We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #199 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    69
    39
    23
See reviews for
84
43
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you're from out of the area and need to go to the VA Medical Center in San Diego, this is a convenient and reasonable place to stay.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. We called ahead to get some more details about the location and possibly to make a reservation over the phone, however, the young man we talked to suggested to book online via Best Western in order to get a better rate. We very much appreciated his information. When booking online we requested a "quiet room" and we were accommodated by getting a room on the back side of the building (i.e. away from busy Clairemont Mesa Blvd.)
Room is spacious and clean, comfortable mattress.
Right off I-805. Oriental Buffet Place within walking distance. More eateries and shopping center within a mile.
If you have some spare time: beautiful San Diego Beaches are only 7 Miles away.
Make sure you have a GPS to get around :)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from busy Clairemont Mesa Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkTourguiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you driving by and needed some place to stay over night it's a good place. The room was ok, after we changed 3 rooms, but at least they let us to do that. ) the staff is friendly and open. Free parking is good too. There are walking distance places to eat. Not a bad location.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask for another one till you feel comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharehelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's a typical motel style.Prices are fair! hotel is located right off the freeway, very easy to find! Also free WiFi. Room was clean and big enought for 2 adults.Little noise from the freeway on the night.No microwave in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Convenient clean. Decent breakfast small pool. Friendly helpful reception. Near to shop at garage when vending machines not working . Easy to find. Easy drive to restaurants. Mission bay and beaches. Free car parking near to rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed on my first visit to san diego. It was clean and safe. At times i was nervous since i was by myself but the road that its on is busy so i felt someone will always be watching. I didnt like the first room they put me in and they changed it. I called for help with the shower and they came. So overall the service was good. I paid $70 a night and that is pretty good for san diego. parking was free and it was close to everything i wanted to do. If you want a place that is affordable, not too fancy as everything you need (internet, clean room, tv). i would consider staying here. My only negative is the parking. The parking upfront was such a small space for cars to get out of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetgurly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#223 of 278 in San Diego
305 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Residence Inn San Diego Central
#108 of 278 in San Diego
353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of sunny San Diego, we are a service-oriented hotel combining both value and convenience. Find us at 5550 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, California. We are open 24 hours, every day. Our property is just minutes away from attractions such as Sea World, the world famous San Diego Zoo, UCSD, Mission Bay and miles and miles of our spectacular coast- line and beaches. For a unique cultural experience, the exotic land of Mexico is less than thirty minutes south of us. For business travelers who stay with us, we are centrally located and near to Kearny Mesa, La Jolla, and just minutes from downtown San Diego, the Convention Center, and Lindberg International Airport. Your satisfaction is our top priority, whether you are traveling to San Diego on business or pleasure, our friendly staff and comfortable rooms eagerly await you. Among the amenities we offer to every guest are: fitness room, free cable television, free WiFi, complementary paper weekdays, in-room coffee, and a refrigerator in each room. Many conveniences are available to our guests such as easy freeway access, free parking, and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. We offer a complementary continental breakfast served daily from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. Children under twelve years of age stay free. We look forward to your visit soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Triangle Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing