We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, nice hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #230 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
cape town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a very pleasant place to stay, and had fairly spacious rooms with self catering facilities. It is close to the beautiful beach and very close to busses to the centre of San Diego.

On check in, the man at the desk tried to charge us almost double the amount that we had been quoted through an internet booking site through which we had made the booking. This has never happened before when using this site! He tried to say he had given us a better room than the one quoted, and that he didn't have any others. We said we weren't prepared to pay more so he then said we'd have to stay at another hotel. Only on being adamant, he miraculously found us a room! It was strange that they would not initially honour a system of booking to which they subscribe, and left a bad taste.... Soon overcome by the good hotel, good price (finally) and wonderful surrounds.

So, check your fees on check in!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie1971CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Wow, I'm really sorry about the mixup upon check in. And please accept our apologies! About the rate, the mistake would have been found the next morning, and everything would have been fine. But still, we are sorry for the error. I am glad, after that, that you enjoyed your stay with us!!
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    33
    14
    25
See reviews for
39
49
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rooms were spacious and had a cute beach-theme throughout with shells etc. On the other side it is a bit old standard with stained carpets and well worn furniture. For the price though it was great location, just by the beach and a short stroll to good restaurants. We recommend Kono's for a yummy wholesome good value breakfast and Bareback for really good New Zealand hamburgers.

Service was ok but with room for improvement. The girl in the front desk for the weekend seemed to think she was a bit too cool for the job - not rude but definitely far from service-minded. Asking for something that actually should have been done already was met with "yeah... ok..." (imagine a teenager answering the parent who remind them to clean their room, rather than a professional addressing a paying guest and you get the idea).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I'm very sorry about the customer service you received at the front desk. Our number one goal is good customer from every employee in every position! We, in fact, have a meeting regarding this on a monthly basis, and of course, are always working on improving.

As for the décor, we are changing out the carpets to a laminate flooring, and we just received our first shipment of new seating! We do have a lot of plans for this property, and we do hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I recently stayed at the Diamond Head Inn for three nights. I found the cute, beachy decor absolutely charming. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the kitchen was convenient.

Walking to the beach to watch the surfers and the sunsets was wonderful. I also liked opening the windows and listening to the ocean at night.

Additional surprises (sometimes the little things mean a lot): The towels were fabulous, the hair dryer was powerful and the lights in the kitchen and bathroom were motion activated so I never had to scramble to find a light switch in the dark. The morning coffee was also surprisingly good.

As a single female traveler, I felt totally comfortable at the hotel.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
And, we can't wait for your return as well! Thank you for the really nice comments, and for pointing out the little things that mattered to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Diamond Head Inn is about two things: 1- Value; and 2- Location. The rooms are dated and the carpets aren't very clean. However, this location is right on the beach, there is a full kitchen, and the price is right. If you are comfortable foregoing all of the amenities of more expensive hotels and simply want a good value right on the beach, then this place is perfect. If you want a modern hotel with amenities, this is not the place for you. With that said, we spent 5 nights here in July 2013. We have twin 6 year olds who wanted to be on the beach and seeing local attractions like Sea-World which nearby. So, we didn't need a pool and all the extras. We needed a place where we could walk to a from the beach.....and when our kids were exhausted at the end of the day, we could walk 50 yards from the beach to our room and sleep. For lunch, we could run to the room and make sandwiches or grab something for the kids and then be right back at the beach. We needed value, location, and a place with a kitchen. This location met all of our needs. You won't get a better value this close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hed300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are doing some updates on the rooms like flooring, seating, window treatments, and a new brighter paint scheme. Yes, the location is really perfect! Unfortunately, you didn't know about the swimming pool we share with one of our sister properties. I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just stayed one night on a spur of the moment trip to San Diego. Looked online for a hotel while sitting in one of the many nearby bars and this one fit our price range. I had not read any reviews before hand so I had no expectations, good or bad. The receptionist was very nice. We were very nicely surprised opening our door to find a large room, small desk/chair with a kitchenette and dining table/booth in a smaller room off to one side and the bathroom off to the other side. We had 2 queen beds in our room, no sofa. The beds were not so bad, but the pillows were a little flat. We only needed one bed, but this was all that was left. No problem for us though. We did not use the kitchen as we were out late for the night and didn't know it was going to be there anyways. But we did look through the cabinets and saw a coffee pot, dishes, silverware and pans to use. We did not use the ceiling fan or need A/C (as I later read there was no A/C anyways) The room had a wall heater that we did use. Lots of space to hang clothes for a longer stay. Small flat screen TV on the dresser, would have loved a bigger TV because we love watching sports and late night shows. We were surprised at how close the beach was. A few steps out of our room and down the stairs to the sand. Parking is definitely a problem, somehow we managed to get a spot, we got there around 6. I would not have wanted to drive anywhere for fear of losing my spot. However, with that being said there is a lot nearby that you don't need to drive if you have no real plans, as we did not. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Also within walking distance, a liquor store, grocery store and CVS/Walgreens (can't remember which one). Woke up the next morning and went for a nice walk on the boardwalk. We were very impressed with the area and close proximity of things to walk to that we decided to book another visit for Memorial weekend as we were leaving. I'm hoping to call and request one of the ocean view/balcony rooms. I did remember only seeing 2 balconies facing the ocean. For us this has been a great find. We like spending less for a room and having more money to spend on going places and things to do. If you need a place to spend a night or few, the beach right outside your room, and many places to hang out nearby, then you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you! I hope you have already booked your stay with us with the balconies confirmed. Memorial Day is an extremely busy time for us and the beach. It may be a good idea to plan on parking at our sister property about a three minute walk away, as beach parking will be very tough during that time period. Yes, we do have some amenities you may not expect to find in a smaller property. Every room has a flat screen tv, and a kitchen, except for one room. And, that room still had a kitchenette. Thank you, again! And, please remember to verify your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed11/20/13 to 11/24/13. Room wasn't perfect, but nothing we couldn't live with, a little dated. For the price it was great. Everything you could want is in walking distance. I would book again if we return to San Diego area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you!! We do hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our experience at this hotel is a good example of what Tripadvisor does for users. This hotel was not ranked terribly high in comparison to other hotels on Pacific Beach in San Diego, but it had two things we really wanted: a two-room suite and a location on the beach. We then looked at the reviews to see if we could tolerate other peoples' concerns. The two big ones are a poor breakfast (although our son really like the muffins) and parking that requires a two block walk. We decided we could and we ended up finding some great breakfast places as a result. You can also walk to the parking along the beach, so it adds to the ambiance. Our third concern was the condition of the rooms. We liked that the general manager was responding to the concerns and was providing updates on renovation. This caused me to call the hotel two weeks before the stay and request a renovated room. I was told all of the rooms had been renovated. I said it didn't look that way from Tripadvisor. She assured me they were all renovated. When we checked in the woman told us she saw the note that we requested a renovated room and the room we were getting was "partially" renovated, but it was the largest room and would best accommodate our family. So, the room was not renovated. Perhaps the "partial" was new beds, because the beds were quite nice, but the carpet was stained and the furniture dirty. For us this wasn't a huge problem, but the sofa bed (the primary reason for wanting a two-room suite) was completely unusable. The mattress looked like and egg carton. You could see all the springs. There was no way it could be slept on. The second day we went and asked for a renovated room. The woman at the desk was very nice. She offered us the key to look at another room, but the sofa bed was no better there. This room didn't ruin our trip and we were prepared for some of these problems because of Tripadvisor, but the hotel should be honest about the renovations. This was not a renovated room. We may have stayed anyway, but our expectations would have been appropriate.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms with full beach views. Get one if you can. If they tell you the room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad53207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I do apologize for the confusion. Mostly on our part. We were expecting the renovation to be completed before a certain date, and we are still working on a few of the rooms. With the season, holidays, and busy weeks, it has been a challenge to complete this project. We do hope you will come back again though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#212 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#125 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#140 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing