We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but they messed up big time”
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #223 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place but they messed up big time”
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I booked a room through this hotels website dirrectly in August 12 for our upcoming stay in September. I had a confirmation number and they sent me an e-mail confirming the dates and rate. When we arrived there on September 13th, they had no record of our reservation. I showed them the email that I had printed out with the confirmation number and the desk person said that it didn't help him at all. He then asked me if I called the hotel to confirm it, I said no isn't that the point of the hotel sending me the email with a confirmation number? He then told us that they are completly booked and there was nothing he could do. He went on to blame the problem in the corporate office who runs the online booking. He said they didnt enter us into the system. We were in San Diego for a wedding the next day and we had to be ready early the next day. So he said there was a sister property 2 blocks down and they had a room available and sent us down there. When we got the the Pacific shores inn, their sister property, they did not have any rooms available for us and sent us back to the Diamond head inn. The desk clerk told us that he could put us in a room at the Diamond head inn for one night and then they would figure it out in the morning. So the room we were in was ok, but we reserved a 2 room suite with a kitchen. We got a 1 room with 2 queens. Not very comfortable for us. The next day they sent us to the Pacific shores inn, and that place was terrible. You can see my review of that place under Pacific shores inn.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — The terrible service and unwillingness to fix the problem they created.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    33
    17
    28
See reviews for
47
51
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I went on a weekend trip to San Diego with my girlfriend (both 28) and had actually booked a room with the sister location, Pacific Shores Inn due to the fact that in this price range I was concerned that the Diamon Head Inn had no permanent parking or swimming pool. I'm a big traveler but have not stayed in many hotels myself nor had I explored San Diego close to the beach. If you're in your 20s, maybe 25-30 I think you would find the place to be adequate. The pros are the location. Had no clue it would be so perfectly located for what we were looking for. There are reviews with complaints about the steps,etc but you're literally a minute away from the beach. Other pros are that the rooms were fairly big and upgraded., there's a nice convenient small kitchen area and refrigerator to store some drinks. The cons are unfortunately small details that more seasoned travelers might want to avoid with reason. Our television, not a priority I'll admit did not get any channels, the ceiling fan was wobbling and made a noise that was tolerable but annoying. Upon arrival our room was "ready" but there were no soaps or shampoos available for a shower.
I didn't find noise to be an issue though I could have possibly been more upset that somehow we were transfered from one hotel that we chose to this one without knowing what it was going to be like.
It's located right next to the Pacific Terrace Hotel that I would definitely recommend if you can fit it in your budget. Rooms seemed modern, large balconies and a nice pool that was semiprivate from the boardwalk.
Our room cost us $140/Mid-May for comparison reasons.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Small details that could have been more annoying for some.
Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Belgotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

I must admit that after reading the reviews, I was sceptical. However, this hotel was in an excellent location, right on the boardwalk at Mission Beach. Like all other travellers, the parking is an issue but in December, we didn't have a problem but I'm sure parking in the summer is a nightmare. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The room as very big. Kono's for breakfast is a must! Great homebase for exploring San Diego. We did have an issue with the phones. Someone was trying to reach us and the phone just rang and rang, no one at the front desk all the time and the phone's are not forwarded to an answering service. We did have a wonderful holiday and would stay here again!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Kladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

There is NO air conditioning and the ceiling fan in the first room did not work so they moved us to a little dinky room in the back of the hotel. It was H O T !!! The windows are small but do open - still not much air. The staff is great considering what they have to work with. It is right on the beach - if you don't mind walking down about 65 steps to get to the beach...and back up! We were very unhappy and would have moved if we could have located another hotel. They discounted our room from $160 to $110 so we stayed. The sofa bed was broken but we needed two beds so we switched off and one of us got the sofa bed every other night. Would not go there again - and - would not recommend it to anyone over the age of 22.

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — hot - hot - hot - noisy - dirty - loud neighbors - no place to sleep (sofa bed broken)
  • Tips/Secrets — choose a different hotel - not this one!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank djazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed at this Inn on June 30 and July 1. The facility itself was clean and had a small kitchen, which would have been great except that there is no air conditioning and the weather has been unseasonably hot. We came into the room and it literally was about 90 degrees. We opened all the windows, but the room cooled slowly and not all that much. That might have been acceptable (barely), but once the windows are open, you heard all of the teenagers and young twenty-somethings who are drinking and partying in front of the inn until all hours of the morning - 2 a.m. one night and 3 a.m. the other night. Even when we nicely went out at 2 a.m. and asked them to quiet down, they did not. They weren't rude, but they didn't go away either!

Also - the rooms are on a "catwalk" so when you have your windows open, people who walk by to other rooms can see right into your room. The people at the office were pleasant, made coffee in the morning and had muffins out, but the noise and the heat were just too much to deal with. Also, parking is at a premium, and there is no ice machine or other amenities. We were very happy when we checked out!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisec65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at Diamond Head Inn. The staff was very kind, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast offers pasteries, juice and coffee just enough to get our day started. Each room had ceiling fans and most of the windows opened. There was some noise our first night, but it is to be expected staying this close to the beach. The parking is limited, but we never had a problem finding a spot.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We had read the reviews of this hotel before we stayed there. We found that most of the comments- good and bad - were quite accurate. Most other reviewers have mentioned noise as a problem. I found that sound did carry very easily but, luckily, there were no party animals there during our stay.

Despite the overall good quality of the room, it did display some examples of slipshod maintenance. The safety chain on the entry door was broken, the cover on the bathroom exhaust fan was held on by crudely applied masking tape and a lot of sunlight could be seen out of the rear door, which exits into a small alley ( the door was not hung properly). Some people would be bothered by these imperfections; we weren't.

The location is fantastic. It is a few dozen steps from the beach and the boardwalk. This feature makes it a popular spot for the surfing fraternity. As a result, street parking is not always available and the hotel does not have its own parking facilities. The neighbourhood does have a variety of decent, roadhouse- style restaurants.

If a modest price and an attractive locale are very important to you, you will probably enjoy this hotel. If a high level of service and top notch facilities are your main consideration, you may want to look at a more expensive hotel

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#209 of 278 in San Diego
444 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#126 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 278 in San Diego
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#164 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,044 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109-2497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting, our casual beachfront hotel is the perfect setting for your next vacation. Our suites feature kitchens with granite countertops for your convenience. Kitchens are fully equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, coffeemakers and all the essential utensils that you need to cook and eat. We also serve complimentary continental breakfast, and our friendly, multilingual staff is ready to help you with local advice and suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing