We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Gem in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
Ranked #93 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I read all the ratings before I booked the Best Western Mission Bay. Couldn't believe it could be as good as I was reading for the price I was given. Well it is everything and more. It is a 3 floor hotel with elevator and easy to climb stairs. The room was just beautiful, as nice as a 5 star hotel I had previously stayed in. They offer a free breakfast with juic3, coffee, eggs, bacon, waffles, donuts, toast, danish and more. I couldn't believe how much when I walked in. The room was a bit small but people were nice with making room. This hotel is so close to Old Town and Sea World you never need to get back on the freeway unless you chooose to. I went up to Mission Bay and followed that into Old Town. Rooms are a great size also and lots of parking available. Its a fantastic hotel to choose and I will stay here on my next San Diego visit. The staff was the friendliest people I have ever met. The man who checked me in made sure I was happy and under stood everything. Pool has a code and he explainex that and it opened very easily. Nice pool abd nice spa. I liked that when I checked in the gentleman wrote the pool code and breakfast hours on the paper that held the room key. Very very professional and friendly. I didnt want to go home. Great Hotel. Thank You Best Western Mission Bay for making my two days the best ever.

Room Tip: Know it is as nice as it sounds. I stayed on the 3rd floor facing the office. Beautiful views. Ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I am trilled to know you had a fantastic stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff, service and our Hot Continental Breakfast.

Here at the Best Western Mission Bay we work hard to deliver a great service and clean rooms, and I’m glad we were able to provide that for you.

If you ever return to San Diego, you’re welcome to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz for your reservation needs.

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    228
    105
    33
    24
See reviews for
276
131
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

After staying at a Hilton Hotel for three days and two nights (see Houston TX), we stayed three nights at this Best Western. The price of the room was not in the $199 a night range (Hilton standard), but it was "half-way" between meeting an old friend (south) and see a family member (north). We didn't expect much, but we were very surprised. PROS: 1) The reception representatives were outstanding. True-Glad-To-See-You California greetings, attention to detail and attitude that may us feel welcomed each time. 2) The room was clean and fresh, including the bathroom (which the water was even and "gauged" correctly the temperature you prefer). 3) HDTV, WiFi reception, coffee maker, hair dryer with bathroom condiments, and the air conditioner were great with no problems. 4) The Beds. I have a "bad back" (my own fault and problem), but I use this condition to help decide if a bed is comfortable or not. The "bed" was not only extraordinary - they were "beyond belief". As good or better than my bed at home. Not a single discomfort during naps or nightly slumber. 5) The rooms were cleaned each day, even if we slept in. When we would leave to go out, we would see housekeeping had already passed our door, but when we got back by the late afternoon or evening - they were "clean" perfectly. 6) They provided a "deluxe" continental breakfast (included in the price of the room) which were completely separate from the office with ample tables and chairs . If you ever had a continental breakfast, you know the kind of "fare" provided. NOT this place. They had coffee, water-for-tea, regular & 2%milk, three different juices, at least three cereals, "ready-to-be-made-waffles (by you), fresh fruit and served Jimmy Dean Breakfast sandwiches, or cheese burritos or scrambled eggs, bacon and potatoes (served on different days) along with bread, bagels, muffins (to be toasted) and all the condiments you need. CONS: We didn't know that the days we stayed was Easter week and the place was "full" by Saturday night for the next two days. Even then, the "crowd" did not affect us - except a high school boys baseball team, which we had players in rooms on each side of us. They were forever "going back and forth" to each other's room and "banging on each other's door" (the loudest noise) but the "noise" overall was acceptable.

Room Tip: Never hurts to contact the hotel a day or two ahead and make sure your preferences were booked corre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good Morning,

I appreciate you taking time to write about your recent stay with the Best Western Mission Bay. It is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable experience and were happy with the cleanliness of our rooms and service

Here at the Best Western, we strive to deliver superior customer care and I'm glad our team members were able to do that for you. It is wonderful that our staff took proactive measures to make your stay more comfortable and assure your room was clean upon your return.

When you return to the San Diego area, please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

We look forward to your return!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly. The hotel served a different breakfast course each day to accompany their regular daily meals so you could have variety. The pool was crystal clear and the beds were comfortable. Great Place to Stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Devon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am happy to know you had a great stay and were happy with our rooms and comfortable beds. I appreciate your compliments to our pool, I will pass your comments to our maintenance team. Thank you!

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I got an extremely great price which I believe was an error so I may be a bit overly excited, however I can't complain about anything. They honored the price I paid and didn't give me any hassle, plus still provided me with all the extras included like the free breakfast and wi-fi access. Best continental breakfast I have ever had with lots of choices! Regular rate was very high on that specific day we stayed, but I checked other dates and it seems very reasonable! I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us Here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am delighted that you were happy with your stay. I appreciate your compliments to our staff, rooms, location and breakfast. I will pass your comments to our staff. Thank you!

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

For the price, this was a nice hotel in a great location. On multiple buslines which made travel without a rental car easy. Helpful, friendly staff, good breakfast (unfortunately few gluten-free options), great housekeeping, very clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your trip experience here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I’ am glad you were happy with our accommodations and staff. I appreciate your compliments to our location, rooms, breakfast and staff. Here at the Best Western Mission Bay we work hard to deliver a great service and clean rooms, and I’m glad we were able to provide that for you.

Please let me know when you plan on staying with us again so I can assist you with your reservations. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz.

Once again thank you for your review,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is attractive but the room itself was lacking. The pull-out drawer was broken. There was a dried contact in the cradle of the phone and the TV was "snowy" on most every channel. One person said it was fixed and another said it was a Time Warner problem & wouldn't be fixed anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good Morning,

I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am sorry to hear that the t.v was snowy for some of the channels during your stay here with us, we had an issue with our cable provider and it has been fixed, sorry for the inconvenience. If you have a moment I would like to know which room you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team repair the broken drawer you mention.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Pros: Best western Mission Bay San Deigo is a decent hotel. The location and service is good. The complimentary continental breakfast is good too. The hotel has a huge parking lot, which is a plus. Cons: i found a big cockroach in the bathroom. The carpets were dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Abid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the challenges you experience during your stay. If you have a moment I would love to know which room number you stayed in so we can take care of the issue. We are currently in the process of replacing the carpets, because of guest comments like yours. Thank you.

Thank you so much for your compliments to our hotel, location, parking and breakfast. Here at the Best Western Mission Bay, we aim to make every guest stay a great experience and I will use your feedback to verify our rooms are in full working order.

When you return to San Diego, please feel free to contact me directly for all of your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 x 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Property: BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
Address: 2575 Clairemont Drive, San Diego, CA 92117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mission Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Mission Bay is a family-oriented, pet-friendly property centrally located in the heart of San Diego, just minutes away from all San Diego has to offer. We are a SeaWorld Vacations Preferred Partner hotel and our rooms feature soothing decor, quality furnishings, and modern amenities for entertainment, business, and traveling convenience. With Spanish-Mission inspired architecture and contemporary style, the Best Western Mission Bay’s spacious accommodations are within walking distance of beautiful Mission Bay. Relax on San Diego’s 70 miles of beautiful sandy beaches, enjoy an invigorating sail, explore Mission Bay’s 14 miles of peaceful paths, go deep sea fishing, play a round of golf or view a spectacular sunset. Our 99 room hotel delivers an inviting mix of warm, Southern California ambiance and modern efficiency. Enjoy lifestyle enhancing services and amenities – Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High-Speed Internet, Fitness Center, Business Center, Cable TV with HBO Programming, Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa, Activity Desk and Free Parking. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, iron and board, AM/FM alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. With easy access to all attractions, visit SeaWorld San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Old Town San Diego, the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, downtown San Diego, and Seaport Village. Watch the Padres take the field at nearby Petco Park, or see the Chargers play at Qualcomm Stadium. Attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, soak up the sun and surf at Pacific Beach and Mission Beach, take a shopping trip to Tijuana, Mexico, or take a sail from one of the many marinas along the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing