We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #234 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Newport Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary over the weekend. We had reservations at the Surfer Beach Hotel. When we arrived for check in they tried to screw us with room rate, room location and the front staff was rude. We requested our money back and left on adventure to find a hotel to stay at. We came across a cute hotel called the Diamond Head Inn just a few blocks down. It sits on the water, and no noise from the boardwalk traffic. We spoke to Dalila Garcia who was running the front desk and she was very accommodating. She not only had a room for us but it was right on the water!! How perfect could it be for our 25th wedding anniversary. By the way folks, we saved 300.00 by staying at the Diamond Head Inn. Your discounted if you are a AAA member. What a great way to wrap up our weekend. Thank you Dalila!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for either room 101 or 102. They are on the bottom floor but your bedroom door opens up to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
This is great for two reasons. But first, congratulations on your 25TH wedding anniversary!! I am pleased that you really enjoyed your stay while saving a great deal of money, and happy that Dalila, a brand new guest service agent, was able to make it happen for you! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    33
    16
    28
See reviews for
43
50
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived early, hoping for an early checkin. Despite being told it would be ready about noon, the room was not ready until after 3, and likely only because I insisted. I realize we were asking for more than what our reservation stated, but the front desk told me it would be ready about noon, so we planned our day around that. If they had simply said it wouldn't be ready til 3, would have planned differently. I think the front desk could have handled that much better. And at 3, when I was completely insistent that the room be ready, I was brushed off.

Aside from that, our experience was 4 star. We had a bedroom, living room, kitchenette and bathroom. All were clean and in decent shape. Furniture was a bit used, but not in horrible shape. I saw from previous reviews there was no a/c which was not an issue, and the fans were more than adequate. The lighting in the hallways and street did make for a bit too much light, but nothing too dramatic. Location was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bl1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you staying with us! We are happy that you took your time to write a review of your stay. We are currently in the process of improving the furniture and the chairs, including the sofa sleepers. We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Regarding the late check in. That is very disappointing to me, and it is quite possible that it could not have been accomplished like we would like. It is very important for me to have the guest service agents do everything they can to make your check-in, early or not, very simple and fast. I hope we will do a better job the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were supposed to say more than one night, but ended up checking out after one night. We arrived late because we were coming out of state. There was no one in the main office and we ended up having to drive to another hotel just to get checked in. Also, the room did not look like the picture. The light outside the alley door did not work. It took several times for the toilet to flush correctly. The large window in the bathroom and the glass front door made us feel very unsafe. The air conditioning in the room did not cool us down after a hot day outside. We were going to try and stick it out for our whole trip there but felt that with what we had paid, we should have gotten a lot better so we went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs to be safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhonestb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We, of course, are not happy that your stay was not what you expected. Not knowing who you are, I do believe I talked with you a couple of days ago. Unfortunately, there is no a/c on this property, and we have ceiling fans for that purpose. I know that it can still be hot during a few of our unseasonably warm days. also, being that we are a very small property, we do close our office at 11:00 p.m. with access to rooms, and keys at our sister property. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My first time staying at this hotel and a absolutely wonderful experience. We stayed in a one bedroom with kitchenette. It appeared to have been a recent remodel or well kept up! Steps from the beach made it easy to get around. There is parking in front of the hotel and at their sister location that was easily accessible. Will definitely keep this one as a place to stay in San Diego!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you!! If you are a guest that does not mind walking a block or two to park, especially in the summer, you will usually enjoy your stay with us. We are currently working on improvements on flooring, the furniture, and the kitchen seating. We have identified these areas a being our most important areas of improvement. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Beach is just across the parking lot, we got a ground floor room that had a 2nd exit out of the kitchen. This room is HUGE and super cheap. There are so many places to visit within walking distance as well. Hotel offers coffee, OJ and pastries in the morning if you want but there are so many other places that offers breakfast and we feel this added to our experience, always exploring. The limited amenities that are typically offered at other hotels helps keep the cost down. Only thing is the 4 parking spots specifically for the hotel, we did not have issues finding a spot to park, though, and the hotel has a sister hotel 2 blocks away you are allowed to park at. We will be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ashliesue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you. It's really difficult to get this close to the beach at the rates we charge compared to other properties nearby. We hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located right onto the beach and walking distance from the bars and restaurants. If you cannot get parked in front of hotel, ask at reception and they will direct you to free parking at their sister hotel, loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very nice! Yes, additional parking is located only one block away, or about a one to a two minute walk. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The girl at check in could care less about us. Parking was scarse. The room was bigger than we expected, very nice and clean. Close to beach and lots of bars! Aside from the service here, we would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I want to apologize for the service. For me, as the GM, the service is the number one concern. As you mentioned, the beach is right outside of our door, and we are in the process of improving our rooms, so those are easy. We will continue to work on that. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#123 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#222 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#146 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109-2497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing