We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy. Small rooms, but clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #201 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
288 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy. Small rooms, but clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is just off I-805 a few minutes north of Mission Valley. I like the location, especially compared to Hotel Circle, which is congested with weird access. The shower was great. The internet was fair and I was just above the office. I did not eat the breakfast, but it looked on the low side of average for a standard Best Western. I slept fine, but the bed was soft. There was no desk in the room nor was there a comfy chair. However there was a table with two standard chairs. The price is what brought me in and would bring me back. After all it was a night stay and I wasn't going to buy the place.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
81
42
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The room was kind of small but very clean. The hotel offers complementary cold and hot breakfast and it was actually pretty good. They have free parking and it is located right off the freeway close to a Walmart and a few attractions. It was affordable and pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your business and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The room was nice enough and it actually did have everything I wanted on first impressions. I stayed 3 nights and it was in staying longer that the gaps started to appear. Firstly, the Continental Breakfast was nice until I realised that I needed to buy my own paper bowls and plates to use as the PLASTIC plates provided melted with a warm/hot piece of toast. Next when we came back after a day out, we found that although they provided a daily room service this meant that they removed the garbage, made your bed, BUT they also took the soap you had only just opened and didn't replace it. This was the same for the coffee. I was not impressed. So it was OK, but I would not stay there again. It is sad because I really enjoy MOST Best Westerns.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations and will be taking steps to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Easy acces to this hotel. Average room. Very helpfull frontdesk personnel. The BW is located opposite of some restaurants. There is a great Chinese buffet restaurant. Very very good. There is a guest laundry.It is a ok room for a good price. The hotel is aside a busy road. But we slept o.k. No problem. There are also rooms at the back. Enough variety of breakfast. Very good coffee.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leentje_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We typically stay at another favorite hotel nearby in Kearney-Mesa but was unable to so this was the backup. The pros: A friendly young man checked us in and the bed was comfortable. The motel is dated but my room was exceptionally clean. These three reasons are why the hotel has been rated average. The cons: Traffic can be heard; didn't like the flimsy window next to the door and flimsy 1980s dated chain lock on the door; could easily hear both sets of my neighbors on either side of the room; the breakfast was terrible, which is frustrating since how can you mess up cereal and milk? Overall, I did not feel safe as I typically do in San Diego and did not feel like relaxation was a possibility given the surroundings. If you are looking for a clean motel, and one that you drive your car up to the door and don't mind a room without updated locks, you will enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was clean. It's in great location and didn't hear any traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

When I go to San Diego for a TV show I usually stay at my fave hotel around this area but because of the ComiCon could not get a room.
I ended up finding that the only hotel with availabilities was this one.
No wonder! This must be a former lousy motel transformed into a Best Western.
Check in was barely ok though the lady in attendance seemed so bored that it made the experience even worse.
My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the back of the hotel/motel, so as to avoid noise as much as possible. But these rooms are so poorly insulated that I could hear everything....It seemed the traffic was going through my bathroom.
If you are cold or hot and turn the heating/AC on the noise is so loud there is no way one can fall asleep.
The carpet needed cleaning and I am not sure how often the bed covers are cleaned.

As I did not manage to sleep at all during one of my worst hotel night ever I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anybody.

ps: one good point: wifi was free

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#188 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of sunny San Diego, we are a service-oriented hotel combining both value and convenience. Find us at 5550 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, California. We are open 24 hours, every day. Our property is just minutes away from attractions such as Sea World, the world famous San Diego Zoo, UCSD, Mission Bay and miles and miles of our spectacular coast- line and beaches. For a unique cultural experience, the exotic land of Mexico is less than thirty minutes south of us. For business travelers who stay with us, we are centrally located and near to Kearny Mesa, La Jolla, and just minutes from downtown San Diego, the Convention Center, and Lindberg International Airport. Your satisfaction is our top priority, whether you are traveling to San Diego on business or pleasure, our friendly staff and comfortable rooms eagerly await you. Among the amenities we offer to every guest are: fitness room, free cable television, free WiFi, complementary paper weekdays, in-room coffee, and a refrigerator in each room. Many conveniences are available to our guests such as easy freeway access, free parking, and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. We offer a complementary continental breakfast served daily from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. Children under twelve years of age stay free. We look forward to your visit soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Triangle Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing