We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge clean beautiful room in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend. I had never stayed at the Embassy Suites Hotel, so was pleasantly surprised to see what we got. Our suite was huge, clean, and beautiful. The hotel was in a great location, right across the street from the Westfield Shopping Center. We were also surprised to see that the complimentary breakfast was actually a full breakfast, which included delicious cook to order omeletes. From 5pm to 7pm daily, they had a happy hour event called "The Managers Reception", where we enjoyed free beer and wine. The time went so quickly, we didn't get to enjoy all the amenities that the hotel had to offer. Wish we stayed longer. I loved it. We will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a great time, only the floor in the bathroom was a kind of dirty all the time. Overall a great experience a great staff. Convenient for family vacation. Parking facility is good and breakfast is very nice. Weather was gorgeous and location of the hotel nice. If planning a trip to La Jolla would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Was in San Diego on business and spent 2 nights (Sunday & Monday). Sunday night the hotel was jammed with kids; a soccer tournament or something. The kids were running wild and their parents ignored the behavior. The hotel staff was frustrated and embarrassed by the situation but was at a loss to control it. Monday night most of them (if not all) were gone and the hotel was as nice as ever.

This is still my favorite Embassy Suites and I won’t hold this against them, but next time I’ll ask if they’ll be having a house full of kids. The parking lot is still $20 per night, I used to park free on the street but that’s all posted “No Parking” now, so you really don’t have any option but to pay it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baloney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Embassy Suites San Diego-La Jolla gives you good value for your money. It is right across the street from a mall, and there is a P.F. Changs right next to the hotel itself. Parking, though, is $20 a day, which I thought was steep. It has the typical Embassy Suites setup, with a living room, bathroom and a bedroom. Breakfast is free, and it was OK. I expected a long line for breakfast because we came down late, but the line wasn't too bad. I also expected the food to be almost gone, but there was still plenty left (We always go late for breakfast). We stayed when it was Orientation week for incoming freshmen at the nearby UC San Diego, but the hotel wasn't crowded - I had expected it to be full of students with their parents. Our room had floor-to-ceiling windows and the bed was a little high, but comfortable. The fridge and the microwave were very convenient since we had a lot of dinner leftovers, which we ended up eating the next day. There was no concierge but the front desk could answer questions. There is also a daily afternoon reception with free snacks and drinks available. It was also OK. Overall I would stay here again the next time I'm in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CITravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is amazing. We received a great deal when we stayed here during our visit to the La Jolla/San Diego area. It was very convenient to Downtown San Diego as well as the La Jolla tide pools. It was right by two major interstates that we used when visiting outside of the San Diego/La Jolla area (i.e. Los Angeles, Anaheim, etc.).

The hotel provides daily breakfast which we used during our 8 day stay. It's really good breakfast too! The first few times we had breakfast in the breakfast area but then a few days into it we made ourselves a tray and took the breakfast up stairs and ate in the room. Breakfast is included in the cost of the hotel so it is important to consider that in the value of the overall cost.

They also had an evening managers reception with 1 - 2 complimentary alcoholic beverages (we didn't use ours because we don't drink) but they had unlimited soda and various snacks. We hiked a lot during our stay in California so it was nice to come back around managers reception time to have a snack before we ventured out for dinner.

We did order from the restaurant downstairs for dinner. We ordered it from the room and picked it up downstairs. As with most hotel food it was a bit over priced but it was very good and the lady who served the food for us and packaged it to go was extremely nice.

The rooms are clean and very spacious.

No complaints about this hotel at all. We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Ask for high floors - it usually comes with a prettier view than lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justadude1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

this hotel is the best of the best for service, great helpful staff and value! Breakfast choices had everything. Omelettes home frys pâsterie fruit cereal toast coffee tea. Managers welcome happy hour was sooooooo lovely after a long day being a tourist(beer on tap and wine served) along with snacks. Hotel very very clean. Pool was great indoors(but chlorine smell was very harsh they may have just treated it) bar/restaurant staff were wonderful too very fun and friendly- plus can't beat location for birch aquarium and museums we will definitely be back this is our new favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommyneedsaniteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel, the location was in walking distance to my job, a very nice mall and good places to eat. It was close to the Interstate, making it easy to go to other others in San Diego quickly. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. I travel 3 weeks out of the month for work and this hotel was by far one of the best experiences yet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.4 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
1.4 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $152 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing