We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #171 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“clean and convenient”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was worried about the quality of service at this hotel considering its location and price range. I was pleasantly suprised when the manager Mr. Jayson upgrade me, free of charge, from 1 queen to 2 queen bed upon my request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to serve you, while still being weary of the location. Good to know you were able to have a positive experience, and we were able to provide you with outstanding service given from Jayson, an elite employee.
Thank you for your comments and taking the time in posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    165
    101
    33
    53
See reviews for
84
157
58
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Reasonably priced for location. Very close to public transportation, ocean, Marine Museum, Midway Aircraft Carrier. Walked to Petco Park and Gas Lamp district. Could have taken the "train" to Old Town, but the closest station was closed. Was an easy drive there. Staff very helpful. Breakfast nothing to write home about -- typical free breakfast fare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dy-dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for writing your review! We are happy that your stay with us met your expectations! Our convenient location makes you close to the heart of San Diego. We hope you return and stay with our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this hotel on a last minute decision to ditch a hostel booking where I'd have to change rooms several times. Considering my booking was during Comic Con International, it was really expensive over the Friday-Sunday portion of my stay even though I was barely in my room. However, on the days following Comic Con, the booking fee was reasonable.

The room I had was 103, which is right next to the reception office. Occasionally, I'd get a fright when I would hear a door handle being opened, thinking it was mine but it was actually the side door to the reception office. The desk staff (all male) are very friendly and were able to answer the majority of my questions and helped me with directions to various locations that I wanted to go to. The hotel is a little older style hotel. There's a fridge and a microwave in the room, as well as box-type TV with good reception. WiFi was fast enough on my tablet. The cleaning staff replace your towels everyday regardless of whether or not you leave them on the floor. My room was cleaned every day during my stay except for one day when it was possibly just randomly missed even though I didn't put the sign on the door.

The trolley and train tracks are directly behind the hotel, so it can be very noisy up until midnight when the trains/trolleys ring their bells and horns every 20-30 minutes. If you're a light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend staying here. However, since the trolley stop is so close to the hotel, its easy to travel downtown and to other locations. You can buy a $5 day tripper which can be used unlimited throughout the day on the trolley and buses.

The hotel provides a lovely breakfast of bagels, a selection of cereal and oatmeal, fruit, boiled eggs, coffee, tea and orange juice. You can eat your breakfast at the tables out the front of reception otherwise take it back to your room if the 3 tables are taken. In case you're just hanging out in your room,there's a Jack in the Box right next to the hotel, as well as a Mexican place across the street. Denny's is a couple of blocks down towards the Freeway and there's a 7Eleven around the block. If you need a few groceries or a pharmacy, there's a Rite Aid a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that your stay with us was good. Our staff do what they can to make sure your stay is exceptional. We're happy to hear that our location was convenient for your needs. We're sorry that we missed cleaning your room on one of the days you stayed with us but please know, we do our best to make sure our housekeeping gets to everyone. We would love for you to return to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I recently had a very bad experience with this hotel. I was attending a company conference and I had to get a hotel, most hotels in the area were full. After searching through Expedia I found a hotel that looked fairly good and proceeded to book a non smoking room, Expedia required prepayment for this hotel. When I arrived at the hotel, the manager informed me that he only had a recently converted room (smoking to non smoking) and that he had left the AC on and sprayed the room, the room was musty and had a strong odor of smoke. After I expressed my dissatisfaction with the room, he sent me down the street to another hotel that was a even less desirable that Pacific Inn And Suites. I immediately contacted Expedia and demanded a refund, Expedia refused to give me a refund because they honored the hotel managers word over mine and the hotel chain already billed Expedia’s account. I even asked the have the case escalated but Expedia’s management communicated the same message, the hotel manager even boasted that I would not get my money back. Well, I paid Expedia with my Amex Corporate Card who refunded the charge with out asking any questions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for writing your review. We apologize that your stay was not what you had hoped. We apologize that your room was disappointing for you. We do what we can to accomodate a guests needs, even sending you to one of our other hotels. We will keep your review in mind. Please don't let this experience discourage you from returning. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel was the staff. They were so nice and helpful about where to go, what to see, great with directions. They went above and beyond.

Now about the hotel. It is a dump. The room smelled awful, it was old, the bed was too hard, the bathroom was so gross I didn't even want to take a shower. The wifi barely worked and if you could even get a signal, you would keep loosing it. The worst thing is that it the train tracks are right behind the hotel and all you could hear was the loud train. It was impossible to sleep.

Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here ( I wouldn't) make sure you don't get the room behind the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbieannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for writing your review for our hotel. We are happy to know that our staff was helpful in your stay. We apologize that our room did not meet your expectations. Our wifi has been upgraded and it should be in working order. Please don't let this experience discourage you from returning. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in 103 which is right next to the office and it had a small frig and microwave. 3-4 blocks to the cruise ship terminal and the train depot. About a mile from the airport and I would recommend using the bus to get there. Bus fare $2.25 0r $1.10 if over 60. You can buy an all day pass for $5 and it is good on the trolley and buses. No senior discount on that. I had been told that coffee was available 24/7 in the lobby but turns out it wasn't. Also, some pictures online show a waffle maker and they don't have one. Complimentary breakfast was adequate with coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, bagels, cold cereal and instant oatmeal packages and apples and oranges. Other reviewers have complained about the noise but this can't be helped as the train tracks run along the back of the hotel and a major street runs in front of it and the airport is about a mile away. But the location is so good, I would suggest just bring some ear plugs. Staff is very friendly. They do have a policy of charging your credit card for more than the amount of the stay and having you sign that charge and then re doing it on check out for the correct amount. Not sure why and some other hotels have this policy also

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that your stay with us was good. We're glad to know that your room lived up to your expecation. Our staff do what they can to make sure your stay with us is the best. Please think of us on your next stay, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was there two nights, the room was clean and had everything I needed, but the real reason I'm writing is because of the staff. John let me check in early, gave great directions and saved me 30% on a harbor cruise. He also let me keep my truck parked on the lot after checking out so I could visit one more attraction. In this corporate world of rules and regulations, it is nice to experience a person that understands true customer service, Going the extra mile means everything to this consumer and I'm happy to recommend your hotel to everyone. Keep up the good work, I'll be back-

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel! We are pleased to know that our hotel made you happy. Our convenient location helps with making your stay more comfortable! We are glad to know that our staff was an exceptional part of your stay. We look forward to seeing you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#130 of 278 in San Diego
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Property: Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2414
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are arriving in town for business, enjoying a vacation or departing from San Diego on a cruise or flight, the Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for cheap hotels in San Diego. A great choice for business and leisure travelers alike, the Pacific Inn in Downtown San Diego provides easy access to everything San Diego has to offer. Our affordable hotel is located only one block from the San Diego Bay and minutes from the Convention Center, the San Diego Airport and the city’s most popular attractions including the historic Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. The Pacific Inn & Suites combines seaside charm with friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and a convenient location, making us the ideal choice for affordable hotels near downtown San Diego. When comparing budget downtown San Diego hotels, guests find that the Pacific Inn offers great value with our comfortable accommodations and selection of amenities. Whether you are getting ready for a day of sightseeing around San Diego or a successful meeting at the Convention Center, the Pacific Inn offers a variety of amenities and services to meet your needs. For your convenience, we provide free guest parking and Wi-Fi. The Pacific Inn is pet-friendly, so feel free to bring your four-legged friends along. We invite you to relax at the hotel swimming pool or take a stroll to the nearby Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing