We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "go-to" place to stay in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #175 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have stayed here for the last 4 years whenever I am in San Diego for a conference. I usually call to let them know I will be checking in late, Pete is always waiting for my arrival with the key and a smiling face. Good price, free parking, WiFi, and free breakfast in the morning!!

Room Tip: You can call the front desk if you need a hair dyer and they will get you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth Eepoo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 516 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

To call this dump a "hotel and suites" is a joke. It's a Motel 6 - type design, but with paper thin walls, one night stand (if my wife was with me, one of us would have grumbled), no coffee in the room or at reception, no place to put stuff in the bathroom, a kitchenette but not one piece of anything to make it usable, such as a cup and kettle to make a cup of tea, no place to sit other than the bed. And, they charged me over $200 for this room, although I admit it was at the last minute and I had no other options.

Staff was very friendly; no quarrel there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I'm french and I'm studying in san Diego, when my family or parents come, I always take this hotel, parking is free, Wi-Fi too. Pretty good room with space, 5 min by foot to little Italy where you have lots of restaurants. kind and welcoming persons at the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesaribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is in good location. Staff is great. Convenient to shops downwtown restaurants and harbor view. Small hotel but great amenities and customer service. Micheline and carlos went above and beyond to make sure my stay was excellant.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

When I realized my downtown San Diego hotel was going to charge me $240 for the last night of my stay, I thought it was time to try something different. I paid about a third of that (around $90) for a room in this hotel, and I was very pleased! This hotel reminds me of what is available as a 'motel' in in a tourist city in Northern Michigan (like...Mackinaw City), in a very urbanized area that is part of the flight path to the airport (like...Rosslyn, Virginia), but surrounded by the usual palm trees and warmth of San Diego. There is nothing fancy here, but everything seemed very clean. It looks as if very minimal and carefully budgeted remodeling and painting was done within the last 5 years or so. Carlos, the front desk clerk, was GREAT. He pointed me in the direction of the public bus to the airport (a block or two away, $2.25 exact change required). My only complaints are 1. the spottiness of the internet -- repeated warnings on my computer that the connection was 'unstable'2. Breakfast is not great--I'm not a big fan of styrofoam, and the coffee was watery; and 3. there was a drunk party coming home to the hotel late at night, but they quieted down very quickly; and 4. Construction in the area leads to some noise and dust during the day. You have to ask for a blow dryer at the front desk--pretty typical for this class of hotel. I would definitely come back with family, and I might consider again for a business trip-- if I did not have big deadlines requiring a stable internet connection.Oh..and Little Italy, with terrific restaurants, and public transit are nearby, great location! Parking looks convenient.

Room Tip: Choose lower rooms if stairs are a problem--no elevator. Otherwise, I prefer upper floors for safety...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel was closed to the convention center, with a very nice harbour closed by for sightseeing , convenient to the convention center.. Mr. Pete was very professional that he lead me to the Trolley station and food locations cleary . I enjoy the trip so much by his help and kind services ! Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellersd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for a few days
First off for breakfast. Don't expect much other than coffee, Toast, Hard boiled Eggs and cereal.
We stayed in the King Bed jacuzzi suite. The bed was pretty stiff and caused us to wake up with sore backs each morning.
We made our reservation online with a package of seaworld and san diego zoo tickets. When we checked in, we expected them to have some tickets ready for us, or at least a voucher to take to the ticket office at each park. The Man told us that we would pay for just our room, and we would purchase tickets online on our own, and then promptly email them to the hotel to print for us. Very Un professional i'd say.
Not to mention how slow the Wifi connection was. Especially for having 3 pacific inn connections to choose from.
Needless to say i will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dream_teamML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#57 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
La Pensione
#135 of 286 in San Diego
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2414
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $90 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are arriving in town for business, enjoying a vacation or departing from San Diego on a cruise or flight, the Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for cheap hotels in San Diego. A great choice for business and leisure travelers alike, the Pacific Inn in Downtown San Diego provides easy access to everything San Diego has to offer. Our affordable hotel is located only one block from the San Diego Bay and minutes from the Convention Center, the San Diego Airport and the city’s most popular attractions including the historic Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. The Pacific Inn & Suites combines seaside charm with friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and a convenient location, making us the ideal choice for affordable hotels near downtown San Diego. When comparing budget downtown San Diego hotels, guests find that the Pacific Inn offers great value with our comfortable accommodations and selection of amenities. Whether you are getting ready for a day of sightseeing around San Diego or a successful meeting at the Convention Center, the Pacific Inn offers a variety of amenities and services to meet your needs. For your convenience, we provide free guest parking and Wi-Fi. The Pacific Inn is pet-friendly, so feel free to bring your four-legged friends along. We invite you to relax at the hotel swimming pool or take a stroll to the nearby Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing