We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous location, cozy rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Head Inn
Ranked #230 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, cozy rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located right onto the beach and walking distance from the bars and restaurants. If you cannot get parked in front of hotel, ask at reception and they will direct you to free parking at their sister hotel, loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very nice! Yes, additional parking is located only one block away, or about a one to a two minute walk. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    33
    14
    25
See reviews for
39
49
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The girl at check in could care less about us. Parking was scarse. The room was bigger than we expected, very nice and clean. Close to beach and lots of bars! Aside from the service here, we would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I want to apologize for the service. For me, as the GM, the service is the number one concern. As you mentioned, the beach is right outside of our door, and we are in the process of improving our rooms, so those are easy. We will continue to work on that. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hotel is almost on the beach and that is all that matters. Rooms are more than adequate and price is very reasonable. Hansa at the front desk is very professional and cool. Room was clean but a bit tattered. Hansa mentioned that they are renovating all rooms soon and the price will be the same. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancisW738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hasna was correct about the renovation, and it will be completed very soon. And, of course, we are very happy that you stayed with us, and we hope you will come and stay with us again! Regarding the location, it is very hard to beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroa, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this Inn. the rooms are very conveniently located on Pacific Beach. Close to many eateries, bike, boggie board and surf board rentals and in a safe area. Both of our visits we found our rooms to be clean, quiet and comfortable. We love having the kitchenette so that we don't have to eat out for all our meals if we choose not to. We will be back for another visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's always great to hear about a guest that returns and says they will be returning again!!! I hope we will be seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this hotel on the advice of a friend who had stayed there with her family many times. The location was right on the boardwalk at Pacific Beach, the room was comfortable and had a kitchenette. The hotel was clean and quiet and reasonably priced. I will definitely stay there again. The woman in the office, Hasna, was so warm and welcoming and I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with her. She made the place so inviting and is a valuable asset to the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the advice of your friend and staying with us! We do hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. I'll be sure to let Hasna know about your comments. We are seriously concentrating on service, and I'm glad it's noticeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the price is reasonable for the beach - that is the best news - kind of like camping indoors. The unit was too dark. The sofa pullout could not be slept on without extra cushioning. The TV in the bedroom had been ripped off the tabletop and not replaced. The worst actually was the absence of electrical outlets in the kitchen. The coffeemaker had to sit on the table and barely reached the single outlet. The toaster would not reach the outlet without an extension which I am sure is against fire code and was a tripping hazard. The refrig door shelves were broken and unusable. It was quiet enough and one had a small ocean view thru the kitchen window. Overall the 1 bedroom was fine for two people, crowded for 3 (one on the sofa). I would suggest bringing a lamp and an extension cord tho!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon4322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I guess when we last renovated, we didn't consider the extra appliances we would be needing now. I admit that we are a little overdue on renovation, and the good news is that we are getting ready for a fairly extensive upgrade. It sounds like you were in room number 108 by your description. That room has always been dark as hardly any sunlight is accessed through the windows. We do, however, have many very bright rooms with some full ocean views with balconies overlooking the beach! I do hope you will try us again, and please ask about the better view. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The rooms have full kitchenettes and you cannot beat the LOCATION or the PRICE. I absolutely loved my time at the Diamond Head Inn and I will be staying there again. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff are wonderful! They never made me feel like I was a bother asking for another pillow and blanket . A great choice to stay for someone that doesnt need a 5 star hotel and wants to be in the heart of Pacific Beach, right on the ocean. This is a great 3 star motel. Thanks for a wonderful stay. I'll be back!

Room Tip: My choice would be ocean facing but if you just need to be near the water and a good sleep then take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robinstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you will choose us again the next time you are in Pacific Beach! I know you really enjoyed your stay, but we have some upgrades that will be taking place inside of the rooms very soon. And, like we always have, we are striving to be the best at customer service to help make your next stay even better than your last.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#212 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#125 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#140 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Property: Diamond Head Inn
Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing