We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lil getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #174 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

me and my husband went for a mini getaway to SD, we got a Jacuzzi suite, it was a nice lil room, the jacuzzi tub was awesome, breakfast was continental style, but we made waffles, had cereal, bagels coffee and juice, it was pretty quiet for us. its no resort style, just an average hotel, so if thats what you're expecting go else where, but if your looking for inexpensive and pleasant, this was a nice choice for us, Jacuzzi suite is for a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursekt909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for posting a review for our hotel, but for future guests I would like to speak to the breakfast. Although we do have Jacuzzi suites, our hotel does not provide waffles, and instead of bagels we have toast.

Yes sir, we are hotel that does not have very many frills, but with complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and free parking all at budget friendly prices you can't go wrong. I am glad that you were able to stay in our Jacuzzi suites, as they are extremely popular with our guests.

I can see by the number of reviews, and places you have visited that you are a very credible source, and I hope that our future guests will use your review to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was simple and included everything we needed. From the pool to breakfast all the way down to HBO TV in the room. Though the only downfall of the HBO was that my boyfriend didnt let me sleep because he was too busy watching tv.

The customer service was really fast. whenever i asked for an extra towel or for a wakeup call it was done within 5 minutes personally by the front desk. (kind of a nice touch)

The pool was good enough and the water temp. wasnt that bad either.

The breakfast included eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, tea, OJ, and i think oatmeal also which was fine because we are not big breakfast people anyways

the WIFI was a little slow so we called the front desk to let them know and they restarted th emodem and it worked perfectly fine after that.

So i mean there were a few minor bumps here and there but thanks to the front desk they were all fixed.

I surely recommend this hotel to all. It is definetly a good fine in downtown at an affordable rate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the Front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, it is our number one priority to provide you with the best service possible, and thank you for attesting to the fact that our staff was attentive to all of your needs. At the Pacific Inn we strive to make your visit to San Diego as enjoyable as possible, by providing you with clean rooms, great service, all at budget friendly prices, and after reading your comments it seems we were able to hit all three of those marks! Thank you for choosing the Pacific Inn, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I drove down to San Diego to get away from the heat. We didn't realize how hard it would be to find a room without booking a reservation. After driving around looking for a place to stay we found the Pacific Inn. The front desk employee was very helpful. He showed us a room to prove their cleanliness and quality. He gave us directions and suggestions of what to visit. I'm glad we found the Pacific Inn

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamM728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure to accommodate you during the busy weekend. We are glad to hear that our hotel was effective in providing you great customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to the pacific inn this past weekend and realized I had mistakenly booked my room for a queen size bed instead of a king size. It was memorial weekend and they had no additional rooms available. However, David, the desk clerk, called his sister hotel and rearranged rooms so that I would be able to sleep in a King size bed. I will definately be coming back!!! Thanks Pacific Onn you guys are the best!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We sincerely appreciate your positive comments, and we can't wait for your next visit to San Diego. I'm happy that our front desk staff was able to accommodate you in the room you wanted, as we do our best to meet the requests of our guests as best as we can. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

You know I read the reviews before I booked my room and was hesistant but decided to book anyways. I knew this was not going to be the Marriott as it seems that most people who post reviews for this hotel think it is. The rooms were clean, there was wifi and it was walking distance to the trolley. People expect way too much for the bargain prices you pay when staying at this hotel. The breakfast is fine the noise isn't bad. I was happy with my stay and it was exactly what I expected.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Owner at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Victoria,

I would like to say from the bottom of my heart thank you for this review. When I read this review, it brought a smile to my face as it is very rare that a guest reviews our hotel with the utmost truth. I hope that future guests will read your review, as it attests to what our hotel truly is. As soon as I read this review, I knew I had to respond myself. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 4 nights last week. Breakfast was never available until after 7:30 each morning. The guy who sets it up and is the day shift desk clerk needs to be wound up. He does not get in a hurry or really cares when he unlocks the doors. Toast does not constitute a hot breakfast and the choices were very slim. He tried to over charge us by a day when we arrived. When I noticed the mistake a day later, it was brought to his attention, he said the person had made a mistake. When in fact it was him and he made no apologies. This man needs to find a different job, he could care less about this one.
We had to put the bath mat down over broken tile in the bathroom, for fear we would cut our feet on them. We were shorted a washcloth every day and had to ask for one.
The only thing keeping this motel open is the location and the price.
Even with breakfast, it is not up to Motel 6.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanc304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel sir. After reading your review we feel that you have some valid points, but are a little unreasonable as well. We are taking the necessary steps to improve the quality of our morning service, and assure you that it is something we are taking very seriously. As for the other aspects of your review, it seems that our hotel did not meet your expectations, yet the price did. You've got to understand with the prices that we offer, there is only so much we can offer for breakfast. We hope that our future guests fully understand what our hotel offers before booking with us for our great prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you like Motel 6 than you will love this hotel. The only thing going for the hotel, is the Lady who drove me to the air port and the location. Arrived for the breakfast at just after 9am and there was nothing left I asked about this and was told breakfast ended at 9-30 am but one all the items are gone then breakfast is over, not even a cup of coffee. I had to go next door to the take out chain for coffee and something on a bun. Many better hotels at the same or similar price near by.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moxy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, while staying in San Diego. While we thank you for your comments, we must disagree with your title. It seems that yes, you had arrived late for breakfast, but I assure you that coffee still remains after breakfast for our guests to enjoy throughout the day. While this issue will be taken up with our breakfast staff, Motel 6 does not offer breakfast at all. With great respect, it seems that our hotel is being compared to the Motel 6 due to the fact that you arrived at breakfast, when it had already ended. Without mentioning that our rooms, service, and overall experience of staying at our hotel is far superior than to that of Motel 6.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#55 of 286 in San Diego
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
La Pensione
#136 of 286 in San Diego
588 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 286 in San Diego
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2414
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $100 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are arriving in town for business, enjoying a vacation or departing from San Diego on a cruise or flight, the Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for cheap hotels in San Diego. A great choice for business and leisure travelers alike, the Pacific Inn in Downtown San Diego provides easy access to everything San Diego has to offer. Our affordable hotel is located only one block from the San Diego Bay and minutes from the Convention Center, the San Diego Airport and the city’s most popular attractions including the historic Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. The Pacific Inn & Suites combines seaside charm with friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and a convenient location, making us the ideal choice for affordable hotels near downtown San Diego. When comparing budget downtown San Diego hotels, guests find that the Pacific Inn offers great value with our comfortable accommodations and selection of amenities. Whether you are getting ready for a day of sightseeing around San Diego or a successful meeting at the Convention Center, the Pacific Inn offers a variety of amenities and services to meet your needs. For your convenience, we provide free guest parking and Wi-Fi. The Pacific Inn is pet-friendly, so feel free to bring your four-legged friends along. We invite you to relax at the hotel swimming pool or take a stroll to the nearby Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing