We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I really think Embassy suites sets the standard for extended stay hotels. I like the 2 room suite concept; I like having a nice TV in both rooms; I like the made to order breakfasts; I like the managers nightly reception. Just a great way to relax and enjoy yourself.

The one thing that I wasn't thrilled with here, and I don't think you can really get around this considering the location, was the paying for parking. Once you get past that, you'll have a wonderful stay. Great staff and wonderful conceirge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday. We kept getting phone calls from management saying that we were too loud and that the guests were complaining.

In the meantime, guests with small children gave them free range, breaking dishes, running through the hallways yelling and no one had a problem with that.

They also charge $20 per day for parking. Why do you think that is?

Room Tip: Don't use the sofa bed. Sleeping on the floor is more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This property is clean, well located, and the staff was very efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

From the lobby to the rooms, this is a great place to call home in San Diego. The food is excellent, the rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: Any are great just ask not to be placed right by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenicGorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed her over Labor Day weekend with 2 of my friends on a girls getaway weekend in San Diego. The room was a pretty standard example of an Embassy Suites. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

We didn't try out the snacks during the cocktail hour (too many fun things to do in San Diego) but we enjoyed the full breakfast each morning of our stay. We also appreciated the kitchenette in the room as we brought a lot of our own snack (although be careful - the fridge was a little too powerful and we ended up freezing some of our food).

The location was great - not too far from both the 5 and 805 freeways in a nice area near shopping yet not congested.

All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: We booked late and were only able to get an "accessible" room. I wouldn't recommend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildiris117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Extremely polite and efficient Front Desk Staff. Something often not encountered in many "upscale" parts of Southern California.

Bottom Line: The Suites are Remodeled. Fresh, tastefully appointed Bathroom. Nice Beds. Clean Linens. Oversized and Soft Bath Towels. High Quality Toiletries (Soap, Shampoo, Lotion) are all very nice. No need to 'Bring your Own Toiletries' which is a big bonus for Business Travel.

The Suites are HUGE. Flat Panel Televisions. Great Water Pressure in Shower. Waterpik Shower Head is Above Average; not as good as a Speakman Shower Head. All of the flack about this place being noisy seems way overrated. Very reasonable sound levels. Nice Alarm Clock with built-in MP3 Player. Comforter/Duvet need not be inspected with a Black Light. Clearly they clean their duvet's. No Bottled Water in Room. Items in 'Pantry/Snack Shop' are reasonably priced.

Nice Place. I'd book it again without hesitation...

Room Tip: Get a Corner Room away from the elevators Get a Lower Floor Room so you don't have to wait for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimandelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

As a non-smoker it is an absolute annoyance to be put by the unhelpful und unfriendly receptionist in a stinking smokers room. Since you cannot open the window, there is no way to get a fresh gasp. I rate this as personal injury which should be prosecuted. Additionally parking and internet is very expensive. I will avoid Embassy in future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gfun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.4 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
1.4 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $152 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing