We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #197 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The room was kind of small but very clean. The hotel offers complementary cold and hot breakfast and it was actually pretty good. They have free parking and it is located right off the freeway close to a Walmart and a few attractions. It was affordable and pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for your business and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Pleasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

The room was nice enough and it actually did have everything I wanted on first impressions. I stayed 3 nights and it was in staying longer that the gaps started to appear. Firstly, the Continental Breakfast was nice until I realised that I needed to buy my own paper bowls and plates to use as the PLASTIC plates provided melted with a warm/hot piece of toast. Next when we came back after a day out, we found that although they provided a daily room service this meant that they removed the garbage, made your bed, BUT they also took the soap you had only just opened and didn't replace it. This was the same for the coffee. I was not impressed. So it was OK, but I would not stay there again. It is sad because I really enjoy MOST Best Westerns.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations and will be taking steps to address your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Easy acces to this hotel. Average room. Very helpfull frontdesk personnel. The BW is located opposite of some restaurants. There is a great Chinese buffet restaurant. Very very good. There is a guest laundry.It is a ok room for a good price. The hotel is aside a busy road. But we slept o.k. No problem. There are also rooms at the back. Enough variety of breakfast. Very good coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leentje_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We typically stay at another favorite hotel nearby in Kearney-Mesa but was unable to so this was the backup. The pros: A friendly young man checked us in and the bed was comfortable. The motel is dated but my room was exceptionally clean. These three reasons are why the hotel has been rated average. The cons: Traffic can be heard; didn't like the flimsy window next to the door and flimsy 1980s dated chain lock on the door; could easily hear both sets of my neighbors on either side of the room; the breakfast was terrible, which is frustrating since how can you mess up cereal and milk? Overall, I did not feel safe as I typically do in San Diego and did not feel like relaxation was a possibility given the surroundings. If you are looking for a clean motel, and one that you drive your car up to the door and don't mind a room without updated locks, you will enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was clean. It's in great location and didn't hear any traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

When I go to San Diego for a TV show I usually stay at my fave hotel around this area but because of the ComiCon could not get a room.
I ended up finding that the only hotel with availabilities was this one.
No wonder! This must be a former lousy motel transformed into a Best Western.
Check in was barely ok though the lady in attendance seemed so bored that it made the experience even worse.
My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the back of the hotel/motel, so as to avoid noise as much as possible. But these rooms are so poorly insulated that I could hear everything....It seemed the traffic was going through my bathroom.
If you are cold or hot and turn the heating/AC on the noise is so loud there is no way one can fall asleep.
The carpet needed cleaning and I am not sure how often the bed covers are cleaned.

As I did not manage to sleep at all during one of my worst hotel night ever I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anybody.

ps: one good point: wifi was free

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was looking for a no-frills affordable place to stay for my family during a visit to San Diego. This hotel did not let me down. It was quiet, in a pretty nice area, and close to everything we wanted to see. The price was amazing and I got more than everything I expected from my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mypctechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#230 of 278 in San Diego
310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#185 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Address: 5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $73 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of sunny San Diego, we are a service-oriented hotel combining both value and convenience. Find us at 5550 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, California. We are open 24 hours, every day. Our property is just minutes away from attractions such as Sea World, the world famous San Diego Zoo, UCSD, Mission Bay and miles and miles of our spectacular coast- line and beaches. For a unique cultural experience, the exotic land of Mexico is less than thirty minutes south of us. For business travelers who stay with us, we are centrally located and near to Kearny Mesa, La Jolla, and just minutes from downtown San Diego, the Convention Center, and Lindberg International Airport. Your satisfaction is our top priority, whether you are traveling to San Diego on business or pleasure, our friendly staff and comfortable rooms eagerly await you. Among the amenities we offer to every guest are: fitness room, free cable television, free WiFi, complementary paper weekdays, in-room coffee, and a refrigerator in each room. Many conveniences are available to our guests such as easy freeway access, free parking, and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. We offer a complementary continental breakfast served daily from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. Children under twelve years of age stay free. We look forward to your visit soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Triangle Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing