sports:

a. Running in the halls
b. Pushing every button in the elevator

Might I suggest Embassy install treadmills and elevator panels in each room so the kids can run and push the buttons without leaving their rooms.

As is the way with most hotels Embassy also dinged me for some nickel and dime $2.50 tourism fee which they pass along.

Another plus about Embassy is they have a shuttle bus that will take you within a set radius of the hotel (ask them at the desk how far) which our group used quite a bit.

Pretty good hotel - just brace yourself for the possibility of lots of little kids running around on the weekends.

Room Tip: For some odd reasons Embassy stairs only open to the outside on the first floor. If you're stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I regularly stay at this property for business and personal travel and highly recommend it for either. The service is wonderful, the rooms are clean updated and well appointed and the location is convenient near I-5. I work a great deal from my room and the connectivity through the hotel wireless has been great. Do try the complimentary breakfast, they make a great Denver Omelet. If you like to talk sports find Dan the bar manager, he will always be willing to talk (and he makes a great drink). Enjoy your stay here, I always do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Friendly welcome and staff throughout the stay.
Breakfast is excellent
The only negative is the Internet charge at $11.95 per day!!
The air quality in the room could be better, the installed air filter is noisy.
Also the smell of bacon was strong some mornings into the room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank englishsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We checked into Embassy Suites January 11, 13 and 15, 2013 and Andrew was extremely helpful to us. Ee explained everthing to us with energy, cheerfullness and a smile. He made us feel welcome from beginning to end of our stay. He was back the next morning when we checked out and bidded us farewell as we departed. This was a true hotel experience. Thank you Abdrew and Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: The hotel staff was vert helpful in pointing out areas of need very close by. Just ask and they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303JohnA303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here at the end of January. We were able to walk to the mall across the street & enjoy shops & dining. the staff is always very helpful. On our planned day to go the San Diego zoo we were able to borrow an umbrella to use as it rained all day. My son-in-law made a comment to Spencer, who checked us in, about another Embassy Suites giving free cookies, & when we returned to the hotel after our zoo outing, we had a platter of fresh cookies & milk waiting for us. A very pleasant & unexpected surprise. Nice attention from the staff. As always the breakfast & drinks/snacks are great. It would be nice if parking wasn`t so expensive. the hide-a-bed leaves a lot to be desired. For 2 adults this thin mattress is pretty bad. Overall this was a very good experience & the staff is very helpful with directions & dining help. The wi-fi is not free, but they do have a business room that you can use for free & check e-mail.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $148 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing