We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location- Difficult Parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #228 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Fort Myers FL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location- Difficult Parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

I booked one room here because the price was better than other beachfront hotels. The room is clean- slightly dated- and the amenities are not modern- but acceptable.

They upgraded me from the single room to the suite with a balcony facing the beach- so my review may be biased. But the view is phenomenal and the location is great. The balcony in the suite is large and sufficient for 4-6 people. I loved working on the balcony- and keeping the windows open. (No bugs like in Florida) The sound of the waves was serene- and the temperature was perfect.

I can't speak as to how the interior smaller rooms are- but my sta was well worth the money.

My only compaint is that there is limited parking as it is- about 6 spots plus numerous public spots nearby. However, in watching over the last two days- most of the people parking in the hotel spots are not staying at the hotel. I never once saw anyone check the parking - tow trucks or hotel staff.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank broadcast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    33
    16
    28
See reviews for
45
50
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We just came back from our fourth stay at the Diamond Head Inn in PB beach. We have a 10 year old child and we always book the largest room (two queen beds in separate room with door) sitting room with TV and sofa that's a pull out bed, and kitchenette. We love the staff, the rooms are clean, the kitchen helps us save money on food, stores are conveniently close. We're from Phoenix so the lack of AC in the rooms is not a problem, there are 2 ceiling fans and keeping the windows open really cools things off at night (since we are at the beach in the day.....duh!) The open windows do let in noise from the "revelers", though our experience is usually out of a week only one night sticks out as particularly noisy. This year it was a Friday, but then Saturday was calm (go figure). We were both college students once, so we chalk it up to karma! We have booked next year again. If you want convenience, clean and nicely decorated rooms and access to the beach and surrounding restaurants, do the Diamond.

  • Liked — Nicely decorated rooms, comfort and kitchenette
  • Disliked — A bit noisy outside at night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonoraPhoenixArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachgirl1977
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed in the "nicest room" for a week (May 16-23rd '08.)
I grew up in this Pacific Beach & was visiting for the first time in 15 years. My main priority when chooseing this hotel was #1 price, #2 proximity to the Beach (i'm not a pool person).

1st: Our initial surprise was the NO A/C since it was 90 when we arrived. Slowly that became no big deal since we had the 2nd floor ocean facing room & the breeze from the ocean cooling our room off quickly. At night how ever this was a problem because you could not close the door & block out the outdoor boardwalk & parking lot noise. Also there was no screen on the balcony sliding door just a sheer curtain, luckily no sparrows or bugs really got in the room.
2nd: Our room did face the ocean BUT before the ocean was a parking lot, then a grassy knoll where the bums LIVED & then the ocean. So the view was a little not so great or private feeling.
3rd: The "contential breakfast" was pretty weak! Coffee & doughnuts, a muffin or pastry maybe, & juice. I guess I was expecting the best western level of food. Hit Kono's at the Boardwalk & Garnet... the Best breakfast in PB & cheap. Sit inside on windy days & enjoy a surfing video or take it outside to the patio off the pier over the ocean... You can't beat it!
On the up side the room & kitchen was decent sized & well equipped.

Overall Diamond Head inn: you get what you pay for. Great location, as far as in the center of it all, but not a secluded or romantic. Feels very exposed to the parking lot & baordwalk. But close to Garnet Ave. Beach etc. But great price considering the Pacific Terrace next door charges $400+ a night. Not sure that I would book this place again or suggest friends to stay there for more than a day or two & would definitely not suggest staying in the other rooms where your windows open off the main walkway.
Spring for this room if your going to this place!
Weather was a little shaky, 85 & 90's & sunny one day & then 3 days of clouds & 55. May & June are prone to Fog & what locals call "June Gloom" so avoid if you've never been there.

SD Overall: PB & La Jolla are the best that San Diego have to offer... PB is more surfer, laid back, the BEST Beach & college partiers. LJ more lush, beautiful, secluded cove beaches. I highly suggest any traveler to take La Jolla BLvd. North from PB into LJ & explore along the coast on the side roads. The beautiful beaches & homes are spectacular!
Enjoy!

  • Liked — THe rpice
  • Disliked — The lack of Internet, HBO or A/C
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2009
First of all, thank you for the review, as we really do value the opinions and the suggestions of our guests. Let me say that there should have been a screen on the sliding glass door and this has been addressed quite a few times since we first installed the door. As for the breakfast, we have plans to increase the amount of variety after the renovation of the lobby area. As it stands, there is only enough room to have what we offer. I hope the amount of selection will allow the guests to feel like there is a definate value included with the room. There is also a possibility of installing air-conditioning units in each room by the summer or late fall.

Again, thank you for taking the time to send this response. We do hope you will visit again very soon.

JIm Silver, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this hotel at then end of last month. The hotel is right on the beach, close to restaurants and bars. The price of this hotel is very reasonable and I would recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego. Despite what others say its very easy to get around San Diego without a car. Theres a bus stop at the end of the hotels street . Buses come frequently and will take you to downtown SanDiego or the Old town.
A great hotel in a great location.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank amz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

We recently stayed at the Diamond Head for five nights with our two year old. We booked a promotional rate on the website and ended up paying $69/night, an unbelievable price considering the amenities, neighborhood and proximity to the beach. We requested a one bedroom suite and mentioned that we would be two adults and one child. They accomodated us well by putting us in a room with two queen beds (I didn't even see this option listed). I thought that was a nice touch. The lobby area isn't impressive, but who spends time in the lobby. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean. The kitchenettes are very newly remodeled and have granite countertops and table. It was a very comfortable room (despite the lack of air conditioning). It was in the low 50s on the first night and we couldn't get our wall heater to work. A maintenance person came within minutes of reporting the problem and it was fixed immediately. The temperature ended up in the high 80s on the last day of our trip and to be honest the room was uncomfortably warm. I was glad we were packing up that day. The continental breakfast was muffins, awful coffee, and "juice." Fortunately, we went to Trader Joe's on our first night and stocked up on breakfast items, so just used the muffins as a snack. The kitchennetes have a stove-top, full-size microwave, a small fridge, and sink. I think that adding pantry staples such as cooking spray, salt, and pepper would be a good idea, because cooking eggs on old teflon pans isn't always tasty. We never had a problem parking within one block of the hotel during our six day stay. I'm sure this becomes more of a problem during the late summer, but it wasn't an issue for us at all.

The only major complaint that I have is that there was no internet AT ALL. The website lists "wired" internet as an amenity. This would have been a serious problem if my husband couldn't connect his computer to the internet through his Blackberry. I wouldn't have booked there at all had I known they didn't offer internet. This oversight needs to be immediately updated on their website. I'm glad however, that we stayed at the Diamond Head Inn. The price was exceptional. I've paid far more to stay in far less luxurious accomodations and this was a fantastic surprise.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, nice rooms
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chaunacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were very surprised with this little wonder. We stayed at The Diamond Head Inn last weekend and for the price and location I would say it's tough to beat for something so close to the beach. Parking is not that bad if you know when most of the surfers come and go. We got a great spot and walked to every destination the rest of the weekend. The picture that is on their website is actually not of the hotel but of the vacation rentals located directly behind it. It's a very small place but the rooms are big, kitchen is great and the bathroom was not that bad. Only problem we had was that our remote did not work but that did not bother us much since we were in and out of the room often. There were some weekend partiers but it didn't seem to bother me. We will be back next time!!!

  • Liked — Easy access to the beach
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrylauralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed here for 5 days and found it very decent. Our room overlooked the beach and boardwalk. It was cleaned well every day, had a small kitchenette with the basics. Close to shopping, eateries and bars. Parking can be a problem but you can park for free 2 blocks away at a sister hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jabber101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#149 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting, our casual beachfront hotel is the perfect setting for your next vacation. Our suites feature kitchens with granite countertops for your convenience. Kitchens are fully equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, coffeemakers and all the essential utensils that you need to cook and eat. We also serve complimentary continental breakfast, and our friendly, multilingual staff is ready to help you with local advice and suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing