We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONVENIENT, CLEAN AND SPACEY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
Ranked #100 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CONVENIENT, CLEAN AND SPACEY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

For the price this is an excellent hotel. It is right off the freeway by San Diego Mission Bay. The rooms are large. We have stayed there at other times. It is always clean and the staff if friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I appreciate you returning to our hotel in multiple occasions. I 'm happy to know you are happy with our location just with in minutes to Mission Bay, Sea World and many more attractions.

Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff. I have forward your review to our General Manager and our staff as well. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    221
    104
    33
    24
See reviews for
273
129
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

BW Mission Bay is excellent for what you pay. Yes, its not a 4-star hotel..its a budget motel. But you get clean rooms, comfortable beds, a good free breakfast, easy & convenient location to multiple attractions & dining options & friendly people. Maybe I was just "lucky" but everyone I saw there, be it customer our employee, were extremely friendly. My only problem was the lack of parking nearest the rooms, but as it is a great place to stay, I can see why every single stall was filled. Extremely happy I took a chance here...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bmarz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking time to express your thoughts on your recent stay at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff, service and clean rooms.

Here at the Best Western Mission Bay we work hard to deliver a great service and clean rooms, and I’m glad we were able to provide that for you.

If you ever return to San Diego, you’re welcome to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz for your reservation needs.

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Room and bathroom very small. Parking lot is a nightmare. The door to your room has a large gap in it. The pool is very small and breakfast not worth going to. I am a BW rewards member and I can say this is the worst BW I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to write a tripadvisor review about your recent stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay.

We would like to thank you for staying with us, as a valued guest, your comments are very much appreciated and we take it in a constructive way so we can do better. I would like to ask you to consider staying with us again I am confident that if given another chance we will be able to show you a wonderful hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The room was a little small but clean and quiet. Parking was tight. On check-in the clerk was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and giving directions. Hotel was close to everything (Sea World and Old Town) and the breakfast was hot-better than most.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Mission Bay.

I appreciate your compliments to our staff. Here at the Best Western, we strive to deliver superior customer care and I'm glad our team members were able to do that for you. It is wonderful that our staff took proactive measures to make your stay more comfortable.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 x 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz.

Thank you again. Have a wonderful week!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The desk clerk was not as helpful as what I have received at other BW Hotels. Every things else was average, so that was the only complaint I had. The location was central to places that I wanted to visit & I would probably stay there if I visited that city again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank aztecrose06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello,

I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again. If you have a moment can you let us know the dates you stayed at our hotel so we can conduct additional training to front desk staff that worked during your stay.

Thank you again for your review. When you return to the area, you’re welcome to contact me directly for your reservation needs. I can be reached at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is outdated and really needs and upgrade. Uneven walk ways causes tripping while walking around to the elevator. The elevator shakes and makes many loud noises, giving the impression of getting stuck. Rooms are very noisey, hear everything from room to room, bathroom very small, fan loud but not useful, dirty and shower curtain had mold. Plugs for accessories only located on the desk lamp. A/C unit loud and doesn't cool very well. Beds are horrible, lumpy and we all left with extreme backaches. Didn't sleep very well. Glad to leave this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hollyann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience you faced while staying with us. We have taken care of the situation. Our elevator inspector assured us everything is correctly. I have pass your comments to our maintenance supervisor and have asked him to inspect all rooms and verify all bathroom fans are correctly.

We would be more than happy to offer you a discounted rate in the future so we can have another opportunity to show you an excellent experience. I am confident that if given another chance we will be able to show you a wonderful hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I always stay at this hotel when I visit San Diego because its the best value. The hotel is very nice and clean and close to everything. The breakfast is amazing, something for everybody. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 641shellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I appreciate you returning to our hotel on multiple occasions. It is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable experience.

If you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me for your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Property: BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
Address: 2575 Clairemont Drive, San Diego, CA 92117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mission Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Mission Bay is a family-oriented, pet-friendly property centrally located in the heart of San Diego, just minutes away from all San Diego has to offer. We are a SeaWorld Vacations Preferred Partner hotel and our rooms feature soothing decor, quality furnishings, and modern amenities for entertainment, business, and traveling convenience. With Spanish-Mission inspired architecture and contemporary style, the Best Western Mission Bay’s spacious accommodations are within walking distance of beautiful Mission Bay. Relax on San Diego’s 70 miles of beautiful sandy beaches, enjoy an invigorating sail, explore Mission Bay’s 14 miles of peaceful paths, go deep sea fishing, play a round of golf or view a spectacular sunset. Our 99 room hotel delivers an inviting mix of warm, Southern California ambiance and modern efficiency. Enjoy lifestyle enhancing services and amenities – Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High-Speed Internet, Fitness Center, Business Center, Cable TV with HBO Programming, Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa, Activity Desk and Free Parking. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, iron and board, AM/FM alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. With easy access to all attractions, visit SeaWorld San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Old Town San Diego, the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, downtown San Diego, and Seaport Village. Watch the Padres take the field at nearby Petco Park, or see the Chargers play at Qualcomm Stadium. Attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, soak up the sun and surf at Pacific Beach and Mission Beach, take a shopping trip to Tijuana, Mexico, or take a sail from one of the many marinas along the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing