We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Star rooms at a Two Star motel in a Four Star location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Bay Area, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Star rooms at a Two Star motel in a Four Star location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are very low end. No issues with cleanliness, but the furnishings and decor are definitely on the low end of the scale. The hotel itself seems old and tired. The tiny lobby also serves as the breakfast buffet and neither are much to write home about. The location is great, very close to the water and you can walk to restaurants and shops, but realize you will see plenty of street people in the area. Overall, it worked for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonebobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We understand as a guest, you expect new and trendy rooms, however we must keep in mind the budget that our guests allow us to decorate and upgrade. Right now our company is saving up to make our rooms brand new, and to update all of our room furnishings rather than changing small things at a time. However, we know that the comfort of your room is crucial, so we changed our beds in the last few months, added fitted sheets, new blankets, and brand new pillows. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we are working hard to update our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    167
    102
    34
    55
See reviews for
85
158
59
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and could even checked in earlier as normally possible. The pool, the rooms and especially the friendly service was great. That convinced me to suggest the hotel to everyone looking for a good hotel in San Diego.

Room Tip: Early check-in is quite comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I read your review with a huge smile on my face, it joys me more than one can imagine when our guests have such a great stay. As a hotel it is our priority to offer our guests the best value, and we do so by providing stellar service, clean and comfortable rooms, and fantastic complimentary amenities. We thank you for taking so much pride in our hotel that you are now referring friends and family. The next time you are in town or someone your referred is please give us a call directly and we would love to offer you some awesome rates and specials to fit your preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have never received such positive and helpful service. Pete explained where the cash points were and showed us where all the best places to go drinking were. Could not ask for anything better.

The car park is also free which is a great bonus to bonus to us as we were staying on a budget. The hotel is also very clean. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and sharing with management your experience with Pete. Our front desk staff is always on duty to serve you, and we will do so in any way possible to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryville, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

stayed here 2 nights 8/23 and 24. Location is great, one street away from the waterfront with it's attractions like the Carrier Midway, Star of India square rigger, submarines, Americas cup boats, etc...Room was pretty clean, bed was comfortable. Rooms are amazingly quiet for an urban location, I read the double pane windows are the reason.Pool is short but 7' deep which allowed me a nice stretch/workout in the morning. Cody at the front desk was very friendly, and breakfast was simple but free and appreciated. Only downside is the amount of cigarettes being smoked here, both poolside and on the front patio.

Room Tip: we were fine on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmccay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We want to thank you sincerely for your kind review. It truly touches our hearts when guests have such a great stay at our hotel. Our staff works extremely hard day in and day out to ensure a great guest experience, and when complimented by reviews like yours we can't help but smile that our hard work paid off. We are glad that our rooms, location, and staff exceeded your expectations, and as for the smoke we are definitely going to be assigning different designated areas for guests to smoke in. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night in April. The room was super clean and the bathroom was gorgeous! Walking distance to the Amtrak and Trolley stations and other attractions. Lots of food places in the area. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your wonderful stay at our hotel. Our central location, great rooms, and fantastic value we believe that we are best fit for anyone visiting San Diego for the first time, or that needs to be near the public transportation systems. Thank you again for sharing your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

STAFF ~ The manager, Pete (front desk guy in the evening), cleaning ladies were the best people I have interacted with. Pete gave us the best recommendations on restaurants and what to see around and how to get around. He was very friendly and helpful with all the questions we had. Other guys on front desk was not very helpful and kind of treated everyone in different standard.

Location wise this is the best spot to stay, its close to downtown and easy walk to the ferry stop to Coronado island. Rooms in general were very clean and well maintained. I think if the hotel repaint the rooms, it might add little more value. Rooms are little too dark and ver limited space as far as closet and hanger. Also, it would be extremely convenient if the hotel had drinking water machine or fountain and more soda machines. During our stay all sodas were out of order in the vending machine.

ROOMS ~ I strongly suggest that smoking rooms should in one end of the hotel. We had non smoking room for 4 weeks. Unfortunately, due to SMOKING room next door, they had heavy smokers or something, our room was full of cigarette smell to the point we couldnt handle it. I am not that difficult person but it is little irritating when we had to move into different room at midnight. It would have been nice if there were more discount or something for the huge inconvenience.

Over all it was a good stay because of the location and well communicating manager. Would i stay there again? Maybe but not entirely sure, I rather pay little more and get chain hotel like Doubletree or something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. Pete appreciates your sincere review, and your words will motivate him to continue providing the best service. It's unfortunate that your neighbors were inconsiderate during your stay, but we are glad we were able to accommodate you in a new room. You are definitely correct in that our location is superb, as we are walking distance to so many San Diego attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Based on where the hotel is located we were able to walk to a lot of the attractions - USS Midway, Maritime Museum, Little Italy, etc. I was in San Diego for a wedding which was held on The Berkeley which is docked at the Maritime Museum. I was there for 6 nights. The trolley behind the Hotel got us to the Gaslamp Quarter (one trolley), and to the San Diego Zoo (two trolleys and a bus - we are from NYC so no problem). We took a ferry near the Hotel to get to Coronado to see the fantastic Hotel Del Coronado. My hotel room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff is great. The pool was nice. Great value for the price that I paid. I had some juice and coffee the first morning, but powdered creamer for the coffee! There is a Denny's about 2-3 blocks away which we did the rest of the mornings. All in all I had a great time and I recommend this place!

Room Tip: I requested a room on the second floor since the parking lot is right outside some of the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are a great accommodation for all guests looking to explore San Diego, as we are walking distance to so many unique attractions to San Diego. Our rooms, staff, and value are key in making our guests happy, and we vow to set a standard of excellence in all three of those aspects. Thank you again for sharing your great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#136 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Property: Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2414
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are arriving in town for business, enjoying a vacation or departing from San Diego on a cruise or flight, the Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for cheap hotels in San Diego. A great choice for business and leisure travelers alike, the Pacific Inn in Downtown San Diego provides easy access to everything San Diego has to offer. Our affordable hotel is located only one block from the San Diego Bay and minutes from the Convention Center, the San Diego Airport and the city’s most popular attractions including the historic Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. The Pacific Inn & Suites combines seaside charm with friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and a convenient location, making us the ideal choice for affordable hotels near downtown San Diego. When comparing budget downtown San Diego hotels, guests find that the Pacific Inn offers great value with our comfortable accommodations and selection of amenities. Whether you are getting ready for a day of sightseeing around San Diego or a successful meeting at the Convention Center, the Pacific Inn offers a variety of amenities and services to meet your needs. For your convenience, we provide free guest parking and Wi-Fi. The Pacific Inn is pet-friendly, so feel free to bring your four-legged friends along. We invite you to relax at the hotel swimming pool or take a stroll to the nearby Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing