We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #231 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Beach is just across the parking lot, we got a ground floor room that had a 2nd exit out of the kitchen. This room is HUGE and super cheap. There are so many places to visit within walking distance as well. Hotel offers coffee, OJ and pastries in the morning if you want but there are so many other places that offers breakfast and we feel this added to our experience, always exploring. The limited amenities that are typically offered at other hotels helps keep the cost down. Only thing is the 4 parking spots specifically for the hotel, we did not have issues finding a spot to park, though, and the hotel has a sister hotel 2 blocks away you are allowed to park at. We will be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ashliesue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you. It's really difficult to get this close to the beach at the rates we charge compared to other properties nearby. We hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    33
    16
    28
See reviews for
44
50
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located right onto the beach and walking distance from the bars and restaurants. If you cannot get parked in front of hotel, ask at reception and they will direct you to free parking at their sister hotel, loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very nice! Yes, additional parking is located only one block away, or about a one to a two minute walk. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The girl at check in could care less about us. Parking was scarse. The room was bigger than we expected, very nice and clean. Close to beach and lots of bars! Aside from the service here, we would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I want to apologize for the service. For me, as the GM, the service is the number one concern. As you mentioned, the beach is right outside of our door, and we are in the process of improving our rooms, so those are easy. We will continue to work on that. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hotel is almost on the beach and that is all that matters. Rooms are more than adequate and price is very reasonable. Hansa at the front desk is very professional and cool. Room was clean but a bit tattered. Hansa mentioned that they are renovating all rooms soon and the price will be the same. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancisW738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hasna was correct about the renovation, and it will be completed very soon. And, of course, we are very happy that you stayed with us, and we hope you will come and stay with us again! Regarding the location, it is very hard to beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroa, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this Inn. the rooms are very conveniently located on Pacific Beach. Close to many eateries, bike, boggie board and surf board rentals and in a safe area. Both of our visits we found our rooms to be clean, quiet and comfortable. We love having the kitchenette so that we don't have to eat out for all our meals if we choose not to. We will be back for another visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's always great to hear about a guest that returns and says they will be returning again!!! I hope we will be seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this hotel on the advice of a friend who had stayed there with her family many times. The location was right on the boardwalk at Pacific Beach, the room was comfortable and had a kitchenette. The hotel was clean and quiet and reasonably priced. I will definitely stay there again. The woman in the office, Hasna, was so warm and welcoming and I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with her. She made the place so inviting and is a valuable asset to the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the advice of your friend and staying with us! We do hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. I'll be sure to let Hasna know about your comments. We are seriously concentrating on service, and I'm glad it's noticeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

the price is reasonable for the beach - that is the best news - kind of like camping indoors. The unit was too dark. The sofa pullout could not be slept on without extra cushioning. The TV in the bedroom had been ripped off the tabletop and not replaced. The worst actually was the absence of electrical outlets in the kitchen. The coffeemaker had to sit on the table and barely reached the single outlet. The toaster would not reach the outlet without an extension which I am sure is against fire code and was a tripping hazard. The refrig door shelves were broken and unusable. It was quiet enough and one had a small ocean view thru the kitchen window. Overall the 1 bedroom was fine for two people, crowded for 3 (one on the sofa). I would suggest bringing a lamp and an extension cord tho!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon4322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I guess when we last renovated, we didn't consider the extra appliances we would be needing now. I admit that we are a little overdue on renovation, and the good news is that we are getting ready for a fairly extensive upgrade. It sounds like you were in room number 108 by your description. That room has always been dark as hardly any sunlight is accessed through the windows. We do, however, have many very bright rooms with some full ocean views with balconies overlooking the beach! I do hope you will try us again, and please ask about the better view. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#129 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#151 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#108 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#179 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109-2497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting, our casual beachfront hotel is the perfect setting for your next vacation. Our suites feature kitchens with granite countertops for your convenience. Kitchens are fully equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, coffeemakers and all the essential utensils that you need to cook and eat. We also serve complimentary continental breakfast, and our friendly, multilingual staff is ready to help you with local advice and suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing